Barchester Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Barchester Healthcare Reviews

Updated 7 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
51%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Barchester Healthcare CEO Dr Pete Calveley
Dr Pete Calveley
144 Ratings
Pros
  • "Residents and their families care staff work hard(in 14 reviews)

  • "Residents were mostly lovely and other carers were friendly(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "A few grumpy carers that need to find their smile(in 20 reviews)

  • "Long hours, management always wanting more and make night staff attend training during they’re sleep time(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Relationship Manager in Ipswich, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management and leadership team

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Barchester Healthcare2020-01-21
  2. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Care Assistant in Taunton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Our team - brilliant We work hard, are professional and laugh a lot with our residents. The Manor is a happy place

    Cons

    A few grumpy carers that need to find their smile

    Continue reading
    Barchester Healthcare2020-02-08
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Head Nurse 

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Very good experience, very good capacity

    Cons

    I don’t have downsides of working. It’s very good Company

    Barchester Healthcare2020-02-04
  4. "Great company and fantastic management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Relationship Manager in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A great company to work for. Very supportive with excellent training. All the homes are well led and well run by hardworking and dedicated staff. The strive for excellence is clear throughout the company and the higher management are really approachable. Negative comments must be from disgruntled ex staff who do not believe in working hard to achieve great results.

    Cons

    There are literally no downsides.

    Barchester Healthcare2020-01-30
  5. "Excellent employer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Acting General Manager in Witney, England

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked for Barchester for 1 and half years. I started as a bank nurse, soon became permanent and progressed from there to Clinical Lead, then Deputy manager and now acting general manager. Barchester is a fantastic company to work for. Lots of employee benefits and very good career progression opportunities.

    Cons

    None I can think of!

    Barchester Healthcare2020-01-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Professional and caring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RMN Staff Nurse in Launceston, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent place. Well staffed. Very caring. Excellent facilities for staff. Spacious rooms for residents. Lots of fun activities for residents. Lots of free learning for CPD. Excellent nursing care within a warm and homely atmosphere.

    Cons

    I really can not think of anything bad about the establishment. It is only when you leave and work somewhere else you realise what an excellent place it is. Pay could be better .

    Continue reading
    Barchester Healthcare2019-12-17
  7. "Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Nurse in Truro, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Home has a modern and welcoming reception area.

    Cons

    Went to enquire about an advertised post and manager discussed my personal information in the reception area. Admonishing cleaning staff in front of me whilst walking round reception checking for dust. Informed me that doesn't care what people think, it's her way or the highway!!!!!! Have worked for Barchester before and carried out a whistleblowing due to significant safeguarding concerns but would not want to return under this management. Refused an interview due to being a previous employee ???

    Continue reading
    Barchester Healthcare2020-01-12
  8. "Great Staff, Poor Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Kitchen Assistant 

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare part-time

    Pros

    Great Staff, Lovely residents and dinners

    Cons

    Poor Central Office, out of touch

    Barchester Healthcare2019-12-15
  9. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Horsham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent induction, good training opportunities and bonuses. Management have open door policy and pay for staff is better than other homes in sector

    Cons

    The care planning system still not electronic and paper based system.

    Barchester Healthcare2019-11-12
  10. "Decent place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Healthcare Assistant in Llanelli, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good training & Plenty of shifts available

    Cons

    Difficult environment, Terrible bank pay

    Barchester Healthcare2019-11-13

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 237 reviews