Bain & Company "professional development" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Bain & Company Employee Reviews about "professional development"

Updated 19 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
93%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Bain & Company Worldwide Managing Partner Manny Maceda
Manny Maceda
618 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Cases vary and can sometimes be very demanding with long hours(in 454 reviews)

  • "Work life balance might be bad on some cases(in 397 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "professional development"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "The best place in the world to start a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The firm's culture is one of constant learning - feedback sessions on my professional development occur 4-6 times a month with people of all tenures. From a compensation and benefits point of view, we are treated the best in the industry.

    Cons

    Longer hours than one would aspire for!

    Bain & Company2019-06-14
  2. "Brilliant place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    You get to work on the most challenging, high-impact projects with the biggest and best companies in the world. The culture is amazing - I don't think any other high-performance company manages to balance your professional development, freedom to try new things and the supportive, 'family', environment that exists. Bain is truly unique in that regard.

    Cons

    The hours can be long, and that is the sacrifice you need to be willing to make.

    Bain & Company2018-06-12
  3. "Best starting place for a crash course in business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started at Bain & Company straight out of uni, and found it the best place to kickstart my career in business. Some of the key pros of working at Bain: -Impactful work: at the end of the day, I could see how our work was making a difference for our clients and wider community. Our advice was informing clients' decision making and led to multiple changes in their organisations. Some projects were truly global in scale and personally it was great to see how they are set up and managed. -Internal culture: Bain internal culture is built around learning and mentoring. We have an extensive internal support system which addresses professional development needs throughout the time at Bain. Despite busy periods, everyone is friendly and always willing to lend a helping hand. -Career kickstart: overall, experience and skills developed at Bain make it a great place to start a career in business. Global brand recognition also helps when looking for your next opportunity.

    Cons

    -Hours: at times it does get busy and work/life balance suffers, however, management team is always aware of it and tries to make up for it between projects. I still think it's better than in other comparable jobs (consulting/banking), based on what I heard from my friends.

    Continue reading
    Bain & Company2018-06-12
  4. "Great place to learn with amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Working with biggest corporate clients -Culture and values -People: amazing colleagues -Opportunities for learning and professional development -Fun

    Cons

    -Hours can be tough and unpredictable -Not all work leads to change

    Bain & Company2018-01-22
  5. "Amazing professional development and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The dedication at Bain to professional development is truly unique. On every case there is a focus that one part of the job is to deliver results for the client whilst the other part is about developing the team. The culture is fantastic and is organic bottom up rather than some corporate enforced fun.

    Cons

    None beyond what you'd expect working in a top tier consulting firm.

    Bain & Company2017-10-19

    Bain & Company Response

    November 9, 2017Director, Global Consultant Talent Management

    Thank you for highlighting our supportive culture in your review. Our aspiration is that our employees thrive in their career - both personally and professionally. As you note, individuals interests and needs may change over time. We believe it's very important be supportive at every step in our employees' career journeys.

    Continue reading
  6. "Highly rewarding and great for career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people who really care about both their colleagues and solving client problems. It is refreshing how team-oriented people are. Excellent professional development opportuniities. Very motivating environment.

    Cons

    Hours can be long, although compensated for by recognition from managers / partners and rewarding work. Although you can influence which project/s you get to work on, you don't have full control - it is driven by business needs.

    Continue reading
    Bain & Company2013-01-09
  7. "Great people and always learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to learn and grow. Challenging but rewarding work (although not always). Mostly really good management who cares about your professional development

    Cons

    Cases vary and can sometimes be very demanding with long hours

    Bain & Company2020-02-08
  8. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bain & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    lots of positive things about working hard and the professional development

    Cons

    there aren't really many to think about

    Bain & Company2020-02-19
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Constant investment in professional development. Surrounded by really smart, hard working people who are committed to making working there a great experience.

    Cons

    Hours can be long and highly variable depending on the type of case

    Bain & Company2019-12-09
  10. Helpful (6)

    "There's a reason Bain is glassdoor's best place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, professional development opportunities, mentorship

    Cons

    As is the case in management consulting, the hours can be long. But Bain is better than competing firms.

    Bain & Company2019-10-24

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 184 reviews