BDO USA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BDO USA Reviews

Updated 25 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
BDO USA CEO Wayne Berson
Wayne Berson
336 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, flexible hours and projects(in 82 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance was much better than Big 4 firms’ public sector consulting shops(in 50 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sometimes long hours could be stressful but that's everywhere(in 122 reviews)

  • "Busy season hours can be a real drag(in 119 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BDO USA full-time

    Pros

    Good place to work for

    Cons

    Not much maybe too much work

    BDO USA2018-07-15
  2. "It has pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small partnerships which mean you often get more responsibilities and exposure to a larger variety of work.

    Cons

    Very young teams mean people leading often don't have much experience.

    BDO USA2018-04-02
  3. "BDO Internal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time

    Pros

    Strong working enviroment. Good teamwork.

    Cons

    Lack of social element to the work.

    Advice to Management

    More interaction with staff lower down.

    BDO USA2018-03-21
  4. "Pretty good choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time

    Pros

    Good people Good challenge with regards to intellectually stimulating Good clients

    Cons

    Technology is OK Some investments in systems would be good.

    BDO USA2017-10-23
  5. "Auditor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Auditor 

    I worked at BDO USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to work on clients in many different industries

    Cons

    The hours that come along with working in public accounting

    BDO USA2020-01-26
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Experience Tax Manager 

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Big network of global offices and alliance firms. Easy to reach out for international tax compliance issues.

    Cons

    Sometimes transparency gets lost between upper management and lower levels

    BDO USA2020-01-21
  7. "Nice culture, one of the best CPA firms out there.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Size is just about right. Everybody gets a piece of the action.

    Cons

    Nothing really. If you do not want a big 4 but still want prestigious clients, BDO is the firm to be.

    BDO USA2020-01-19
  8. "Positive experience overall, from culture to client work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I'm provided with opportunities to grow as well as to assist in other roles that I am passionate about. We have a strong social planning committee, community service branch, LGBTQIA/Pride alliance, Multi-cultural organization, etc. In addition, I've gotten the chance to assist with recruiting events and office tours. There are lots of ways to be involved and feel connected beyond my primary job responsibilities and these efforts are often encouraged and rewarded.

    Show More

    Cons

    It's still public accounting. Busy season is never easy and part of your performance is being evaluated on your billable hours.

    Advice to Management

    Hire people who match the culture since this is what inspires people to stay and work hard here.

    BDO USA2020-01-06
  9. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Quality Assurance Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BDO USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people at local office.

    Cons

    National firm management doesn't value their employees.

    BDO USA2020-01-18
  10. Helpful (2)

    "NOT A PLACE TO BE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax Senior in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    BDO SF has some interesting client works for anyone that has passion of doing taxes. This is a great place for anyone who is fresh out of college. You can join the firm without any basic accounting knowledge. If you do not know how to complete a balance sheet, you can still survive at this office. Your senior and above will roll up their sleeves and wrap up the work for you. For first year staff, if you just want to do what you are told without thinking thoroughly, this is the place for you. If you are okay that you only get to do less than five returns for a year, this is the place for you.

    Show More

    Cons

    The scheduling is a mess. Your managers, sr. managers or partners do not communicate to each other when there is a priority issue. They do not give real feedback to staff on real time basis even though they tell you they will at interviews. You will be very surprised to hear a lot of comments after the career round table discussion. People falling behind do not receive proper guidance and feel sad to come to work. The office culture and environment are very bad - talking behind, yelling, and the worse - since it is an open space environment, your senior, manager will look at your screen and see what you are doing (even you are doing client works.) I will leave you to judge whether this is the professional environment where you want to be.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1. be a true "all ears" leader - listen to the reasons why people leave the firm and make changes 2. It is okay to hire people who know nothing about public accounting. However, please have real training courses and real feedback to help them grow and succeed and so they do not feel frustrated after the career round table meeting. It is okay to have big hearts toward these green staff. But at the same time, be fair to your experienced staff who suffers from such big heart decision.

    Show More
    BDO USA2019-12-25
Found 864 reviews