BHP Billiton Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BHP Billiton Reviews

Updated 16 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 867 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
BHP Billiton CEO Andrew Mackenzie
Andrew Mackenzie
389 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Fifo roster not a good work life balance(in 38 reviews)

  • "The need to put in long hours at the start in order to build your own business within the main business(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Group Information Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Information Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BHP Billiton

    Pros

    Good values Career growth into multiple functions International Assignments Excellent Remuneration Flexible work environment

    Cons

    Cyclical commodity prices and mistakes in growth strategy created an ever changing evironment that could impact hardworking, experienced and comitted employees.

    Advice to Management

    Look after your loyal, experienced and committed employees.

    BHP Billiton2015-12-03
  2. "Geologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at BHP Billiton full-time

      Pros

      Pay is very nice and i like their coffee machine

      Cons

      Holidays are too short for me

      BHP Billiton2019-01-20
    • "not that interesting for a sale"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at BHP Billiton for more than a year

      Pros

      everything went well, they were kind persons.

      Cons

      Nothing to add here, to be honest.

      BHP Billiton2018-08-26
    • "Good work/life balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at BHP Billiton

      Pros

      Great atmosphere and work/life balance

      Cons

      Can get a bit hierarchical at times.

      BHP Billiton2018-02-26
    • "Good Working Environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

      I worked at BHP Billiton

      Pros

      Good Facilities, Good Benefits, Good Salaries

      Cons

      Change is the only constant

      BHP Billiton2017-06-06
    • "Analysts"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at BHP Billiton full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good benefit , good pay, takes care of employees on daily basis (reduced lunch prices, exercise classes, coffee/drinks and snacks)

      Cons

      recent decisions by management result in many redundancies and as a result there is low employee moral and no job security.

      BHP Billiton2015-08-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good but political"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at BHP Billiton full-time

        Pros

        Good to work for, a lot of politics

        Cons

        Very much a who you know type org

        BHP Billiton2015-04-13
      • "Brilliant Petroleum Company who unfortunately divested from the UK...."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Manager in Chester, England
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at BHP Billiton full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Very professional organisation with great corporate presence, upper quartile compensation / benefits and a good attitude to work / life balance. Excellent development policies, technical career ladder and global opportunities for those that want them. This really is a good employer.

        Cons

        Apart from 1SAP (using it makes life tedious) there are no cons that I can think of.....

        Advice to Management

        Keep doing what you are doing....

        BHP Billiton2015-03-05
      • "Awesome company if you can make it through the resources cycle"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Senior HSE Specialist 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at BHP Billiton full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        - values orientated leadership - global opportunities - strong development plan process - reward high performers with renumeration package - Very good leaders at manger level and above

        Cons

        - Resources industry moves in cycles, ups and downs, and the number of staff & contractors also move up and down. In my 8 years with them I went through two downturns - not a pleasant experience. But if you are a proven performer you should be ok - Can be a sense of "new initiative overload"

        Advice to Management

        Keep it Simple

        BHP Billiton2014-11-30
      • "Great company to work for"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Assistant Accountant in London, England
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at BHP Billiton full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        - Great facilities for staff - Lots of great perks like free soft drinks and biscuits at every floor - Friendly staff, lots of young professional - Great work life balance for analyst

        Cons

        - Salary - Some managers did not treat the staff fairly - Does not promote internal development

        BHP Billiton2014-11-11
      Found 867 reviews