Barchester Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Barchester Healthcare Reviews

Updated 19 March 2019
195 reviews

Filter

Filter


2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Barchester Healthcare CEO Pete Calveley
Pete Calveley
120 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The residents and staff members" (in 8 reviews)

  • "The Care staff on the front line are wonderful" (in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, management always wanting more and make night staff attend training during they’re sleep time" (in 11 reviews)

  • "The home where I worked was very short staffed" (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Fabulous Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Carlisle, England
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Carlisle, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Worked for this company for over 13 years now and cannot rate them highly enough. The career progression not only for myself but for others is evident every day with our CEO supporting and encouraging development throughout the workforce. I started as a GM and progressed through to my current senior role within the organisation and I am immensely proud that the company is going from strength to strength. Yes we’ve had some hard times but up north we have great support from the CEO down. Senior managers are very approachable and completely support what is right for the residents and staff. In our homes.

    Cons

    Nine, while we recognise it’s hard work whatever role your in everyone pulls together to get the best outcomes for everyone.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing and recognising, acknowledging and rewarding all the hard work that goes into making a great company.

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    21 Mar 2019 – Recruitment Marketing Manager

    It’s always good to hear that our people love their work. Happy employees make for happy residents and patients, so we genuinely appreciate all that you do. Thank you for taking the time to tell us... More


  2. "Bullies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Sevenoaks, England
    Former Employee - General Manager in Sevenoaks, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Residents and their families care staff work hard

    Cons

    Huge bullying culture. Right from the top conference calls are brutal . Directors have no idea and the divisional director is rude to all her staff

    Advice to Management

    Respect your staff. They make the company work

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    19 Mar 2019 – Recruitment Marketing Manager

    Providing the highest levels of care and support is what our success has been built on, so it’s incredibly disappointing to hear that you felt this was lacking when you worked here. We never want our... More

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Bullying/Discrimination"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Assistant in Royal Leamington Spa, England
    Former Employee - Care Assistant in Royal Leamington Spa, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Residents, Residents, Residents, Residents, Residents.

    Cons

    Don’t work here if you are transgender because you will be bullied & discriminated against & management will allow it because ‘Got to get used to comments like that with what you’re going through’ and don’t follow Barchester policy when it comes to bullying etc.

    Advice to Management

    Get better training in Equality & Diversity. Read Barchester policies because management at this home clearly doesn’t follow them.

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    15 Mar 2019 – Recruitment Marketing Manager

    We never want our people to feel uncomfortable or isolated. Whilst we don’t think your experience is common at Barchester, if it’s happening anywhere, it is unacceptable. We’d really appreciate it if... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Care Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Assistant in North Yorkshire, England
    Former Employee - Care Assistant in North Yorkshire, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Some of the best reasons to work at barchester, they do support disabled people working there.

    Cons

    Not enough time spent on care, to busy with doing meals/menu's/refreshments, etc. It seem's there isn't enough time to do proper care, as I call it, little things are getting missed as we don't have enough time to do it, (Finger nails) . Sometimes showers are getting missed, as not enough staff on or staff sick.

    Advice to Management

    Should have a waitress on every floor, to do meals/drinks/menu's. Then care staff can give 100% on caring, instead of 50%.

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    11 Mar 2019 – Recruitment Marketing Manager

    Delivering exceptional care and support is our priority, which is why we’re very disappointed to hear that you felt our staffing levels weren’t what they should have been. We’re continually looking... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Management bully and intimidate you every day and get away with it,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Health Care Assistant in Basingstoke, England
    Former Employee - Health Care Assistant in Basingstoke, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    There isn't anything good about working for barchester

    Cons

    Management bully you on a day to day basis and get away with it, A senior member of staff grabbed me by my arm very tight which left a bruise whilst holding the door shut so I could not leave whilst the deputy manager was in the room and witnessed it but told me not to report it because i would lose my
    Job if I did , at that time i felt very scared and intimidated, on a daily basis management told staff we was rubbish at our jobs yet we are on our feet 12 hours a day non stop sometimes miss breaks whilst they sit down not once do they come out and help on the floor because as management said "god forbid I should get my hands dirty I'm on a higher pay grade than you minions" and yet they preach teamwork when they don't even help themselves. Deputy manager lives at the care home in the week because she doesn't like the commute when agency come just as far, managements spend more time smoking than they do actually supporting there staff they have 2-3 cigarettes every hour, when certain members of staff are on lunch who also
    Smoke management will sit there and make you feel very uneasy and moan at you whilst your on a break. Management say we have to spend more time giving personal care but then moan because some residents haven't had showers within the 4 hours we have to wash them we start at 8 and they want 72 residents to be washed and up by 12 it's very hard when your short staffed. I always say care is a 24 hour service if residents are not washed before lunch we can wash them after. Management said we're not allowed to eat lunch with residents yet we have done it before and it encourages the residents to eat. We was allowed to save ourselves lunch after residents have finished there lunch but admin and management come in and take what I would equate to 4 plates of food in one then short on food for residents and staff but as long as management eat it's fine whilst we're on our feet all day, we were told we was not allowed to drink water on the floor yet we need to keep ourselves hydrated, basically the barchester home in basingstoke is very corrupt and management would sign on there rounding charts when we have inspections that they personally checked on them when they had not, management would suddenly appear when cqc are in and say that we are hard workers they will help us hoist residents basically being fake all to get a good rating. I have also witnessed deputy manager shouting in a residents face and pointing her finger in this poor residents face relatives reported it but again nothing happened.

    Advice to Management

    This needs to be escalated all the complaints are showing how corrupt barchester is.

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    12 Mar 2019 – Recruitment Marketing Manager

    Providing the highest levels of care and support is what our success has been built on, so it’s incredibly disappointing to hear that you felt this was lacking when you worked here. We never want our... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Money orientated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    The team at floor level are great

    Cons

    Short staff, carers paid minimum wage while managers and ceo’s get extreme bonuses. Bullying at management level, huge pressure to fill beds even when you don’t have the resources, racism at management level, constantly on call with no extra pay

    Advice to Management

    Take more time to work with staff, stand up for your staff

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    11 Mar 2019 – Recruitment Marketing Manager

    We’re sorry that you didn’t have a positive experience with Barchester. Your feedback matters a lot, and we’ll definitely look at how we can improve things as we move forward. Please share your... More


  7. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Great team, rewards for staff, nice perks and good salary. CEO Pete is super approachable and also the team there are like one big family

    Cons

    Not transparent but that was only in my team, lots of cuts that could be harsh, old school in methods but generally healthcare sector can be like this.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    11 Mar 2019 – Recruitment Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your message. We really appreciate your feedback.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Poor support structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Nurse in Lancaster, England
    Former Employee - Staff Nurse in Lancaster, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    lovely residents and relatives, care staff good but overworked

    Cons

    poor support, blame culture in place, make a mistake once and they don't support you, they get rid of you, bad message to send out to other staff,

    Advice to Management

    look at the support systems as at the moment none in place, no support offered when mistakes are made, they just get rid of you.

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    11 Mar 2019 – Recruitment Marketing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry you feel negatively about working at Barchester. We continue to improve the support we offer our employees, so your feedback is... More


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Assistant in Newport, South East England, England
    Former Employee - Care Assistant in Newport, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Residents were mostly lovely and other carers were friendly.

    Cons

    Not enough training given. No support from senior staff. Very hard work (12 hour shifts) and very poor wages. Some people did very little and weren't pleasant.

    Advice to Management

    Have reviews of employees work. I had no encouragement in the time I was there and had no chance to talk through problems I was experiencing.

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    11 Mar 2019 – Recruitment Marketing Manager

    We’re sorry you felt this way about your time at Barchester. We would like to hear further details on your experiences with us. If you could please email us at onlinefeedback@barchester.com


  10. "An exceptionally well-led organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Norwich, England
    Former Employee - General Manager in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I absolutely loved working for this provider and I climbed from being a Care Assistant with no experience to managing my own 60+ bedded home within 2 years - where my team attained a CQC overall rating of 'Good' and with an 'Outstanding' rating under the service being well-led.

    The service wasn't just well-led by my team, but by the organisation too, and it was their rigorous processes that helped the home realise this potential.
    Since leaving the organisation (a decision I've regretted on a number of occasions, but I have benefited from the experience of working with other providers) I have come to learn that this organisation simply leads the way in relation to providing it's managers with all the tools they need to achieve in whichever role they operate in.

    For all those people with negative reviews, I may suggest it might not be the environment for you to work in - but I don't feel that submitting negative reviews and potentially putting others off what might be an exceptional career move is a favourable move and moreover, I challenge you to find another provider who does what Barchester will do for it's staff and residents at all it's care services.

    Alright, there are some people we don't always see eye-to-eye with, there might even be processes we don't agree with, but every time I had something developmental to say, I genuinely believe my voice was heard by the CEO, the COO and the Divisional Directors.

    I'm just a guy wishing to thank an outstanding organisation for the fantastic opportunity they presented me with and without them, I don't think I would have made it in my pursuit of a career in Health and Social Care.

    Cons

    I may have left prematurely, and it may not have been entirely my own choice, but if anyone could have anything negative to say about this company it would be me - yet I cannot fault them.

    Thank you to Barchester for the opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Barchester's reputation becomes even more apparent after you leave the organisation - and trust me, it's a reputation that has other providers wishing they were performing to that standard, consistently.

    My only advice would be to never change!

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    20 Dec 2018 – Social Media Exec

    It’s lovely to hear about your time with Barchester. We’re really pleased that you had such a positive experience with us and we wish you the very best of luck for the future.