BLM Law Paralegal Reviews

Updated Mar 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 of over 98 reviews

2.0
21%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
BLM Law Senior Partner Michael Brown (no image)
Michael Brown
7 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    One of my best experience of working in a law firm

    Sep 24, 2020 - Paralegal in Liverpool, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Liverpool office: friendly office culture

    Cons

    Cannot think of a con

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Avoid, Avoid!

    Feb 19, 2021 - Senior Paralegal in Manchester, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I resigned from BLM over 6 months ago and still I cannot think of any reason why you would work for them

    Cons

    The B in BLM should really stand for bullies or something stronger. What an absolutely awful place to work. Bullying is rife by more senior members of BLM and you can take your pick whether this is based on age, sexuality, gender or race - they all feature. You're expected to generate 7 chargeable hours a day so any break, whether for lunch or the bathroom, you have to make up the time. BLM do give you your birthday as annual leave... but be warned, you will need to work 7 extra hours that week to get you back on your hours target! The Volume recovery property has to be one of the worst departments to work in. You get zero support and work in a blame culture environment. If anything does go wrong, there is no acceptance for human error and you are made to feel useless. If you asked the partner of the volume recovery team to explain what compassion and understanding is, she would still be there a year later without any idea. Go be happy and work elsewhere... this place is not for you!

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Glorified administrator

    Mar 17, 2021 - Paralegal 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    City centre location. Certain people.

    Cons

    Palmed off with admin work rather than legal. Unachievable targets and false promises. Some managers are as useful as chocolate teapots.

    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    If I could give 0 stars I would.

    Jan 18, 2021 - Paralegal in Manchester, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None at all and that's the truth

    Cons

    Where do I start??? Condones corporate racism especially from those in Power, so if your of an ethnic minority I would avoid like the plague. When confronted with these serious allegations HR basically said its easier to get rid of paralegals then associates partners etc. Took them 6 years for them to sack a manager for Racism and there were several claims Ironic given the Movement with the same Acronym are trying to achieve I was brought in as a Fee Earner which as your probably aware means claims handling and brining money to the firm, FALSE. 95% of the day you do has nothing with the role your brought in to do, your expected to do the jobs of MI, Accounts, Billing and any admim that takes you away from fee earning. Its just wall to wall spreadsheets You would think that would mean targets are realistic again this is false. Despite only spending 5% of your day working on files your expected to hit 7 hours of billing a day. When a mistake is made or you've failed to hit 7hrs, instead of identifying training issues, or finding the root cause of what's going on to help you improve. Your made to feel like a war criminal on level with Osama Bin Laden. Even if you hit your targets there are no rewards for this so makes you wonder why you bother at all Managers have no backbone they are scared to upset partners, clients and anyone that isn't there team, even when it's clear and obvious things need change, whether that's process, moral or the crap work being sent to us to deal with. So no support structure. Add into the fact I've barely spoke to my manager or members of the team in 10 months as a courtesy to check in and keep spirits up etc further demonstrates the lack of support. Even if they do check in its not hi how are you or anything like that it's just business. Same with emails the tone of them are ridiculously bad, even if they are trying to be nice it has very negative undertones. Training is non existent, and that was before lockdown. Working from home its been worse, your supposed to rely on emails etc to read through that were sent 3 months prior to when it comes into effect. They dumped on totally new work and that was a disaster. Everything crashed, we weren't shown anywhere near information on what we were supposed to be doing or use. I took them 5 months to role out MI training and prior to that we were talked to like babies about it as if we were expected to know. Why it was dumped on a team with no experience and a high caseload when there was a team with little work and all the experience still baffled me but never surprised me. The mental health stuff they promote is useless, it's a customary email, what basically can only be described as we've complied with the bare minimum required by sending it, as I said there was no one checking in on us at any point. When we were in the office the people who were advocates for mental health, it was a vanity project for them, as they had track records of being nasty human beings when confronted with very personal matters. All in all its a horrible company to work for. Avoid like the Corona virus. Wash Your Hands, Don't go to the apply/interview, stay at home. Did I mention they condone corporate racism

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Poor management and lack of opportunities and career progression

    Jan 11, 2021 - Paralegal in Manchester, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can work from home.

    Cons

    Poor management, I wish I had read the reviews of the firm before starting. I experienced bad management from the manager, you only last if you fit in. There is no regard to extra efforts or over time you work. The staff turnsround is very high. Its a shame and certain people in the firm let the firm down. Your career is in the hands of your manager, who are often clueless and overpaid.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Blm

    Aug 17, 2020 - Litigation Paralegal in Liverpool, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very supportive team in the Commercial litigation department

    Cons

    Salary less than what other firms offer for similar role

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    You can do much better elsewhere...

    Apr 22, 2020 - Litigation Paralegal in Manchester, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Highlight was leaving this place.

    Cons

    Poor salary, pension and bonus scheme compared to other firms. Their IT is still in the 80s - outdated, slow, and even the newer systems are totally flawed and not fit for purpose. The building is falling apart (literally!). Poor fee structures being agreed with clients purely to secure work, even where this means running cases uneconomically - gives the impression that this is a bargain basement firm. Awkward and inconsistent stance on simple issues such as working from home. This has to be signed off by senior partners and is only authorised with good reason. The firm was therefore completely unprepared for the Covid-19 outbreak and demonstrates how far behind they are in comparison to other firms.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Not a great place to work

    Sep 4, 2020 - Paralegal 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I don’t think there’s any

    Cons

    No work/life balance False Promises Toxic workplace Increased targets without any reason Zero transparency Treat employees as if they’re robots You may have an extra day off for your Birthday however, you’re expected to make up those ‘lost’ hours Managers lack basic managerial skills Micromanagement Obvious hierarchy

    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    BLM

    Oct 16, 2019 - Paralegal in Manchester, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great People, management patient and very helpful. You get out what you put in.

    Cons

    No cons, great company to work for.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    BLM Law Response

    Resourcing Team

    Thank you for your review and your contribution to our firm-we are delighted that your experience at BLM is such a positive one.

  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Don’t bother

    Jul 9, 2019 - Litigation Paralegal in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Can get drafting experience but will have to train yourself

    Cons

    No training left to your own devices and if you are not friendly with the right people you will not get promoted or career development.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    BLM Law Response

    Resourcing Team

    Thank you for your comments. If you feel that you are not receiving the training and support you need, we would encourage you to discuss this with either your line manager or partner. If you would prefer, please talk in confidence to a member of the Learning & Development team, or HR. As a valued employee, it is essential and at the core of our values that all of our colleagues get the support they need and the recognition they deserve.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 22 Reviews

Popular Careers with BLM Law Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at BLM Law? Share Your Experiences

BLM Law logo
or