Barchester Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Barchester Healthcare Reviews

Updated 6 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
48%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Barchester Healthcare CEO Dr Pete Calveley
Dr Pete Calveley
140 Ratings
Pros
  • "Residents and their families care staff work hard(in 14 reviews)

  • "Residents were mostly lovely and other carers were friendly(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Minimum wage for carers and ancillary staff, 'clunky' IT systems, too much paper rather than electronic equivalents(in 19 reviews)

  • "Long hours, management always wanting more and make night staff attend training during they’re sleep time(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company, great boss, great ceo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Camberley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Communication is slick, open, honest and timely. Company motivates staff and is fair in supporting with issues

    Cons

    None so far that I can think of

    Barchester Healthcare2019-10-28
  2. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Horsham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent induction, good training opportunities and bonuses. Management have open door policy and pay for staff is better than other homes in sector

    Cons

    The care planning system still not electronic and paper based system.

    Barchester Healthcare2019-11-12
  3. "Decent place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Healthcare Assistant in Llanelli, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good training & Plenty of shifts available

    Cons

    Difficult environment, Terrible bank pay

    Barchester Healthcare2019-11-13
  4. "Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's big company and has financial stability.

    Cons

    Poor leadership, low salary no career opportunities for those non clinical.

    Barchester Healthcare2019-10-27
  5. "Working for Barchester"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Practitioner in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Free training, profit share scheme, supportive team.

    Cons

    Rate of pay could be better

    Continue reading
    Barchester Healthcare2019-10-23
  6. "Working conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carer in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    World class working conditions

    Cons

    Salary is very low and staff is always leaving

    Continue reading
    Barchester Healthcare2019-10-16
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Good at my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef in Sevenoaks, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Been training towards a recognised qualification.

    Cons

    The manager, and regional manager are bullying people to an extremely high level, making unreasonable demands, like working 13 hours without a brake because they don’t want you to have help from agency staff.

    Continue reading
    Barchester Healthcare2019-10-23
  8. Helpful (2)

    "No team work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Care Assistant in Preston, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Residents ( only thing keeping me there )

    Cons

    Staff are back stabbers that lie and twist things

    Barchester Healthcare2019-08-22
  9. "The Manor, Taunton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carer in Taunton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Under new management. Ongoing changes have been extremely positive and we are now working as a team! This is fantastic for us and our residents!

    Cons

    There are no cons now

    Continue reading
    Barchester Healthcare2019-08-23
  10. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Carer in Gateshead, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good team work most staff are friendly and helpful

    Cons

    long 12 hour shift not flexable

    Continue reading
    Barchester Healthcare2019-08-15
Found 230 reviews