BAE Systems USA Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 178 of over 2,938 reviews

3.8
78%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
BAE Systems USA President and CEO Tom Arseneault
Tom Arseneault
253 Ratings
Pros
  • "good work life balance good pay(in 154 reviews)

  • "9/80 work schedules are standard among salaried staff (9 hour work days with every other Friday off)(in 141 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The disconnect from upper management from middle management is difficult to work with(in 79 reviews)

  • "Similar cons to any very large company(in 52 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      good company

      Oct 9, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good work life balance good pay

      Cons

      bad management no one has a clue

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Excellent company to work for but very demanding at times

      Mar 31, 2021 - Hardware Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life balance with early finish on Friday

      Cons

      Work can be very demanding at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Company to work for, slightly old fashioned

      Mar 26, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Warton, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - interesting projects - stable employment - good work / life balance

      Cons

      - Old ways of working - not much development for engineers beyond senior level -pay not great compared to market rates

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Uncertain times with impending redundancies at the moment.

      Jan 15, 2010 -  in Farnham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good work life balance with social events aplenty, along with good camaraderie amongst work colleagues. - Good benefits package, although remuneration could be better.

      Cons

      - Uncertain times with impending redundancies at the moment in particular for experienced hires. - Many colleagues are respectfully "old timers", although this is being addressed. - Work can be dull at times.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Overall Decent Job with Phenomenal Work-Life Balance

      Nov 12, 2021 - Process Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      For a brief summary - This is a decent job and I am happy working here. I highly recommend it if a healthy work-life balance & less stressful work environment is important to you. If you're looking to aggressively advance your career or pursue a top-income job then there may be greater opportunities with the tech communities in Austin. Work-Life Balance: 5/5 The work-life balance here is unprecedented in my career. 9/80 work schedules are standard among salaried staff (9 hour work days with every other Friday off). On top of this, the company has a 90 hour bi-weekly cap. In other words, salaried staff cannot work >90 hours over a 2-week period without manager approval. And if your manager does ask you to work >90 hours, BAE pays you a hourly OT for every additional hour worked. On top of this, you're allowed to flex your time as well! You can typically start your workday anytime between 6am-8am. A chunk of the salaried staff here is allowed to work remotely. Benefits: 4/5 The 401K match is great. The PTO is fantastic, I literally have more time off than I know what to do with. Plus, they give you your first 6 months of PTO from the day you start. The medical/dental benefits are decent, about industry average. Pay: 3/5 This one is variable & hard to gauge. I intentionally took a $4K paycut from my last job to come here. Meanwhile, I have numerous colleagues 5-10 years out of school making 6-figures. The merit increases (2.5% or so) do not keep up with the raising CoL in Austin. This is a well known issue that has been raised to corporate. Opportunity: 4/5 There are A LOT of different positions here in the engineering umbrella. Plenty of space to laterally move into different roles. There are two positions to move up. You can become a subject matter expert over a given process and move as far as a 'Senior Principal II' engineer. Otherwise, if you choose to stick with the company, management is another route for advancement. Daily Work-Life/Stress: 4/5 Fairly standard here, some days are very relaxed. There will be that nonstop day every month or 2 with urgent needs & deadlines. Management is fairly understanding, I've had cases where we've had an issue bringing production to a halt & after a chunk of the day addressing it, our engineering director said screw it around 5:30 and told us to go home & not worry about it until tomorrow. There is always work available to do here, so just pace yourself to be productive while knowing your limits. Job security is not a major issue here.

      Cons

      My summary in 'Pros' captures my overall feelings about the company as an engineer. A more generous payscale to keep up with the high cost of living in Austin is desirable. Other than that, I do wish the site was a little more social, I do interact with my colleagues, but a chunk of the workday is fairly secluded at our desk.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Run- run as far away as possible from this company

      Dec 2, 2021 - Contracts Administrator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Every other friday off at the expense of your sanity for definitely working more than 9 hours a day.

      Cons

      they track your actions in 6 minute increments. The minute your green icon is yellow or red, and you are walking away from your desk. your manager will come talk to you. There is no work life balance as people expect you to respond to emails at all hours of the day.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Work-Life Balance

      Sep 17, 2021 - Process Engineer in Nashua, NH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work-Life Balance and flexible schedule Low stress Opportunity for growth Good 401k match

      Cons

      Weak talent retention Weak talent acquisition It department is atrocious Weak health insurance

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Outstanding Company

      Aug 30, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent benefits, work life balance, meaningful work

      Cons

      I have no complaints about BAE. Great place to work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      BAE

      Sep 1, 2021 - Junior Intelligence Analyst in McLean, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Reasonable hours and work life balance

      Cons

      There was not really a career path

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Fair

      Jul 17, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In general a positive workplace

      Cons

      No work life balance for most people at senior levels

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 178 Reviews

    Popular Careers with BAE Systems USA Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at BAE Systems USA? Share Your Experiences

    BAE Systems USA logo
    or