BDO USA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BDO USA Reviews

Updated 24 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
BDO USA CEO Wayne Berson
Wayne Berson
339 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, flexible hours and projects(in 82 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance was much better than Big 4 firms’ public sector consulting shops(in 51 reviews)

Cons
  • "Be ready for long hours typical of a large accounting firm(in 123 reviews)

  • "Long working hours during busy season but it's the same for all public accounting firms(in 119 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BDO USA full-time

    Pros

    Good place to work for

    Cons

    Not much maybe too much work

    BDO USA2018-07-15
  2. "It has pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small partnerships which mean you often get more responsibilities and exposure to a larger variety of work.

    Cons

    Very young teams mean people leading often don't have much experience.

    BDO USA2018-04-02
  3. "BDO Internal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time

    Pros

    Strong working enviroment. Good teamwork.

    Cons

    Lack of social element to the work.

    Continue reading
    BDO USA2018-03-21
  4. "Pretty good choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time

    Pros

    Good people Good challenge with regards to intellectually stimulating Good clients

    Cons

    Technology is OK Some investments in systems would be good.

    BDO USA2017-10-23
  5. "Good Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Experienced Tax Associate in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are nice there and really helpful.

    Cons

    Some admin stuff can cost some time.

    Continue reading
    BDO USA2020-03-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Para professional for Tax group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Para Professional in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Promotional and Growth opportunities upon the completion of higher studies and cpa certification.

    Cons

    Need to put the hours

    BDO USA2020-03-09
  7. "Decent public accounting firm to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assurance Senior Associate in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly culture, helped me get my CPA license, and gained great work experience. I got to do a TON in my first two years. Travel was reasonable. I know traveling a lot seems like a great thing, but in public accounting, trust me its not. I never had to travel too much and looking back, I really appreciated that.

    Cons

    Its public accounting and that's not something that can be fixed. The hours are long and flexibility just isn't possible. However, the experience you get by putting yourself through those long hours and being thrown in the deep end is invaluable. I didn't care for the work itself, but I learned a lot about myself and as I said was very well prepared for the next step in my career.

    BDO USA2020-03-13
  8. "Good Accounting Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Audit Manager in Washington, DC

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, and lots of client options.

    Cons

    Small federal practice even thought huge company.

    BDO USA2020-03-06
  9. "Work at BDO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Associate in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The environment is personal. Partners take time to get to know you.

    Cons

    The jobs usually have low realization and the pay reflects this.

    BDO USA2020-03-17
  10. "Those Who Know"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assurance Associate in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Manageable workload compared to similar firms, care about your progress, and feels like home.

    Cons

    Its public accounting, you work a lot.

    Continue reading
    BDO USA2020-02-25
Found 875 reviews