Baker McKenzie "law firm" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Baker McKenzie Employee Reviews about "law firm"

Updated 26 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Baker McKenzie Global Chair Paul Rawlinson
Paul Rawlinson
89 Ratings
Pros
  • "Known as "the friendliest Law Firm" - good culture, great location, good benefits(in 29 reviews)

  • "Friendly and supportive work environment(in 20 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "law firm"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Baker McKenzie ticks all of the boxes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Officer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Known as "the friendliest Law Firm" - good culture, great location, good benefits. Strong brand. Really good restaurant which does some tasty food. I'm trusted to do my job, and my opinion is genuinely valued. In my time here so far I have been able to implement some really good processes to improve the way things are done. You are 'not just a number' and are made to feel like you are an important part of something great. In my role I get to work with some great people from other offices around the world.

    Cons

    Some processes can be more joined-up. If the confectionary in the 'pic n mix' in the canteen was Haribo, I'd ask Glassdoor to create a sixth star, which I would rate Baker McKenzie London!

    Continue reading
    Baker McKenzie2017-06-25
  2. "You get out what you put in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance Access to lots more training and development opportunities than I've had elsewhere Management is very accessible Culture is not just empty rhetoric Decent benefits e.g. perks cards, medical insurance

    Cons

    Processes can be overly lengthy (perhaps to be expected of a global law firm) You can feel stretched at times (but this has allowed myself and colleagues to prove ourselves and be recognised in a relatively short space of time)

    Continue reading
    Baker McKenzie2018-08-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Strong London office, but ambitions not matched by actions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The reputation as the "friendly" law firm is justly deserved, vast majority of staff are incredibly warm and open-minded people. The work is of a high quality and though pressured at times, this is relatively light for a global law firm. Conditions are very good (including excellent flexible working) - and though pay is just below top-tier, this is the quid pro quo for a not unreasonable work/life balance. Note that experiences vary significantly between departments, which are effectively silos/fiefdoms of their managers. Litigious, advisory and business support departments tend to fare better than transactional ones. The London office is in an excellent location, both in terms of public transport links and being on the western edge of the City (which, in my opinion, is definitely the nicer side).

    Cons

    Ambitions to become a more significant player in the London legal market are stymied by the [relatively small] size of the corporate department. Similarly, global reach is hampered by the lack of connectivity between individual offices (the fee structures are not joined up between cities, nor are key IT/phone systems). These faults are widely recognised and targeted, but without the partnership becoming less risk-averse, these "cons" will continue for the foreseeable future. Like any corporate law firm, the culture can be stressful and pressured. As law firms go, it is relatively manageable. However, there is a risk that - as the firm seeks to meet its ambitions - its better cultural elements will be shed. The London office interior is pretty dire, with staff keenly awaiting for the day when facilities runs out of carpet tiles (so that the floors can be recovered in something other than sea-vomit green).

    Continue reading
    Baker McKenzie2017-08-16
  4. "Compliance Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Matter Management (Compliance) Analyst in London, England
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baker McKenzie

    Pros

    Very friendly staff, lot's of benefits.

    Cons

    Cons in my role, global law firm, some offices do not want to comply with foreign legislation, makes our work difficult.

    Continue reading
    Baker McKenzie2017-04-24
  5. "Best law firm to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baker McKenzie

    Pros

    Baker & McKenzie is a global business law firm, but it is also an incredibly pleasant place to work at. Of course the work is high profile and compensation is high, but there is definitely a connection shared by B&M employees. People are happy to work here and work/life balance is great. B&M is international. That means that it is easy to go on a secondment to another office for anywhere between 3 months (usually at trainee level) to several years. Work/life balance is incredible for a law firms. Partners actually have wives and families and think you should be able to have a personal life. Of course expectations are high, but you are given the possibility to organise your work to avoid last minute whole-nighters, and they will hire more people if needed.

    Cons

    Although B&M has 70 offices around the world, most of the offices are populated by local lawyers. This makes the place feel less international then it could be, although lawyers are encouraged to spend at least a year working in another office or on secondment for a client.

    Continue reading
    Baker McKenzie2008-07-06
  6. "Great pay, but waterfall, political culture, years behind the curve in technology and any internal business services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager (Internal Services) in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Baker McKenzie full-time

    Pros

    Great pay, great location, intelligent people

    Cons

    Super political. Research law firm culture. All they say about law firms is true, at all levels of organization. They are reorganizing. That means any internal role is supposed to cover the work of 3 people, to cut costs.

    Baker McKenzie2020-01-26
  7. "Good culture- would recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Baker McKenzie

    Pros

    Good Culture, friendly staff, nice work environment, manageable hours, supportive

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind- would recommend, a good top tier law firm

    Baker McKenzie2019-11-22
  8. "As law firms go, this is a great deal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baker McKenzie full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility to change (compared to other firms), no shark attitude, high pressure but also some time for fun, nice offices

    Cons

    Billable hours, law firm culture, resistance to engage with modern HR management, no investment in individual careers/desires

    Baker McKenzie2019-09-25
  9. "great firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The firm offers opportunities for various departmental training and international secondments It is a truly global law firm

    Cons

    Heavy workload; lack of work life balance

    Baker McKenzie2019-01-11
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Shocking exit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Baker McKenzie part-time

    Pros

    At time was biggest law firm in world. Paid me full benefits (17 total) for part-time work. One employee walked by my desk daily saying the firm was so lucky to have me.

    Cons

    I worked Fridays with staff but Saturdays Sundays and holidays alone at office (as well as on-call for absences) as overflow for up to 77 offices worldwide. There is a 24-7 overflow office in Malaysia but I was discouraged from using it. So many in my hallway quit or were terminated that others joked that I chased them away. Then I received a PIP when I thought I would get a raise after working 18 days in a row including weekends. High turnover particularly for this position. To boot I did not have weekly training offered as other employees did who worked Mon-Thu regularly.

    Continue reading
    Baker McKenzie2018-08-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 42 reviews