BT Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BT Reviews

Updated 14 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3422 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
BT CEO Philip Jansen (no image)
Philip Jansen
163 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to be a part of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of investment into staff training days really empowers you to grow as an individual. Hard work is well rewarded with bonuses and there is a clear track for progression if you wish to stay in BT and work your way up.

    Cons

    The only downside is that due to the size of the organisation there are many middle managers and offshore teams throughout processes which makes it difficult to get sign-off/make decisions very quickly. Annoying if it affects the dealing with a customer you're working with.

    Advice to Management

    Sometimes the procedures get in the way of the most sensible way to do things. The customer journey needs to come first.

    BT2019-08-28
  2. "Great company to work for with lots of benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of IP Migrations 

    I have been working at BT full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great employee benefits Competitive salary Flexible working

    Cons

    Current restructuring program is disrupting.

    BT2019-09-12
  3. "BT / EE Networks and IT Department Status"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Designer in Hatfield, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BT full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of different Jobs to do, due to the diverse nature of the company.

    Cons

    Not easy to do multi disciplinary Jobs. Innovative ideas and thinking only encouraged some departments. More work is being done to address that with the Human Centred Da-Vinci program

    Advice to Management

    Remove demarcation between departments, Sectors and encourage cross culture and interdisciplinary learning

    BT2019-09-11
  4. "Happy place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BT part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good relationships with other staff

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    BT2019-09-09
  5. "Engaging company, but experience can vary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New CEO seems to have energised the company recently, good set of rewards e.g. free landline and internet, lots of great people to work with.

    Cons

    Slow to change and modernise, opportunities for progression can be limited

    Advice to Management

    keep on engaging with employees, accept there is room for some middle management

    BT2019-09-09
  6. "A comfortable long-term place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get a lot of support with many experienced people ready to help you and HR ready to accommodate whatever career path you choose.

    Cons

    Admin is clunky and it is not a 'modern' company - a lot of the struggle is in dealing with legacy systems and old databases.

    BT2019-09-07
  7. "Great fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Doncaster, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BT part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun yet challenging work environment-gets the best out of staff

    Cons

    High targets which were at times unrealistic

    Advice to Management

    Keep it fun!

    BT2019-09-01
  8. "Changing for the better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Director in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    EE culture was great and the company is slowly adopting many of the great cultural attributes. I feel I can also voice my opinion.

    Cons

    Beauraucracy. Short termism Lack of opportunities to progress Work life balance and wellbeing

    BT2019-09-14
  9. "Huge company brings capability and some challenges. New CEO driving change."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Deal Architect in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BT full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Varied work. Company has amazing capability. Flexible working, my base office is my home. BT has some very talented people and it is great to work with them. Lots of opportunities to develop and learn.

    Cons

    Long hours. Can feel like you are a small cog in a big machine. Difficult to get a pay rise above inflation.

    BT2019-08-30
  10. "Good corporate environment but stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Bristol, England

    I have been working at BT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Training opportunities, pay, experience, professional,

    Cons

    Very long hours, stressful. Not very modern when comes to some areas of part time working, ie part time eye

    Advice to Management

    More part-time options for professional and skilled workers. Even now I see all such jobs advertised as full time only.

    BT2019-09-13
Found 3422 reviews
</>Embed