BGL Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BGL Group Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
BGL Group CEO Matthew Donaldson
Matthew Donaldson
102 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "CTM employee - Product - 3 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BGL Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great people, who are often very skilled and experienced and really nice - Fun working environment - Fast paced - Very supportive, loads of training etc - Very trusting, working from home etc is the norm - Lots of autonomy - You get to work on interesting projects - Implementation of agile is excellent, probably 8/10 - New CEO seems good

    Cons

    - Nothing for senior managers from a progression point of view. Everyone at AD level is hired externally. - Tries to be self-autonomous teams, but is still very top down, from the group exec all the way down to the individual teams. - There is no product leadership at exec level so very marketing run which doesn't exactly help if you want great product innovation

    Advice to Management

    - Put career plans in place for senior managers - Walk the walk with self managing autonomous teams

    BGL Group2018-12-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BGL Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good employee benefits and competitive salaries Fast pace of change

    Cons

    A 'driven' culture where there is significant pressure on performance. Not particularly empowering to middle management - all decision needed senior approval

    BGL Group2018-12-14
  3. "Customer advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BGL Group full-time

    Pros

    Plenty of room for progession

    Cons

    Working patterns can be a challenge

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up, proud to work here

    BGL Group2018-11-20
  4. "Overall, a great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BGL Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The group has a focus on its people.

    Cons

    Not particularly great at prioritizing focus items/work items.

    BGL Group2018-10-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I love BGL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Skills Trainer in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BGL Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Ball? Fab Draw? BGL Fun Day? Flexible working? Supportive Environment? Just to name a few!

    Cons

    None....Best place to work ever ♥️

    BGL Group2018-10-10
  6. "Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Supervisor in West Bretton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BGL Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome place to work, love it here

    Cons

    I have none the company is awesome

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing !

    BGL Group2018-10-03
  7. "Great place for work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BGL Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Care about employees, great benefits

    Cons

    Limited career opportunities for long serving staff.

    Advice to Management

    Develop better talent management

    BGL Group2018-08-28
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Delusional workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunderland, North East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BGL Group full-time

    Pros

    Canteen and Greggs, Fun Days

    Cons

    Okay so i started here as a temp and my training group best guys ever friendly bunch we all got on so well. Second week i. It started to go wrong people where getting sacked left right and centre often by text dont even have the balls to do it face to face .Its repetitive its nit picky you can barely sneeze without being told its wrong .

    Advice to Management

    rehire and retrain good ones

    BGL Group2018-08-07
  9. "Life at BGL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BGL Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Funday, remuneration, the people, flexible home working embraced

    Cons

    Senior management team do not live the values the company claim to embody and as such it’s challenging for employees to adopt these also (there are of course exceptions).

    Advice to Management

    Challenge the lack of mobility amongst senior team in some areas of the business, challenge how widely the values are lived. If the perception is that they are then dig a little deeper

    BGL Group2018-06-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BGL Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive colleagues Fantastic facilities and facilities team; Space to hold meetings; Flexible working; Able to help direct and shape working practices; Unrivalled social and cultural activities in comparison to other blue chips; Excellent training and self development resources; One day a month self development day; Rewards package is standard for my grade but still manages to have some delighters in... there; The coffee shop, the gym, the subsidised canteen, instants, fab rewards are amazing. A bus for staff at lunchtime !!!

    Show More

    Cons

    Need to embrace more remote working styles of expanding the number of staff, so we don’t become overcrowded; Training outcomes from personal development should be more team or service centred - what are the outputs of learning for the department? Extend to five days AL purchase as it’s standar elsewhere; Agile purpose is being watered down by some waterfall working practices- need to integrate development, UX and... testing into the main toolkit, so we have reasonable levels of documentation; Invest in Agile product management and testing training so we can get experts in the business disseminating it down every month and highlight good practice areas; Establish communities of excellence that tie in with BCS professonial pathways and keep them going at all levels;

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    360 degree reviews may be too blunt an instrumen and a disincentive to staff - a developmental approach to scoring performance and building competencies up rather than condemn “poor performance” will not work - that’s why positive behavioural strategies when engaging staff produce the best results and have positive impact of increasing morale and engagement rather than feeling “done to”.

    BGL Group2018-06-25
Found 187 reviews