Barchester Healthcare Reviews

Updated May 20, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 446 of over 461 reviews

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Barchester Healthcare CEO Dr Pete Calveley
Dr Pete Calveley
247 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good staff, management, lovely residents(in 13 reviews)

  • "Great team environment, supportive and open management(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "A few grumpy carers that need to find their smile(in 24 reviews)

  • "Long hours, but that's normal in care and at the moment(in 22 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Healthcare

    Join the conversation on

    Healthcare

    5h

    a 

    Physical Therapist

    After submitting a job application, personally how long do you wait before not hearing any response that you take the intended job out of consideration and move on? (Not counting those random out of the blue jobs where recruiters hit you up 2-3 months later after you’ve applied.) I’ve been on the hiring end so I know how the processes work, so I give it a week max now as an applicant. I wanted to ask what everyone else’s personal timeline was?

    1

    3 Comments

    Healthcare

    30.5K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/medicine-2/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Barchester Healthcare~545959
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Brilliant

      Nov 9, 2021 - Senior Care Assistant in Gateshead, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Where I work within Barchester Healthcare is a fantastic work place. I enjoy going to work every shift and the staff and management team is brilliant they are so supportive of the decisions you make and they are always there to help when you need it. I belive that Barchester and all their team give 100% in giving the best care possible to every individual. The training you are given is fantastic and helps you in giving the highest standard of care to the individuals you care for. I am now working towards my level 3 diploma in residential and nursing which Barchester have provided for me to encourage and support me in the position I hold in Barchester Healthcare

      Cons

      At this present time I cant think of any cons for working for Barchester Healthcare

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      It’s a pleasure to read such positive comments. Thank you for taking the time to share them here – and we hope you continue to find life with us supportive and rewarding!

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Thank you

      May 20, 2022 - Carer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good company to work for.

      Cons

      there is always support there where needed

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Herne place

      May 15, 2022 - Carer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay Opportunities to do courses Lovely staff Great residents Management listens but can be rude

      Cons

      Breaks not paid Always being asked to cover on days off and staff now blocking management for calls and emails Management putting thier work onto seniors

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A busy job - never boring

      May 10, 2022 - Administrative Assistant in Cheltenham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very busy and never boring Great management Great company ethos Above-average pay

      Cons

      Too busy at times, having to do three things at once made my head spin My boss was too busy to train me to do the whole job

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good

      May 10, 2022 - Activities Coordinator in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fulfilling, creative, nice, great, music

      Cons

      Stress, families, emotional, grief, difficult

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      All about filling rooms

      May 17, 2022 - Senior Activities Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The residents were wonderful. Lots of laughs. Mostly a good team

      Cons

      Managers are very money focussed so don’t like spending money on activities. The job became too much about marketing to fill the empty rooms. The residents enjoyment came second

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Apr 11, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Cirencester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing career opportunity Nice team and excellent management team Lovely environment Paid breaks Faboulous support Free car parking

      Cons

      No bus station nearby, but no problem if driving High expectations

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      If you like being disrespected this is the company for you

      May 15, 2022 - Kitchen Assistant in Collingtree, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free parking Lovely residents Great work colleagues

      Cons

      No work life balance Part time manager Residents needs are not met on time due to staff shortages Pay does not reflect the job

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Shameful...

      Apr 20, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great salary, given opportunity to grow.

      Cons

      Not able to follow legislation when it comes to indivduals illness/disabilities.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      A good place to work with

      Apr 1, 2022 - Food Science Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Respect everyone including the residents

      Cons

      Do not disrespect staff and residents

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 446 Reviews

    Barchester Healthcare Reviews FAQs

    Barchester Healthcare has an overall rating of 3.8 out of 5, based on over 461 reviews left anonymously by employees. 71% of employees would recommend working at Barchester Healthcare to a friend and 69% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 16% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Barchester Healthcare employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Barchester Healthcare. This rating has improved by 13% over the last 12 months.

    71% of Barchester Healthcare employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Barchester Healthcare 3.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.8 for culture and values and 3.9 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Barchester Healthcare Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Barchester Healthcare? Share Your Experiences

    or