BJSS Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BJSS Reviews

Updated Dec 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
80%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
BJSS Managing Director Stuart Bullock (no image)
Stuart Bullock
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "I've worked on incredibly interesting projects with some of the most intelligent and caring people I've ever worked with(in 9 reviews)

  • "weekend away, regular socials, tech talk and lunch and learns(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "it's a consultancy, not everyone is made to work on a(in 14 reviews)

  • "Can be long client site without no BJSS employees or limited BJSS(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Experience beyond expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Department 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BJSS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Given Accountability Management Support Investment to grow available Great Technologists work for the company Friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    Working in a consultancy environment is not for everyone, and some people struggle with travel, stakeholder management, regular change so anyone joining should think carefully before joining. However for people who embrace this, the opportunity to grow as a technologist and consultant is great.

    Advice to Management

    Try not to lose the family feel, as we grow larger.

    BJSS2019-12-14
  2. "Very human"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Tester in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BJSS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People oriented, fast paced, opportunities to grow

    Cons

    Don't join if you don't like to travel

    BJSS2019-11-29
  3. "Great place to work, people are fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BJSS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've been with BJSS for a few years now and I can honestly say I've enjoyed my experience thus far. I've been given many opportunities to learn and progress and I've been challenged with new technologies and ways of working. I've worked on incredibly interesting projects with some of the most intelligent and caring people I've ever worked with. Clients are generally good and the projects we work on are well... suited to our capabilities. I've not been asked to do much travel yet which is good and when travel is required, mileage and other expenses available are generous. Also moving office internally is possible, which is great if you want to move cities in UK or even work in the US. Stuart Bullock and others in management seems genuinely approachable and BJSS is doing well, clearly something is working!

    Show More

    Cons

    - Unfortunately due to the fast pace of the engineering market BJSS are not currently competitive enough with salary. - Pension contributions leave a lot to be desired - Most people don't get a well deserved bonus and there's no share scheme. - Progression within the software engineering role is a bit difficult and unclear currently.

    BJSS2019-11-19
  4. "A reasonable company. Can be great, can be bad."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BJSS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of great, intelligent, helpful colleagues A variety of projects Regular Lunch & Learns with pizza Beer on a Friday

    Cons

    More projects becoming client site based. Massively uneccesary. Can get stuck on a project that is dull/dried up. Seems to care mostly about making money from clients, which leads to staff staying on projects longer than needed and becoming bored. No clear career path. Salary reviews are done without consulting us and have no justification as to what was good/bad. Referring someone to the company will get you... a £4k bonus. This should be reduced, and better invested in the staff.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Reward and look after staff better. Referring 1 person a year will give more than the typical salary increase. Explain why salary increases were the amount they are, not just a percentage given to you, calculated by someone who hasn't spoken to you.

    BJSS2019-11-20
  5. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BJSS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    weekend away, regular socials, tech talk and lunch and learns

    Cons

    Can be long client site without no BJSS employees or limited BJSS

    BJSS2019-10-25
  6. "A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BJSS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is an engineer led company with every skill necessary to take on big scary projects. At best you'll find yourself in the company of clever, professional people. working in challenging non hierarchical teams. Extremely generous Christmas parties and summer weekends away.

    Cons

    There doesn't seem to be a lot of discrimination about which projects are taken on. This is great in the sense that few people are idle 'on the bench', but by god some of the clients are grim. Some people are asked to take on enormous commutes for extended periods of time. Salaries and benefits ( at least when I was there ), were falling behind the competition. As ever in this business the best way to get a... pay rise is to change jobs. Unfortunately for BJSS, more people than ever get that now. While there are training opportunities, mostly staff are expected to train themselves on the hop.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Spread the wealth a bit more. Enjoy the company you've built, maybe you've forgotten that it's not just about accumulating a legacy, it's also about making great software?

    BJSS2019-10-26
  7. Helpful (8)

    "A test of spirit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BJSS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great developers to work with.

    Cons

    BJSS boast a lot about being 'agile' but they're nothing close to that. When a project's in the red they'll quickly drop that facade and bring in their misguided project and delivery managers who know no better than to throw bodies at a problem. For people who hang the rainbow flag with pride and hold talks on inclusivity, it's painful to have to come to terms with the fact that their working culture actually... promotes reducing people to resources rather than individuals with strengths, passions and aspirations. If you are considering working here please think first about the consequences of trying to break the mould in this environment. You will be rebuked for your creativity and micro-managed for the decisions you make. It's almost as though they think of your right to autonomy as a perk of the job they've given as a generous gift. I have personally struggled to come to terms with this but am thankful for the insight it has eventually given me. I would also advise that they say that they're flexible and that you can work from home when you need to. In reality, you have to ask first and give them plenty of notice, even though they have no idea who you are or what your personal circumstances might be. They need to 'plan' your work you see and make sure that their burn charts are on track and that's all that matters. BJSS has tested me and for that I am thankful. I've left this company a better person by understanding what's at the core of this people factory but it has come at a price. It's instilled a sense of worry that's difficult to shake and I find myself hoping that my next role won't evolve into what I have experienced here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating people as resources while blowing your inclusivity trumpet. Inclusivity isn't just about hanging a flag and feeding people doughnuts. It's about recognising the human spirit and what each and every one of us has to offer. What you have mistaken for inclusivity is collectivism with a few gimmicks. Trust your developers instead of placing misinformed, aggressive management into your teams who are... competently able to deliver if you were to just talk to them.

    Show More
    BJSS2019-11-08
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Hope you get a project you like"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Platform Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at BJSS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company events are good buts that about where it stops

    Cons

    It’s a roll of the dice which project you get to work on. If you don’t like it then moving off a project seems to be near impossible.

    BJSS2019-10-14
  9. Helpful (3)

    "An excellent employer in many respects, but struggling in others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Dev/Architect in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BJSS full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    BJSS treated me very well in the several years I worked for them. * You can sometimes turn down a project that doesn't seem to fit (at least in Leeds) * You can get to work with some very clever, friendly people * They are aware that, in Leeds, their management structures need to be revised as the company has grown a lot, and are working on it. * You can work on some really interesting projects, which could... turn out to be some of the best you've ever worked on. * The company really wants to do the right thing by staff and by clients. * The experience you can gain, if you're lucky, can be very varied, which is good (pays off when you leave!). * You can approach the senior management (in Leeds) and they'll take the time to talk to you.

    Show More

    Cons

    * Sometimes you can't escape a stinker of a project and have to "take one for the team" * Sometimes it all comes down to how well you know the support staff and the management * The pay and conditions are now lagging behind the market ( I went else where for a package which is worth 25% more) * The Business Consulting side of the company appear very "buzz-word" happy, which gives a poor impression. * You can... sometimes end up filling a resourcing gap rather than doing your actual job role. If you're too accommodating, this happens frequently, which is frustrating. * There can be a disjointed approach/culture shock between BJSS Leeds and BJSS London and their respective spin-off offices. * When I left, the Leeds office lacked a Chief Software Engineer and therefore lacks technical leadership. * Management appearing to be focusing on growth rather than quality which is leading to drop in the quality of projects and the quality of staff. Previously BJSS had a really high quality threshold for staff, now sometimes that bar will drop to get staff to service projects. * A lot of people, in my sphere at least, appear to have left in the last year.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    * Address the issues leading to the brain drain * Stop overloading support staff just because they're doing a good job. This leads to them doing a poorer job at their old responsibilities and the new! * Improve the holiday allowance, pay and all round package

    BJSS2019-10-02
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great people and business, can be tough."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BJSS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Well regarded in the industry with a strong client base. - Good company to have on your CV. - Some very talented staff, everyone is a joy to work with and learn from. - New office in Manchester is impressive. - Opportunities to develop new skills and switch roles. Seems to depend on project, line manager and tenure but seen concrete examples. - Consultancy aspect has its benefits - you gain experience across many... environments without job-hopping. - Despite the other reviews on Glassdoor I have found management very approachable both here in Manchester and the wider company. Seen relatively new staff promoted to leadership roles, overall I cannot see any cliquey culture, definitely chance to shine. - Quirky/alternative types are embraced and the company genuinely values diversity and inclusion. There has been a recent focus, but definitely visible in the four years I have worked here on the staff’s own accord. - General “T-shirt and jeans” culture - it feels like you are valued on what you deliver not how you dress. - Free food and booze once a month, at Christmas party and annual hotel weekend away. - Support for local charities with teaching children from deprived backgrounds and welcoming females into a career in IT looks likely to continue.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Little choice over project; staff are often recruited for a specific assignment which can create a confusing dynamic and experience. This seems to improve in the long run. - Seen some people have bad experiences with difficult clients. There is something of a roulette wheel in where you end up. Those situations appear to have been recognised with staff supported but can be tough for those in the fray. - The new... squad strategy is artificial and flawed. Integration of staff across client sites is welcome, but arbitrary divisions into squads cannot achieve this. More line managers, who are each responsible for a smaller number of staff is more consistent with the consultancy model that has proven successful. - Centralising the graduate programme in Leeds is surprising when the Manchester site has been establishing its own solid identity. Seems especially difficult for graduates without a computer science foundation, but offers amazing experience and a strong career start for those who can keep up. A formal but softer introduction beginning with the basics a month or two in advance to build skills before joining the rest of the academy may be fairer on the non comp-sci starters. - Despite long-running engagements with some strong long term relationships, not many new clients secured at Manchester recently is a concern. - Handful of highly skilled staff leaving recently. This seems to be in part due to rival consultancies poaching us and an industry fashion not to stay in one place for too long rather than a BJSS mistake. It is disheartening and would prefer to see positive moves made to address the problem than lose anyone else.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Create more opportunities for career and personal development - Occasional invitations to conferences, technical training and ways to contribute outside our day-to-day projects helps retain staff and enrich our community. Use the town halls as an opportunity to register and gauge interest; whilst it is great to hear about the successes of the business as a whole it is not always beneficial to hear detailed past news... of projects when we have not been a part of them. Continue, widen and extend the incentives for achieving qualifications - great for the business and employees alike; initiatives like this make the company competitive and unique. It would be cool to see the company do something different to rock the boat. Overall, keep up the great work; there has been some some brilliant achievements and direction which looks set to continue in the future.

    Show More
    BJSS2019-09-17
Found 108 reviews
</>Embed