Bain & Company "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Bain & Company Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 21 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
94%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Bain & Company CEO Manny Maceda
Manny Maceda
579 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to launch a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    The best people you could possibly work with; you will be constantly challenged and shocked at how much you can grow.

    Cons

    As management consulting moves away from strategy and into more hands-on implementation and results delivery work, there can be some scope creep which eats into work-life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure results delivery doesn't get in the way of learnings!

    Bain & Company2019-03-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good training and place to learn, a pity about bad PR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    - Global training - Learning to be data driven - Fun culture

    Cons

    - Poor work life balance - Almost 0 local partners - Scandal

    Bain & Company2019-03-21
  3. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Analyst Intern in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and Work life balance

    Cons

    nothing. All was really good

    Bain & Company2018-09-10
  4. "Best starting place for a crash course in business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started at Bain & Company straight out of uni, and found it the best place to kickstart my career in business. Some of the key pros of working at Bain: -Impactful work: at the end of the day, I could see how our work was making a difference for our clients and wider community. Our advice was informing clients' decision making and led to multiple changes in their organisations. Some projects were truly... global in scale and personally it was great to see how they are set up and managed. -Internal culture: Bain internal culture is built around learning and mentoring. We have an extensive internal support system which addresses professional development needs throughout the time at Bain. Despite busy periods, everyone is friendly and always willing to lend a helping hand. -Career kickstart: overall, experience and skills developed at Bain make it a great place to start a career in business. Global brand recognition also helps when looking for your next opportunity.

    Show More

    Cons

    -Hours: at times it does get busy and work/life balance suffers, however, management team is always aware of it and tries to make up for it between projects. I still think it's better than in other comparable jobs (consulting/banking), based on what I heard from my friends.

    Advice to Management

    -Learning and Mentoring: make sure the apprenticeship model keeps working with senior members of the team properly teaching and mentoring junior new joiners.

    Bain & Company2018-06-12
  5. "Senior Associate Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    - People - Results oriented

    Cons

    - Work-life balance - Unable to pick projects

    Bain & Company2018-05-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Case team lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Team Lead in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bain & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent team, ethos and calibre of employee. Great personal development. Learnt loads and still in touch with many alumni

    Cons

    Tough to fit in the (lack of) work life balance with having a young family.

    Advice to Management

    Nurture more senior role models for juggling home and work and being an actively involved parent mid week

    Bain & Company2018-01-29
  7. "Great (Bain &) company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    The people really make the difference at Bain and the companies values align with what I believe a consulting firm should stand for.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is not always ideal, but I feel it is better than at other firms and nearly all plans can be realized if you give two weeks notice to your team.

    Bain & Company2017-12-24
  8. "Great culture, amazing teams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fast pace learning, respectful of work life balance

    Cons

    very few cons if you're looking for a competitive career (not a place to relax for a couple of years)

    Bain & Company2017-10-26
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Perks are great - lots of offsites, global trainings and opportunities to spend time with peers builds a great network of friends in the office - Work is incredibly varied, in ~2 years have worked in multiple industries and each project is different - The people are incredibly smart, diverse and fun. The culture in general is amazing! - A lot of Managers / Partners really care about the juniors, they will... happily just chat to you about career moves etc. and are generally fairly approachable - Great post-Bain options - Flexibility options can be great - opportunities to live / work abroad, take externships and Leave of Absence - Constant emphasis on improvements in the office, weekly surveys to track satisfaction and changes generally made on the feedback where possible

    Show More

    Cons

    - Hours are long, often with heavy travel also which can be tough on the work-life balance - Pay in London is significantly below other Bain offices and worse than salaries in other industries that Bainies are qualified for - Flexibility options can be difficult to take, the options for transfers etc are there, but they are more difficult to take than recruiting sells it as

    Advice to Management

    Keep driving sustainability and increase the value proposition in London

    Bain & Company2017-07-18
  10. "Fantastic place to gain well-rounded business education."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Highly intelligent/motivated colleagues -Great clients/interesting cases -Endless opportunities for personal development -Fantastic perks (global travel, training programmes, social events) -Abundant post-Bain career options -Funding for business school -Flexible career options (leaves of absence, transfers, social impact etc.)

    Cons

    -Work/life balance can, at times, be a struggle (London is very good relative to other offices though)

    Advice to Management

    -London management should continue to prioritise sustainability as they're doing a great job of it relative to elsewhere (in Europe) at the moment!

    Bain & Company2017-06-28
Found 463 reviews