Bandwidth "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Bandwidth Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated 11 Mar 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
87%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Bandwidth Co-Founder and CEO David Morken
David Morken
101 Ratings
Pros
  • "Bandwidth has a great passion for the whole person(in 21 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, good culture overall, amazing CEO(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are absolutely zero negatives about Bandwidth(in 17 reviews)

  • "Upper management comes from Microsoft in the "bad old days" and has modeled their work culture to follow that(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Meh."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bandwidth full-time

    Pros

    Benefits package includes just about everything Lots of fun after-work events

    Cons

    Low pay more than offsets benefits. Work-life balance is a myth. You can work every day in some departments and it still won't be enough. You might be working on your vacation time too. Management hasn't had any training in leadership, or the legal requirements of managing people, and it shows. Micromanagement, verbal abuse, and discrimination are pretty common here. Cliquishness disguised as a search for a "culture fit." I felt like I was back in middle school. Technology is dated, opportunities for advancement are limited. This place probably won't advance your career unless you've just graduated and need a first job. Otherwise, it's probably not for you. Politics is the name of the game. Upper management comes from Microsoft in the "bad old days" and has modeled their work culture to follow that. Microsoft has learned and is changing their ways. Bandwidth doesn't seem to want to follow their example.

    Continue reading
    Bandwidth2018-03-12
  2. Helpful (15)

    "Proceed with Caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bandwidth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - work-life balance as long as you aren't in middle management - executive leadership is accessible to anyone - will work with you when emergencies come up - will invest in you if you are one of "the chosen ones"

    Cons

    - Your experience at Bandwidth will 100% depend on who your direct supervisor is, and the leadership above them. I worked under 3 different managers, in 2 groups, and only 1 of them of them cared about her team. The other two were only interested in their own careers, and constantly took credit for the work their team members did - hard work and intelligence are rewarded in some groups, but other groups require blind obedience. I spoke up when unethical and illogical decisions were being made and was constantly written up for insubordination -if you want a company that rewards clocking in, keeping your head down, and clocking out, this place is for you. - as other reviews have stated, if you make an enemy in HR or upper management, there is nothing you can do to save yourself - Bandwidth used to define its own path but is now copying its competitors - The director I worked under fired or pushed out ~10 employees over the course of 2 years in a group of 8 - NO diversity at Bandwidth. If you aren't a white, wealthy, Christian, conservative, it's hard to succeed. - David Morken is FANTASTIC, but more and more information is being withheld from him when things happen because he would make the company change for the better, which is expensive, time-consuming, and against the scheming other leaders have

    Continue reading
    Bandwidth2017-04-18
  3. Helpful (10)

    "Smoke & Mirrors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bandwidth

    Pros

    Benefits package is competitive compared to most companies.

    Cons

    Some departments poorly managed, lots of reorgs, company doesn't have clear direction, some upper management had recurring, inappropriate relationships with female employees. Lots of money spent on managing company reputation.

    Continue reading
    Bandwidth2016-05-31
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Run by lawyers who look down on their employees. Talk a good game but as they say talk is cheap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee -  in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bandwidth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some good people left but the majority have gone elsewhere or been defrocked

    Cons

    Upper management has no experience. Upper management is arrogant. Upper management thinks the company is something that it isn't Lead by an old boys club. Either former colleagues or neighbors. No true executives. Just friends who hire friends regardless of qualifications. Check out linkedin. Worst customer service in the industry bar none. CS takes arrogance to another level all together.

    Continue reading
    Bandwidth2013-09-28
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Not for the hard working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bandwidth full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits. Fun culture. Minimal accountability if things go wrong. Great family environment. Great people.

    Cons

    The company masks a lot of it's problems by feeding you beer and fun activities. You will be mad one day, but you will get a free tshirt the next to try and make things better. Upper management is horrible. There are more VP's at this company than most companies in Raleigh combined. They have no idea how to properly issue titles and it's really frustrating because they are so top heavy with minimal people to execute the ideas below. Work and life balance is minimal if you're in a mid to senior department role. Be ready to be available by email at many hours and weekends too. It was said that David Morken tells you to go home if you're working late but that's definitely not true. A lot of the late night hours you put in are because of managements lack of direction and leadership. Once again going back to the silly top heavy structure the company has taken. Bandwidth puts all of its resources into one division and let the rest of its divisions fall to the competition. It was hard to see products that could have been successful dropped for assistance and innovation for the mobile division. Many people work hard, but more people play. If you're working hard you will spend many hours picking up the extra work of the slackers who are at Bandwidth to play games and drink free beer.

    Continue reading
    Bandwidth2013-07-25
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Not a best place to work if you're over 25"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Bandwidth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits paid for by company. Good location that has food trucks and good lunch options around NC State. Playground environment with no real accountability. Good job security. Fun company events that involve plenty of beer. Free beer in the office at our desks. Free beer at company events. Free beer in company meetings. Free beer because it's Friday. Free swag. There is advancement opportunities if you want to try other departments or things. The company does create an environment which allows everyones voice to be heard. That being said, it's rarely acted upon but they will listen. The environment is fun and casual. The company puts a lot of money and time into it's culture with free stuff.

    Cons

    This place is great if you have minimal experience. If you know what you're doing you're going to lose your mind here and start looking for new employment like me and so many other people are. At Bandwidth you can mess up and fail yet still get a pat on the back and usually a promotion. Half the upper management was hired because they were friends with another manager so it's across the board that promotions, responsibility and roles are really just a joke. You'll never see a larger group of VP's and Directors with Mid-level Manager experience trying to motivate a team. There's only so much beer that can motivate me before you get frustrated. I was hired on to do a specific role and was very excited to join the team based on reviews I read online. I can honestly say what I was hired for I rarely get to do. Work life balance is so-so but definitely frowned upon if you don't answer your emails in the evenings or weekends. So it's up you you to create that balance and get a bad look by your manager, or work extra hours and see a smile.

    Continue reading
    Bandwidth2013-07-08
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Awful -fake & full of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bandwidth full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Can't think of any pros with this company

    Cons

    I worked for this company for many many & held multiple positions. I saw a ton of long term employees go & the majority of them went in a very negative way. The second you voice your opinion that is not in agreement with upper management no matter how long you're there or how experienced you are you are ostracized. If you are a woman or over 25 your chances of being heard or kept on long term diminish even further. Sad to say upper management says what they want you to hear but then behind closed doors it's the "boys club".Let's not forget the bullying-yelling & demeaning way management speaks to their employees although again if you keep your mouth shut-head down & say nothing you'll be fine. Makes for a wonderful -stress free work enviroment

    Continue reading
    Bandwidth2013-07-11
  8. Helpful (3)

    "There's Good and Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee -  
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bandwidth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits covered by company. Fun outings to try and boost morale. Great and smart employees doing a lot of hard work. Your coworkers make this place what it is, not the people running the show. The culture has brought in a lot of smart and talented fun people who create an environment that will keep you sane amongst the chaos. The CEO is a great guy, who truly does care about his employees in the end and wants to make a difference with the products he has.

    Cons

    Your experience at Bandwidth is really going to based on which division you work for. I started in Phonebooth and ended up in Republic, which is why I went from loving my job to wanting to leave it. I had 7 different bosses in a year and a half. Luckily my last boss was really great, but by the time she became my boss I was already so frustrated with this place that it didn't matter. When I left I was pretty much doing meaningless work to get stuff out the door in ridiculous timeframes. The organization and structure was just not there. I never really got time to put for true effort on anything because it was a constant fire drill on any project small or large. There is no project management either, so you'll find yourself managing up others on their own projects just to get stuff done. A lot of things get launched before they should, this is apparent in customer service complaints and frustrations from customers on the forum, websites, etc.  At the end of the day, poor planning exists and you'll find it in your every day duties as well as in the products themselves. There's EVP, SVP, and VP's of just about everything you can think of. They hire too much upper level people to fuel 400 different ideas noone can stick to instead of hiring the proper people to actually execute it. It creates work overload for a lot of people causing them to give up a lot of the work-life balance the company boasts so much about. I had to work part of every vacation in the 2 years because resources were scarce or proper planning was just nonexistant. There are a lot of friends of friends of friends in upper management, so its intimidating to ever have to file a complaint. Most people don't because who wants to complain about someones best man, or high school friend of someone else, or a long-term previous coworker of another. I've seen people get fired for a few mistakes where people who made more get a slap on the hand because they're friends with the manager. I know a lot of people in other divisions who are happy. I know just as many people in those divisions who are unhappy. It really does come down to where you are at the company, and what section you work in as to your experience. It could be a fun company to work for again if they just got some structure in place. Things can be "fast paced" yet organized to where people have direction and goals that are actually obtainable.

    Continue reading
    Bandwidth2013-03-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Very good culture, sometimes opportunities can be hard to come by"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bandwidth

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and great people. Thirsty Thursdays, beer trucks, group outings, they pay for your benefits and you get an extra 30 minutes on your lunch if you work out.

    Cons

    Moving up can be difficult and some in senior management can be very defensive to new ideas and some do not really utilize the open door policy that many others in upper management promote. There isn't much recognition at work either, although they are trying to work on that.

    Bandwidth2012-09-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews