Badoo "massages" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Badoo Employee Reviews about "massages"

Updated 9 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
77%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Badoo CEO Whitney Wolfe Herd
Whitney Wolfe Herd
1 Rating
Pros
  • "Incredible benefits from Gym, to medicine, free food, & perks(in 25 reviews)

  • "Great perks, free food and massages(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "I wanted to be so wrong about working for a Russian company and be open minded(in 15 reviews)

  • "(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "massages"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Feels like home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IOS Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Badoo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    ⁃ great technical competency of every single engineer ⁃ supportive management ⁃ keeping up-to-date with the latest tech (swift, kotlin) ⁃ broad range of projects to work on as the company moves at a very fast pace ⁃ possibility to switch between teams and even departments ⁃ the company grows and improves a lot in terms of diversity, management approach and technology ⁃ full cover of visiting 2 conferences per year (tickets, transport, hotel, food), unlimited as a speaker ⁃ outstanding perks: amazing food (breakfast, lunch, dinner), daily upperback massages, frequent team activities (travel, lunches,.. — up to the team!), sports (gym, football, tennis,..) ⁃ best bi-annual parties ever ⁃ PS love my team :)

    Cons

    ⁃ lack of equity compensation ⁃ too frequent performance reviews ⁃ from time to time there are projects with very hard deadlines (could be a plus for someone as it feels like a startup job)

    Continue reading
    Badoo2020-01-09

    Badoo Response

    January 14, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and thanks for your kind words. We are so pleased that you make the most of the generous benefits on offer here. We appreciate all feedback and your comments have been noted and shared.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Below market salaries, lack of transparent performance evaluation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Badoo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Badoo has all the nice things that a shiny company in London would offer: free food, free massage, free haircut, full kitchen etc. Dating business is very fun to work with if you are interested in the product design/implementation processes.

    Cons

    Below market average salaries glazed by a monthly bonus scheme to allow you to catch up with market levels. However, this scheme wickedly functions as a carrot and stick practice to turn you into a workhorse. You are always compared to the rest of the peers and if you value your work/life balance you will always be on the losing side by constantly being told that you underperform against the expectations. In the beginning you think it is you but then you realize that most of your peers are fed with this narrative as well and it is the scheme underneath. Mid to long term, you realize that there is no structure in line management. Performance evaluation process is very opaque. You might get a raise/promotion with one manager and not with another although you are performing absolutely at the same level.

    Continue reading
    Badoo2019-08-23

    Badoo Response

    September 5, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback is valued. We’re glad to hear that you enjoy working in the dating industry and appreciate the many benefits on offer. We would like to encourage you to discuss any concerns with your HR Business Partner so that we can clarify any questions you have and work to improve your employment experience here at MagicLab.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Great company to work for as a Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Badoo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Perks - pretty much everything that you can think of, hard to find other companies in London to offer you the same. Few of them are private medical and dental insurances, all day meals provided in the office, kitchen full with snacks and drinks, and many more ... my personal favourite one was the daily 5 min massage at your desk. Team - the design team is a strategic part of the product and company. There are a lot of design challenges to solve as the apps are always progressing and evolving. You can expect to work with some very smart and talented people which really helps to push your boundaries. In addition to all of the perks I've mentioned above there are also a lot of design specific ones to help you grow and learn - fully covered local and international conferences, training budget which you can use for courses or books, and of course the amazing design team builds. Company - fast moving environment where people work hard and are passionate about what they do. You have the freedom to work on the stuff you enjoy more and have a real impact on the product.

    Cons

    Fast moving - sometimes this can be a bit overwhelming, management moves from one idea to another. Career growth - I believe the company can do a better job here.

    Continue reading
    Badoo2019-04-11

    Badoo Response

    April 24, 2019Badoo

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review about our perks, team and company. We strive to ensure that we deliver a great employee experience and will pass your feedback on to the relevant teams. Wishing you success in your future career.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Winning Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Badoo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The investment in people, from healthy catered meals which include, breakfast, lunch, tea time and dinner through to food that you can grab on the go and unlimited beverages. Another great perk is weekly onsite beauty treatments and a daily 5 minute massage at my desk which poses minimal disruption to my day whilst keeping me energised. Whilst these perks make me more productive and from a business point of view, bring out the best of my ability they have also worked wonders for my wellbeing. I feel a sense that the company has invested in me. The tech provided to do my job is high spec and I'm also encouraged to attend company funded conferences to grow my potential. The office is in a great location and the people have been friendly, helpful and authentic.

    Cons

    Honestly, I can't think of any.

    Badoo2019-04-03

    Badoo Response

    April 24, 2019Badoo

    Thanks for your feedback, it’s great to hear that you are enjoying your time with us. You can #Badoo some of the joys of our employee perks that you've mentioned on social media. Don’t forget we also offer a great referral scheme and are always looking for great talent to join the Badoo family.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "A truly great place to grow as a Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Badoo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    • Modernistic company – always up-to-date with the trends and technology, culturally-rich and open environment, you are not forced to stay in one place the whole day to work. • You are well-looked after – the perks are unparalleled: food of all sorts day in, day out, massages, health and wellbeing events, private medical and dental insurances, to name a few. You work hard, and you also get to play hard. We throw big parties to unwind and just enjoy everyone's company. • Growth – we are always encouraged to go to conferences around the globe, as well as trainings and workshops: all paid for. You just need to show your serious commitment and motivation to get the most out of it. We also share our extended knowledge throughout the whole team to maximise our know-how in the industry and support each other. • Supportive team – we are constantly growing as a team, and it is very much like having a big family where you spend majority of your life, which is just great. We do team building outings to relax and get to know each other better outside the office as well.

    Cons

    • Immensely fast-paced that sometimes you lack the time to properly explore some projects, though we do go back to them most of the time to constantly improve our work. • We have a pool of strong-minded individuals who are very tenacious with their ideas and opinions, which can cause friction most of the time. However, with enough evidence and arguments about your confidence with where you stand with your work, it is possible to get through to these people and meet each other halfway.

    Continue reading
    Badoo2019-04-05

    Badoo Response

    April 24, 2019Badoo

    Thanks for your feedback, it’s great to hear that you are enjoying your time with us. You can #Badoo some of the joys of our employee perks on social media. Don’t forget we also offer a great referral scheme and are always looking for great talent to join the Badoo family.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Badoo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started working at Badoo over a year ago, and I am still a happy employee. I admit a lot of my friends are jealous I work here because Badoo provides you with anything you need Benefits include: free breakfast, lunch and dinner; healthy and not so healthy snacks; free haircuts in the office; daily desk massages; subsidized gym memberships; food plan to help you lose weight or gain muscles; stunning parties and more! I feel like hard work at Badoo gets noticed as there is a transparent review process to discuss your career path and get manager's feedback on your performance. Positions are often filled up internally if you are willing to learn and have the required skill set for the role. I think it’s a great motivation for current employees There is a budget for training so you can develop your skills or learn something new The company uses new technologies and software so you can keep up with the current trends You get to work with very smart people To summarize my impression on working for Badoo, I would say it’s a challenging and demanding work that gets done while having fun

    Cons

    Few extra kg gained - otherwise happy

    Badoo2019-01-09

    Badoo Response

    April 24, 2019Badoo

    Thanks for your feedback, it’s great to hear that you are enjoying your time with us. You can #Badoo some of the joys of our employee perks on social media. Don’t forget we also offer a great referral scheme and are always looking for great talent to join the Badoo family.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Finally Marketing team has great management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Performance Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Badoo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Smart and open managers you can learn from and discuss new ideas with - Clear direction and performance-driven culture - Great perks, free food and massages - Open access to founder and senior management

    Cons

    Marketing had a lot of low performers. It was really demotivating to work in that environment. Some reviews criticize marketing management but they had to deal witb people who weren't used to working. The people who complain about the CMO: he had to deal with people who were stealing money from the company and even buy personal shoes on corporate cards. Have a moment of honesty about hwat you were doing. It's great to see that all this was finally sorted.

    Continue reading
    Badoo2018-08-23

    Badoo Response

    September 2, 2018HR Director

    Hey, thanks for your review, and for being excited about things to come. Whilst our CMO had to take tough decisions on re-designing the marketing function, it was not on any of the grounds you have interpreted in your review. It is sad to see this lack of respect from a current employee for Badooers who we have parted ways with. If you'd like to discuss this more offline, do drop me a note. Best, Ann

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Tech role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Badoo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - smart co-workers - high salaries - expect gaining lots of experience and grow professionally - free lunches, breakfasts, massages, looooots of perks - cosy - very vibrant company

    Cons

    - politics starting from some level. - there are many people that seem grumpy on the first glance, mostly coming from Russia. This might make you feel uncomfortable, but this is only until the first vodka party where it turns out they are the sweetest people in the world. But next day, you might see them grumpy again. In general, russian way of communicating is way more explicit and might be considered rude for westerners. You might or might not like it. - no one is really passionate about the app - php, ffs Generally speaking, although it is really cofortable working there, you might get bored after several years of working there. It might be frustrating to the founders, but the truth is, the product is about making the money, and not changing the world, and free food and massages cannot compensate for this.

    Continue reading
    Badoo2018-09-07
  9. Helpful (21)

    "Awful Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Badoo full-time

    Pros

    Great perks: free breakfast, lunch and dinner if you work late as well as massages and parties.

    Cons

    The product feels like a scam. Very strong Russian culture. Unless you are Russian or a white male, you will not be treated as an equal.

    Continue reading
    Badoo2018-03-12

    Badoo Response

    September 2, 2018HR Director

    Hey, thanks for your review! It is sad to hear you think Badoo does not foster an inclusive culture, with 41 different nationalities represented across our 8 global offices and gender balance far better than tech industry benchmarks, it's something we've been working hard on. Without knowing where you worked at Badoo it is hard to look into the culture issues you've raised. I'll take your feedback on board though, we can always do better. Best, Ann

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great place for the right person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Badoo full-time

    Pros

    Great remuneration and benefits - they'll go above and beyond to keep you comfortable. Free meals and massages every day, parties every month. They're really very generous.

    Cons

    The culture is very patriarchal and competitive - if you thrive in an environment of one-up and teasing, you'll love it. If you prefer a gentle, respectful place, not so much.

    Continue reading
    Badoo2017-08-15

    Badoo Response

    September 7, 2017HR Advisor

    Thanks for your kind feedback on working at Badoo. As a business committed to continual improvement, we really do appreciate that you have taken the time to identify both the positive aspects of life at Badoo and the areas that we can work on. We are always striving to improve what we do and are currently working on improving our on-boarding process to give new joiners the best start to their journey with us. Thank you for your contribution to life at Badoo.

    Continue reading
Found 22 reviews