BP Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BP Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
BP CEO Bob Dudley
Bob Dudley
221 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Demurrage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Demurrage Negotiator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BP full-time

    Pros

    good office environment friendly colleague

    Cons

    No microwave in the office

    Advice to Management

    Good help and nice guidances along the way

    BP2019-12-10
  2. "Comms"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Assistant in London, England

    I have been working at BP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good prospects overall

    Cons

    Long hours, but that is standard

    BP2019-12-09
  3. "Great place to work with friendly managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Bracknell, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BP part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I met a lot of friends at my time working for BP. The hours are reasonable and for the job the pay is good. Flexible working times could be established with managers in good notice and by liaising with other workers.

    Cons

    None, I enjoyed my time working with BP.

    BP2019-12-05
  4. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BP full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    compensation, work life balance, Location

    Cons

    change management, leadership, Training and development

    Advice to Management

    Improve transparency. Give voice to diversity

    BP2019-12-04
  5. "Good benefit at start, slow progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Graduate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay at the start of the career. Amazing culture! People are super friendly. For sure there are some arrogant ones but nothing compared to what one would find in banks! Work life balance like no other.

    Cons

    Talking about progression and benefits are very discouraged. Good people will seek for better benefits. Seems like they have no budgets for this. Hence people will move.

    Advice to Management

    Rather keep well performing employees by giving the fair benefits rather than having them leaving and expensive contractors to replace them.

    BP2019-11-28
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Procurement in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong leadership Forward thinking Passion for changing the industry

    Cons

    Multiple stakeholders Challenging org structures

    Advice to Management

    Continue to simplify the business and reporting lines

    BP2019-11-25
  7. "North Sea"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Technician in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New facilities, opportunities to work abroad. Safe place to work. Good people to work with. Bupa.

    Cons

    Long offshore shifts, pay is lagging behind competitors. Pension scheme is poor for this industry.

    BP2019-12-10
  8. "Fantastic work life balance and great bunch of people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Auditor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great bunch of people to work with Great benefits (including 5 quid for lunch each day!) Good work life balance Interesting work Ability to affect change Recognised for good work Supported at tough times

    Cons

    Worry about future at the company as work seems to be shipped offshore. Stagnant career / not much room at the top and regular re-organisations.

    BP2019-11-21
  9. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Easy enough - The bakery has some nice food

    Cons

    Management has a culture of bullying which filters down to the staff. At the BP garage I worked at, everybody was constantly stressed or gossiping about one another.

    Advice to Management

    Be more understanding with the needs of others.

    BP2019-12-03
  10. "A company in flux"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BP full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Increasingly strives to embody to its stated core values and behaviours: Safety, Excellence, Courage, Respect, and One Team

    Cons

    Amorphous and constantly changing ...good in a sense, but confusing and unclear in others.

    Advice to Management

    Could do with training staff in behaviours that lead to success in navigating amorphous and constantly changing internal business relationships and clients, rather than it just the people with the inherent skillset to naturally do so, to rise to success.

    BP2019-11-13
Found 462 reviews
</>Embed