BNY Mellon "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BNY Mellon Reviews

Updated Nov 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
BNY Mellon CEO Todd Gibbons
Todd Gibbons
33 Ratings
  1. "Good work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BNY Mellon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance and collaborative work culture. Focus on people

    Cons

    Hard to change and make improvements and basic tech isn’t great

    BNY Mellon2018-11-20

    BNY Mellon Response

    December 13, 2018Talent & Development

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your positive feedback and constructive comments. We are glad to hear that you are enjoying your experience with BNY Mellon. BNY Mellon is committed to ensuring that our teams have the right tools, processes and resources to perform their jobs successfully. For example, our Digital Workplace program continues to implement end-user technologies that help employees be more efficient, productive, collaborative and mobile. We continue to enhance these technologies to support our employees in their daily work. You can find out how we are invested in the digital transformation of our business here: (https://www.bnymellon.com/us/en/who-we-are/people-report/innovate/index.jsp)

    Continue reading
  2. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BNY Mellon full-time

    Pros

    The company benefits package e.g the pension

    Cons

    No work life balance and lack of employee engagement

    BNY Mellon2018-09-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Investment management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - London in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BNY Mellon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Lots of potential opportunities at such a large company - if you ask the right people. - Culture in IM is good, could be better. Work/Life balance is encouraged.

    Cons

    - Slow to implement change, however are getting better at communicating change.

    BNY Mellon2018-08-30
  4. "Great for work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BNY Mellon full-time

    Pros

    Brilliant work-life balance with friendly colleagues. Good social side, with decent work hours

    Cons

    Salary isn’t great compared to other companies within the industry. Must be willing to relocate if want better opportunities

    Continue reading
    BNY Mellon2018-08-21
  5. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at BNY Mellon full-time

    Pros

    good place to work for start up

    Cons

    work life balance missing, no growth

    BNY Mellon2018-08-18
  6. "Contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BNY Mellon

    Pros

    Great work life balance, management very approachable on banking side

    Cons

    some disorganisation with internal processes and procedures. can be frustrating

    BNY Mellon2018-06-05
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Undemanding and unrewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compensation Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BNY Mellon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laid back, low volume workload, no "peak" at year end, pretty much 9-5. Projects don't have deadlines, quite relaxed take on deliverables. Work life balance is not an issue here. Not very analytical for a role that is heavy on numeracy at most organizations. More policy oriented than anything. This job would suits somebody who wants an undemanding role with no challenges and no desire to make the role any bigger than it is. Well paid for the level of skill required.

    Cons

    No development or progression, very bureaucratic. No value add. Projects just bounce around until they lose all meaning. Can be demotivating if you value having meaningful outputs in your job. Not one for anyone with even an ounce of professional ambition. The team is run on personality politics at the senior manager level, it can be a bullying and unpleasant atmosphere if you find yourself on the wrong side of certain personalities.

    Continue reading
    BNY Mellon2018-05-23
  8. "Software Enginner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BNY Mellon full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance - no one stays late in office.

    Cons

    Very low bonus and salary increase per year

    BNY Mellon2018-02-19
  9. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Business Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BNY Mellon for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is a positive

    Cons

    Management Organisation can be lacking at times

    BNY Mellon2018-02-01
  10. "Not a bad place to work and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BNY Mellon full-time

    Pros

    Good place to work and learn Great colleagues Good work/life balance Opportunity for career development if you are interested in management.

    Cons

    Salary / compensation isn't very competitive for the industry

    BNY Mellon2018-02-13
Found 725 reviews