BAE Systems Applied Intelligence Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BAE Systems Applied Intelligence Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
49%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
BAE Systems Applied Intelligence CEO Julian Cracknell (no image)
Julian Cracknell
174 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "A Line Manager and Leadership Team that Walks the Talk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Presales Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems Applied Intelligence full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The APAC Pre-sales team are awesome to work with. A great team of really smart people with diverse and interesting backgrounds all coming together to add real value in their own way.

    Cons

    Tough to get consistent clarity and deliver to customers what they need. Short staffed in Services and Delivery and sometimes a Sales Force that lives to divide and conquer in order to hurry up and wait. Its not efficient and causes rifts. The Melbourne Office is OLD, DRAB, TIRED, DIRTY and completely at odds with an environment that you want to get up to every day. It really is sad and in my onion embarrassing... to bring clients in to the foyer. NEEDS ATTENTION

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Really promote flexible work life balance and truly support it. We are a world leading solution provider and yet we still expect people to be tied to their desks. Thankfully I have a Manager that walks this talk and allows me that freedom but many others aren't. Give Sales Teams mandatory extensive best in class Sales Training that aligns with BAE strategies and includes product summary training. Arm them with the... tools that will make them more than just Sales People but true account PARTNERS -

    Show More
    BAE Systems Applied Intelligence2019-06-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Inclusive and forward thinking business - great fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems Applied Intelligence full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    AI is a flexible and inclusive employer; has a genuine desire to continuously improve itself and its workforce

    Cons

    Changes are positive but sometimes a little slow

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    BAE Systems Applied Intelligence2019-10-11
  3. "Amazing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales & BD Apprentice in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems Applied Intelligence full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work hours and good company incentives/benefits

    Cons

    Not very many at my stage of working for BAE AI

    BAE Systems Applied Intelligence2019-12-02
  4. "Principal Consultant role in the south west"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems Applied Intelligence full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits package. Good work life balance. Some good projects but the pull is towards London and Guildford.

    Cons

    Isolated working at times. Lack of clear direction. Senior managers can be controlling.

    Advice to Management

    Lead by example

    BAE Systems Applied Intelligence2019-12-05
  5. "Excellent customer base but lack of proven business experience in leadership and significant talent erosion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BAE Systems Applied Intelligence full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    1. Strong engineering skills 2. Strong government and financial services client base 3. Highly innovative technology in pockets 4. Highly talented individuals from graduates through to SMEs

    Cons

    1. External recruitment in to the leadership team is bringing inexperienced or poor performers leading to stagnation of financial performance 2. Far too many G&A heads for scale of business 3. Lack of action on changes. Too much talk, no action. 4. Felt like a retirement club culture

    Advice to Management

    1. Dont tolerate non-performance or lack of decision making at executive level. The industry is fast paced and we are not.

    BAE Systems Applied Intelligence2019-12-01
  6. "No-one stronger in the government and national security sectors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems Applied Intelligence full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very interesting work, and able to work in areas and sectors very few other companies can operate, especially in the international government area. Some amazing people, and fundementally a positive, supportive culture within the business. This is a business that rewards collaboration.

    Cons

    Multiple re-organisations and restructures of internal ways of working - still not recovered fully from all the changes over the past few years. Still in the process of business change from divestment of MSS and Silversky

    Advice to Management

    Stabilise the business. More change is required to make the model work. Remember our biggest and strongest asset has always been our people. A business is either growing, or shrinking, we need to plan to win, and to grow.

    BAE Systems Applied Intelligence2019-11-17
  7. "Important delivery work but irrelevant senior management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems Applied Intelligence full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Working on important projects and programmes that are key for our national security

    Cons

    Senior management have single handedly managed to now completely disenfranchise all of their staff through countless reorgs, poor IT, poor processes and papering over cracks rather than looking at themselves and their antiquated behaviours.

    Advice to Management

    Sadly I think the answer is nearly all need to take a hard look at themselves and find different roles outside of our once great company.

    BAE Systems Applied Intelligence2019-12-01
  8. "Group projects fun, singleton roles less so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Consultant 

    I worked at BAE Systems Applied Intelligence full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large projects can be exciting and fun. Working days generally ended at a reasonable time.

    Cons

    Singleton roles are hard to get out of. Travel to client site can be a pain.

    BAE Systems Applied Intelligence2019-11-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Lost it's niche"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Man in Guildford, England

    I worked at BAE Systems Applied Intelligence full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good culture among original Detica staff

    Cons

    Losing it's way with the influx of BAE management

    BAE Systems Applied Intelligence2019-11-06
  10. "Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England

    I worked at BAE Systems Applied Intelligence full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free kitkats and fruit were available in office

    Cons

    Rubbish management who left grads on client site to fend for themselves

    Advice to Management

    Talk to your employees, whether they're in office or on client site

    BAE Systems Applied Intelligence2019-11-21
Found 669 reviews