BNSF Railway Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BNSF Railway Reviews

Updated 6 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
BNSF Railway CEO Carl R. Ice (no image)
Carl R. Ice
238 Ratings
Pros
  • "Reasonable Good Pay for entry level(in 121 reviews)

  • "Great pay, good group of coworkers(in 95 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Signal Electronic Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BNSF Railway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    straight 8 hr shifts, greeat pay and benefits

    Cons

    24/7 office, some weekends holidays required

    BNSF Railway2019-12-06
  2. "Great Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carman 

    I have been working at BNSF Railway full-time

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, training, etc.. The works!

    Cons

    You will work, I like to work but that’s a con to some I suppose..

    Advice to Management

    I’ve had great management, so no complaints..

    BNSF Railway2019-12-01
  3. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Superintendent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BNSF Railway full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary, Benefits are highly competitive

    Cons

    Long hours, 24 x 7 operation

    BNSF Railway2019-11-29
  4. "Limited opportunities without moving to an obscure location that may be less than desirable."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BNSF Railway full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job stability in s a plus.

    Cons

    Lack of succession planning for union employees moving to exempt status.

    Advice to Management

    Embrace the concept of flexible work schedules and telecommuting, especially with regards to IT jobs.

    BNSF Railway2019-11-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Secure Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carman in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BNSF Railway full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay, Overtime , Job Security

    Cons

    Days off , vacation time

    BNSF Railway2019-11-09
  6. "Company with Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BNSF Railway full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Committed to development if you take the initiative. Lots of people with good values both in leadership roles and non-leadership roles.

    Cons

    The culture of the company is outdated, rigid and hierarchical. There is also no opportunities to move up and it is very easy to get pegged into a role and stay there until retirement.

    Advice to Management

    Listen and support the younger employees, they will be your future leaders. Also, take a risk every once in a while.

    BNSF Railway2019-11-20
  7. "Solid company, great people--what we do matters!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BNSF Railway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pride. People. Benefits. Berkshire Hathaway. What we do matters, and that matters to me when I'm thinking about where to spend my career. The things we deliver every day keeps our factories running, keeps the lights on and even puts food on the table. Can't say that for many companies. Also the people here are great, and most people really care about their jobs and the success of the company. I've had the... opportunity to spend time with our leadership, and they truly care about the safety and development our people, which is very important to me. We certainly have market challenges to deal with, but you'll rarely see BNSF doing massive layoffs like some of the other railroads. That's by design. We do work hard at BNSF and we run pretty lean, but I believe we are compensated well for it, and the benefits are really pretty great. And being owned by Berkshire really makes a difference in providing some buffer between us and Wall Street (although we still have to perform and remain competitive). And, you can discount trains--they are just cool!

    Show More

    Cons

    Complicated industry and business. Inefficiencies, mostly around older technologies. Union spin that seems to pit some employees against other employees.

    BNSF Railway2019-11-04
  8. "Worked here for years. Don't plan on quitting."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainmaster in Lincoln, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BNSF Railway full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Mostly great people to work for. When layoffs occurred a couple of years ago, they treated the employees who they laid off fairly and did not simply fire them. That was very good to hear that these employees were treated well even if they no longer had a job. Good benefits.

    Cons

    They seem to be more likely to promote people who only know how to be political and talk a good game versus people who may actually understand people and how to motivate them effectively.

    Advice to Management

    Branch out from traditional interview techniques and interview peers of prospective candidates to find out how fair they treat those they work with, and how well these people handles stressful situations. Morale is something which takes a long time to recover and the trust be rebuilt after a poor manager causes damage.

    BNSF Railway2019-11-03
  9. "Great family setting and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TS Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BNSF Railway full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good and option early retirement

    Cons

    Opportunities limited for roles Beyond middle management

    BNSF Railway2019-11-17
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Would not recommend to anyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Yardmaster in Spokane, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BNSF Railway full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good salary. Good retirement.

    Cons

    Company does not value employee experience or opinions. Will no longer promote from the ranks.

    Advice to Management

    All employees understand the need for changes as technology improves. We work in one of the most fluid environments where you have to be able to adapt and change your plans at a moments notice. You have a lot of people here with years of knowledge and experience that would be willing to help make PRODUCTIVE changes that could benefit both sides. Management is very reactive and terrible at being proactive.

    BNSF Railway2019-11-05
Found 819 reviews