BHP Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BHP Reviews

Updated 8 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
BHP CEO Andrew Mackenzie
Andrew Mackenzie
414 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Group Information Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Group Information Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BHP

    Pros

    Good values Career growth into multiple functions International Assignments Excellent Remuneration Flexible work environment

    Cons

    Cyclical commodity prices and mistakes in growth strategy created an ever changing evironment that could impact hardworking, experienced and comitted employees.

    Continue reading
    BHP2015-12-03
  2. "Accepted Offer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Assistant in Perth, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BHP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good atmosphere and hard work. expect to work

    Cons

    Can be hard but well worth it

    Continue reading
    BHP2019-10-06
  3. "Geologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at BHP full-time

    Pros

    Pay is very nice and i like their coffee machine

    Cons

    Holidays are too short for me

    BHP2019-01-20
  4. "not that interesting for a sale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BHP for more than a year

    Pros

    everything went well, they were kind persons.

    Cons

    Nothing to add here, to be honest.

    BHP2018-08-26
  5. "Good work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at BHP

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and work/life balance

    Cons

    Can get a bit hierarchical at times.

    BHP2018-02-26
  6. "Good Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
     in London, England

    I worked at BHP

    Pros

    Good Facilities, Good Benefits, Good Salaries

    Cons

    Change is the only constant

    BHP2017-06-06
  7. "Analysts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at BHP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefit , good pay, takes care of employees on daily basis (reduced lunch prices, exercise classes, coffee/drinks and snacks)

    Cons

    recent decisions by management result in many redundancies and as a result there is low employee moral and no job security.

    BHP2015-08-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good but political"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at BHP full-time

    Pros

    Good to work for, a lot of politics

    Cons

    Very much a who you know type org

    BHP2015-04-13
  9. "Brilliant Petroleum Company who unfortunately divested from the UK...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Chester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BHP full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very professional organisation with great corporate presence, upper quartile compensation / benefits and a good attitude to work / life balance. Excellent development policies, technical career ladder and global opportunities for those that want them. This really is a good employer.

    Cons

    Apart from 1SAP (using it makes life tedious) there are no cons that I can think of.....

    Continue reading
    BHP2015-03-05
  10. "Awesome company if you can make it through the resources cycle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior HSE Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BHP full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - values orientated leadership - global opportunities - strong development plan process - reward high performers with renumeration package - Very good leaders at manger level and above

    Cons

    - Resources industry moves in cycles, ups and downs, and the number of staff & contractors also move up and down. In my 8 years with them I went through two downturns - not a pleasant experience. But if you are a proven performer you should be ok - Can be a sense of "new initiative overload"

    Continue reading
    BHP2014-11-30
Found 906 reviews
</>Embed