Baker McKenzie Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Baker McKenzie Reviews

Updated 21 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 346 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Baker McKenzie CEO Paul Rawlinson
Paul Rawlinson
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "Known as "the friendliest Law Firm" - good culture, great location, good benefits(in 28 reviews)

  • "great work environment, high level training(in 16 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "The Best Organization I've Ever Worked For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baker McKenzie full-time

    Pros

    Staff are treated really well and training develops essential skills.

    Cons

    People can display anger due to the competitive environment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    Baker McKenzie2018-09-16
  2. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England

    I have been working at Baker McKenzie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great international transnational experience

    Cons

    long hours and work week end

    Baker McKenzie2019-08-02
  3. "Information Security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture, enterprise toolsets, flexible working

    Cons

    Workload, procurement processing and workflows

    Baker McKenzie2019-06-28
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England

    I have been working at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Absolutely international. Interesting work in various AOLs

    Cons

    Bureaucratic, slow movement on salary increase and other HR

    Baker McKenzie2019-04-26
  5. "IP Paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Baker McKenzie full-time

    Pros

    - Great colleagues - Made friends for life - Great office space

    Cons

    - Poor management - Clandestine practices, hiring and firing goes on all the time - Lack of respect for colleagues, some are more equal than others - Forced culture. I am fully pro gay rights, however I do not feel it should be forced upon employees how may hold differing views. That should be respected. - False good vibes imposed on the staff. - Was writhe with favoritism. I had seen a lady who was pulled up for...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Initially was a fantastic place to work, but you forget that respecting your employees is what keeps people there for life.

    Baker McKenzie2019-05-10
  6. "Good employer and good career prospects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Documentation in London, England

    I have been working at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good atmoshpere, well-known company, training.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Baker McKenzie2019-03-12
  7. "worst place i worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Support in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Baker McKenzie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary location and office are good

    Cons

    Everything else management HR clique groups unfriendly

    Baker McKenzie2019-02-14
  8. "One of the best legal employers in Belfast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's an incredibly friendly place to work. With lots of young people and a constantly expanding workforce, it feels like a fresh, exciting place to work. There are a lot of employee benefits and perks, you are treated very well and you can negotiate a very good salary. The hours are generally pretty good. There are lots of opportunities for extracurricular activities and sports, but no pressure to get involved. There...

    Show More

    Cons

    It's a big office - over 300 people - so it can be hard to get to know people outside your department. The office is modern but it's just long rows of desks, so can be very noisy, and a lack of quiet spaces forces people to take calls and have meetings in these areas, making it hard to concentrate.

    Baker McKenzie2019-01-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Friendly Firm making good strides - but choppy waters in professional services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Friendly culture -Global opportunities -Excellent cross border clients

    Cons

    - Poor change management practices executed at senior level - Won't invest (money or resource) in key strategic people priorities

    Advice to Management

    Provide honest feedback with the goal of developing and improving people Stop the nepotism that exists in appointments of senior roles

    Baker McKenzie2019-01-25
  10. "Baker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Revenue Controller in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere. Balance family / work.

    Cons

    Processes outdated. Lack of cultural diversity.

    Baker McKenzie2018-11-26
Found 346 reviews