BLM Law Reviews

Updated Jul 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 95 of over 98 reviews

2.5
33%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
BLM Law Senior Partner Michael Brown (no image)
Michael Brown
38 Ratings
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Not a great place to work

    Sep 4, 2020 - Paralegal 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I don’t think there’s any

    Cons

    No work/life balance False Promises Toxic workplace Increased targets without any reason Zero transparency Treat employees as if they’re robots You may have an extra day off for your Birthday however, you’re expected to make up those ‘lost’ hours Managers lack basic managerial skills Micromanagement Obvious hierarchy

    3 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Feedback

    Jul 27, 2020 - Lawyer in Birmingham, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They are based in city centre

    Cons

    The firm is a joke. They overwork staff to the bone, too tight to invest in IT tech and management are two faced towards employees causing a toxic "them and us culture". The firm has a bad reputation for high staff turnover, people don't stay long with the firm.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Work Environment

    Oct 14, 2019 - Solictor in Manchester, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Positive working environment. Everyone willing to help each other no matter whether solicitor, paralegal, partner etc. Approachable management and good work with opportunity to develop technical ability driven by the individual but supported by the firm

    Cons

    Progression through the ranks is slow and not necessarily rewarded from a financial point of view, with new staff often arriving on higher salaries than the loyal members with similar levels of experience.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    BLM Law Response

    Resourcing Team

    Thank you for your review and comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with BLM. We are committed to supporting our colleagues in achieving their career goals, and encourage anyone to contact a member of the Learning and Development team if they feel further support may be useful.

  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT!! HORRIBLE STAFF!!

    Dec 20, 2019 - Data Analyst in Manchester, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They’re are no pros at all!!

    Cons

    Horrible hostile environment, rude towards women! Just there to be the teams assistant- get them tea and coffee whenever they wanted!! More so hired to be they’re personal waitress instead of being trained for my job!! RIDICULOUS! Speaking down on me is it just because i was the youngest on the team?? Was it because I’m a woman?? No reason for this horrible behaviour!! Openly talking about you in a disgusting manner! Told the main manager about the issues and they said ‘well that’s not real, that’s just an excuse’ !! How appalling! Disgusting management, disgusting company!! AVOID AT ALL COST!!!

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Poor experience

    Dec 18, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Southampton, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It was a good place to work initially.

    Cons

    The managers didn’t have any business sense and there was no accountability once you became a partner as equity partners do not manage partners in the usual way and they covered up complaints about salaried partners. This resulted in salaried partners picking on employees and employees not having anywhere to turn. I have gone to work as a manager in a business and there is no way I would have that position at BLM as managerial ability is not considered when promoting. You become a partner here by billing and being a good lawyer- not the qualities for a good manager. The atmosphere was very much like a factory due to the hours and billing pressure. People didn’t take lunch and they were unhappy. The atmosphere killed my drive temporarily. Encourage ambition, let people challenge management, avoid the suppressed atmosphere as I found that when I left, most of the good staff had left and it was just the robots, the “ yes men” and some partners left.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee

    You have to train to retain

    Aug 20, 2019 - Solicitor, Glasgow 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    "normal office hours" isn't a plus, sorry. 1 hour lunch break is great if you have time to take it, otherwise you work unpaid for an hour. Good Glasgow location.

    Cons

    No training is given to employees of any job role. There's an expectation that you'll walk in knowing everything, even the graduates, and be able to excel with your unbelievable workload. Very cliquey environment, need to understand that everyone of every level and role has an important part to play in ensuring smooth operations. Smokers are allowed to take multiple breaks while non-smokers are expected to carry on. Poor pension scheme in comparison to competitors. Whilst the location of the Glasgow office is good, the premises are outdated. Staff often come down with the cold or overheat due to poor heating and air con. Outdated systems; wholly paperbased and textbooks (yes, textbooks).

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    BLM

    Oct 16, 2019 - Paralegal in Manchester, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great People, management patient and very helpful. You get out what you put in.

    Cons

    No cons, great company to work for.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    BLM Law Response

    Resourcing Team

    Thank you for your review and your contribution to our firm-we are delighted that your experience at BLM is such a positive one.

  8. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good working hours

    Aug 13, 2019 - Solicitor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work life balance and leave office before 5:30 most days- technology is improving and supportive environment

    Cons

    Poor pay compared to competitors, pension scheme not great and becoming more corporate and pressing on hours and bills without the corresponding salary

    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Don’t bother

    Jul 9, 2019 - Litigation Paralegal in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Can get drafting experience but will have to train yourself

    Cons

    No training left to your own devices and if you are not friendly with the right people you will not get promoted or career development.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    BLM Law Response

    Resourcing Team

    Thank you for your comments. If you feel that you are not receiving the training and support you need, we would encourage you to discuss this with either your line manager or partner. If you would prefer, please talk in confidence to a member of the Learning & Development team, or HR. As a valued employee, it is essential and at the core of our values that all of our colleagues get the support they need and the recognition they deserve.

  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Large business with small business values

    May 31, 2019 - Paralegal 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lovely people, good system of knowledge sharing, client driven and good values

    Cons

    Management are slow to make decisions, can be hard to find the opportunity to progress in your career

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    BLM Law Response

    Resourcing Team

    Thank you for your honest and open feedback. I hope you have seen from the agenda at our employee forum meetings that career progression, and in particular our talent programme, is high on our agenda this year. It is really important to us that colleagues feel as though they can learn, develop and progress during their careers at BLM. We would be very keen to discuss this further with you and would encourage you to raise this with your line manager. You will also have seen from Matthew Harrington’s recent update that we are engaging more with our business services teams around the firm and have appointed a head of legal support to ensure those teams are represented at a senior level.

Viewing 31 - 40 of 95 Reviews

Popular Careers with BLM Law Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at BLM Law? Share Your Experiences

BLM Law logo
or