Balboa Capital Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Balboa Capital Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 157 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Patrick Byrne
97 Ratings
Pros
  • "As a corporation, the culture is better than most, providing a work environment that is competitive, supportive, and fulfilling(in 17 reviews)

  • "Company culture, growth opportunity, incentives for doing well(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "High turnover- Expected in Sales(in 9 reviews)

  • "You are expected to AVERAGE 150-200 calls/day depending on position (Account Executive I(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Business Development maintaining and growing vendor base"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Balboa Capital full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    work from home, application process.

    Cons

    Benefits are terrible and not affordable if out of state employee. You will be micromanaged and have to call old recycled leads over and over and over.

    Advice to Management

    Take some suggestions of reps instead of close minded mentality. Get rid of our way or the highway thinking you will not keep good seasoned reps this way.

    Balboa Capital2019-05-01
  2. "Work/Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive II in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Balboa Capital full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great office location in the Quarter. We have a great team that likes to work hard and have fun! We work together and drive towards our goals as a group.

    Cons

    Cold calling can be challenging without prior experience or strong self-discipline

    Advice to Management

    Our Branch Manager is very supportive in regards to our personal needs and career development. Open door policy and always willing to help where possible.

    Balboa Capital2019-04-25
  3. "Great place to kick start your sales career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Balboa Capital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    endless opportunities to make lots of commission on top of your base salary

    Cons

    have not come across any

    Balboa Capital2019-04-25
  4. "Best in Class"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Balboa Capital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Balboa Capital is best in class for a reason... As a corporation, the culture is better than most, providing a work environment that is competitive, supportive, and fulfilling... Usually not three words you associate together! TBH, I really enjoy the pace of my work life, and the harmonious balance it has with my home life. The work-life balance is an incentive like no other! Beyond the environment, I believe Balboa's...

    Show More

    Cons

    Low starting wage... to start off... BUT the only way to build up is to start off with a set, stable foundation, and Balboa Capital does just this providing stability.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be leaders in your space, and focus your efforts on #People #Product #Process - We as a company are strong today... but we can be better... and we will!

    Balboa Capital2019-04-25
  5. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Balboa Capital

      Pros

      Potential to make a lot of money if you luck up into a sale.

      Cons

      200+ calls a day and if you happen to not get any good clients they start talking about firing 6 months in.

      Advice to Management

      Remember you all were in their shoes once too.

      Balboa Capital2019-05-04
    • "Interview process"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Account Executive in Spokane, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Balboa Capital full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The call from the recruiter was very quick. Alyssa was great! She helped me through the process very successfully. The interview here at the Spokane office was on right on time when I showed up. Mike Hays asked a lot of insightful questions and described what his team here was looking for in a candidate, describing his goals for this office. Additionally, Alyssa sent the offer letter in a timely fashion and it was very...

      Show More

      Cons

      No cons to report.

      Advice to Management

      No advice for Management. The hiring process was efficient and actionable.

      Balboa Capital2019-04-11
    • "Great Environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Account Executive I 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Balboa Capital full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Recruiter was very informative and gave courtesy calls to remind of interview/first day, etc. Entire office is very friendly and supportive. Fun, relaxed work environment with one common goal.

      Cons

      About a 3-week wait between signing hiring paperwork to first day in office. Low base salary

      Balboa Capital2019-04-11
    • "Good people. Great hiring process"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Account Manager in Costa Mesa, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Balboa Capital full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The recruiter i worked with (Jessica Parker) is very professional, upfront & honest. The training was very thorough. The people i met were very open to helping you achieve your goals and hit the ground running.

      Cons

      Improve the security & speed of the network

      Balboa Capital2019-04-04
    • "Not for a place for a true professional or someone looking to start a Career."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Account Executive II in Costa Mesa, CA
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Balboa Capital full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Couple of good people to talk to . Other than that nothing.

      Cons

      1. 85% of the Sales managers are inexperienced, egotistical and selfish. 2. President knows Balboa Has sales managers promoting unethical practices with potential clients and allows it. 3. President has not figured out that hiring a process improvement engineer would make the company great again . 4. Micro management has hurt staff and clients . 5. 200 calls a day , literally most leads are getting called on by different...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Hire a couple process improvement engineers. Don’t punish the account managers and account executives who try and work hard. Teach your sales managers compassion and respect. Truly need a SEO. Mainly you guys lost some great employees who have gone to other companies and out preformed and done well as well as start there own finance companies . Do some soul searching.

      Balboa Capital2019-05-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "Sales"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Account Manager in Irvine, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Balboa Capital full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great training, great co-workers, nice building/location. Good starting place for a career in finance.

      Cons

      Very hard to find clients, the leads suck, hard to close anything, grind on cold calls until you burn yourself out.

      Advice to Management

      Give more opportunities for people showing potential to be good in the company so they will stay and not quit on you.

      Balboa Capital2019-04-08
    Found 157 reviews