Barchester Healthcare Reviews

Updated 7 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Barchester Healthcare CEO Dr Pete Calveley
Dr Pete Calveley
160 Ratings
Pros
  • "care staff are lovely and my staff are loyal to me(in 15 reviews)

  • "Residents were mostly lovely and other carers were friendly(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "A few grumpy carers that need to find their smile(in 21 reviews)

  • "Long hours, management always wanting more and make night staff attend training during they’re sleep time(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Organised, professional and fantastic company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Camberley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive, constructive, communicative, honest and good to their staff

    Cons

    I honestly cannot think of any

    Continue reading

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    June 22, 2020Recruitment Marketing Manager

    Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us why you enjoy life with Barchester!

  2. COVID-19

    "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RGN in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Supportive, proactive,responsive, good incentives , everyone at every level is treated with respect, if you put in the work the rewards are very good. Very supportive during this COVID pandemic, very impressed.

    Cons

    Some of the managers/RD's need a little more vetting before being employed or 'stepped up' sometimes I worry about the calibre off managers and above especially lately with the COVID

    Continue reading

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    June 11, 2020Recruitment Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback and we hope you continue to enjoy life at Barchester!

  3. "Good home"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy Manager in Lincoln, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    The team that I worked with

    Cons

    The pressure from senior team

    Continue reading
  4. "Support"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Care Coordinator 

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Good support and Training provided

    Cons

    Hours of work and location

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    June 18, 2020Recruitment Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback about your time with us at Barchester

  5. "Great company, fantastic team"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having worked at several companies in the sector, Barchester is by far the best. Communication with employees is excellent and I'm part of a fantastic team. Management always supportive and encouraging.

    Cons

    None - I would definitely recommend working at Barchester Healthcare.

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    June 3, 2020Recruitment Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your positive feedback, we're glad to hear you're enjoying life at Barchester!

  6. "Excellent company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    I receive all the support I need to carry out my job. I thoroughly enjoy working for Barchester.

    Cons

    There aren't any cons to working here.

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    June 3, 2020Recruitment Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your positive feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments here!

  7. "Excellent Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter in Inverness, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Support, Benefits & Rewards, People, Care, Quality

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to list

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    June 3, 2020Recruitment Marketing Manager

    Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us why you enjoy life with Barchester!

  8. "Rewarding company to work for with good opportunities to progress"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive leadership team, no micromanagement, hard work is recognized

    Cons

    None that cannot be found in most large companies

    Continue reading

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    June 3, 2020Recruitment Marketing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope you continue to find life with Barchester enjoyable and rewarding!

  9. "A Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Recruiting in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Barchester is the best in the sector and is always looking to improve the quality of service it provides

    Cons

    There aren’t any downsides to working at Barchester

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    June 2, 2020Recruitment Marketing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We hope you continue to find life with Barchester enjoyable and rewarding!

  10. "Barchester healthcare"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for, provide lots of training and support for all staff.

    Cons

    Can't find any cons for company

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    June 1, 2020Recruitment Marketing Manager

    It’s a pleasure to read such positive comments. Thank you for taking the time to share them here – and we hope you continue to find life with us enjoyable and rewarding.

Found 268 reviews