Bakkavor Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Bakkavor Reviews

Updated 18 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Bakkavor CEO Ágúst Gudmundsson (no image)
Ágúst Gudmundsson
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, good staff shop, nice people working there, everyone is friendly(in 4 reviews)

  • "Friendly environment and a learning curve(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours at work with short breaks due to having to change work clothes before entering production site(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very easy to start working here because it is an multi national company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Despatcher in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bakkavor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Long-time contracts fine management plus trusty company.

    Cons

    Maybe too many hours sometimes.

    Bakkavor2019-10-18
  2. "Rewarding but challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bakkavor

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, relaxed atmosphere when it's a run of the mill working day

    Cons

    High personnel turnover rate, fast growth means management is spread thin

    Advice to Management

    Don't collapse under the fast growth - invest in good staff.

    Bakkavor2019-10-18
  3. "Average Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Factory Operative in Walmer, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Bakkavor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Variety of positions and chance for advancement.

    Cons

    Middle Management need to improve their people skills and communication methods with lower ranks.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff more.

    Bakkavor2019-10-14
  4. "Aggressive management style"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Bakkavor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some good people in the team

    Cons

    Managers shout at people all the time

    Bakkavor2019-10-09
  5. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Section Leader in Holbeach, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bakkavor full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    shift pattern, 2nd weekend 3 days off

    Cons

    low pay, difficult to get holiday when I need

    Bakkavor2019-08-08

    Bakkavor Response

    September 18, 2019Social Media Business Partner

    Hi, Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate your views. Bakkavor

  6. "Good place to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bakkavor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast-paced environment with a lot of opportunities for development, values culture and great team.

    Cons

    Not always support can be provided for performing your duties

    Bakkavor2019-07-13

    Bakkavor Response

    September 18, 2019Social Media Business Partner

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to see you enjoy working with us and i hope you take advantage of the development opportunities. Thanks again tom

  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bakkavor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Discount on products Good pay for office staff

    Cons

    Poor management Training required for Management but never seems to happen

    Bakkavor2019-07-23

    Bakkavor Response

    September 18, 2019Social Media Business Partner

    Hello, Thank you for the review, it sounds like you have taken advantage of some of our great benefits. Management training is really important to us, thank you for mentioning it I will forward this to the site. Thanks again for your effort

  8. "what a horrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Newark on Trent, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bakkavor full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    4 days off away from hell

    Cons

    4 days at work where youre treated like a non human

    Advice to Management

    stop the blame culture

    Bakkavor2019-08-11

    Bakkavor Response

    September 18, 2019Social Media Business Partner

    Hi, Thank you for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave it. I hope you managed to feedback your thoughts to HR so we can look into your issues. Bakkavor

  9. "Cold but progression provided"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Line Servicer 

    I worked at Bakkavor full-time

    Pros

    Training is provided Friendly environment Good team leadership

    Cons

    Training talked about not always given

    Advice to Management

    Give proper training when stated

    Bakkavor2019-07-05

    Bakkavor Response

    September 18, 2019Social Media Business Partner

    Hi, Thank you for your review, I hope you enjoyed your time with us. I am glad you mentioned that training is provided and I hope you took advantage of what we can offer. It sounds like you made some friends on site which is great to hear one of our core values is teamwork and working together really helps build relationships in the workplace.

    Show Less
  10. "A company that truly lives by their values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bakkavor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. 2 days are never the same. A company that lives by it's values and is truly immersed in FOOD and manufacturing fabulous food.

    Cons

    The company is geographically spread across the UK and abroad which can be challenging but this is also a strength in other ways

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    Bakkavor2019-06-17

    Bakkavor Response

    September 18, 2019Social Media Business Partner

    Hello, Thank you for choosing to review Bakkavor. I’m delighted that you have had a good experience Thanks again

Found 94 reviews