Banana Republic Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Banana Republic Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3033 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Banana Republic CEO Mark Breitbard
Mark Breitbard
205 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Too much pressure to sell credit cards(in 291 reviews)

  • "Zero benefits for part-time employees(in 105 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Banana Republic-Brand Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Banana Republic part-time

    Pros

    Management team was on point. They knew how to give constructive feedback in a respectful manner and always praised successes as well.

    Cons

    Found it difficult to live off the part-time pay. I know their minimum pay is higher than other companies, but still not enough to live comfortably.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure all leaders are on the same page with processes and procedures. Sometimes it was confusing when one manager said one thing and another manager did things a different way.

    Banana Republic2016-09-12
  2. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Newyork, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Banana Republic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work If your starting retail career

    Cons

    No job security , you can loose your job for any simple Mistake.

    Advice to Management

    Incase pay for hardworking associates

    Banana Republic2019-10-07
  3. "Brand Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Banana Republic part-time

    Pros

    Good uniform discounts New collections every week

    Cons

    Long hours Staff change very fast

    Banana Republic2019-04-11
  4. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Banana Republic part-time

    Pros

    Good working environment si will work again

    Cons

    Long hours but break is fine

    Advice to Management

    Train your staff

    Banana Republic2019-03-09

    Banana Republic Response

    April 4, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for your feedback. We're committed to our employees' growth and are working on new development plans and training resources for the organization.

  5. "Terrible Management Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Banana Republic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely co-workers (both sales assistants and ops team)

    Cons

    Them and us attitude Didn't respect or appreciate staff and their efforts (unless the liked you) Only cared when the or made an effort when the big boss came over from the States to do store visits A very poor example of a flagship store

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of most of them and start over

    Banana Republic2018-07-24

    Banana Republic Response

    August 17, 2018Company Representative

    We appreciate your feedback about our management team and are sorry to hear of your experience at our store in London. We have always believed that Gap Inc. should be a place where each and every employee feels welcomed and supported. We work hard to activate this mission and recognize that our leaders play an important part of our employees’ experience. We are committed to working on this and providing resources for our managers to help them support their teams.

    Show Less
  6. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Banana Republic part-time

    Pros

    Friendly staff; great store playlist

    Cons

    Management was scattered; was never given the hours I specified

    Banana Republic2018-05-30
  7. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Banana Republic part-time

    Pros

    Friendly environment Good salary Great benefits

    Cons

    Sometimes expected to work more than contracted hours without being informed

    Advice to Management

    Better communication with sales team

    Banana Republic2017-05-16
  8. "Senior Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Sales in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Banana Republic

    Pros

    Good discount and ability to progress role within business

    Cons

    No uniform allowance, Understaffed at the best of times

    Advice to Management

    no real advice as the business has left London

    Banana Republic2017-05-22
  9. "Visual merchandise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Banana Republic full-time

    Pros

    Good progression within the company. Good discount and benefits Decent clothes Ability to flex up and work up to 40 hours even if you're contracted only part time

    Cons

    Rubbish pay Don't really value certain members of the company. Considering you've been there a long time. New comers get better pay

    Advice to Management

    Stop being office managers Work closer to your team every once in a while. Value your staff that have been around for many years.

    Banana Republic2017-02-06
  10. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Banana Republic

    Pros

    Good people Organised Strong management team Good progression

    Cons

    Poor attitude Poor clothing Poor business decisions on discounts

    Advice to Management

    Vary the people you choose to employ

    Banana Republic2017-01-17
Found 3033 reviews