Barchester Healthcare Reviews

Updated Nov 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 390 of over 404 reviews

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Barchester Healthcare CEO Dr Pete Calveley
Dr Pete Calveley
222 Ratings
Pros
  • "care staff are lovely and my staff are loyal to me(in 15 reviews)

  • "Residents were mostly lovely and other carers were friendly(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "A few grumpy carers that need to find their smile(in 21 reviews)

  • "The home where I worked was very short staffed(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Excellent Training and Opportunities

      Jul 31, 2021 - Customer Relationship Manager in Cirencester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent training programme with a forward thinking company. There is the opportunity to continually grow and develop the role. The job is varied and interesting.

      Cons

      It is a large company so can be hard to get to know people, this has been made harder with the Covid pandemic, but communication is excellent with a lot of resources.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      It’s a pleasure to read your positive feedback, communication is always a priority here at Barchester. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts!

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Nice

      Nov 16, 2021 - Carer in Winchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice values, nice training, nice environment

      Cons

      None so far at the moment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Hard but rewarding

      Nov 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hard work but rewarding and long hours

      Cons

      Shocking deputy managers no idea about care staff relations

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      work

      Nov 17, 2021 - Carer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great staff great management decent pay

      Cons

      no cons to be honest

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Brilliant

      Nov 9, 2021 - Senior Care Assistant in Gateshead, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Where I work within Barchester Healthcare is a fantastic work place. I enjoy going to work every shift and the staff and management team is brilliant they are so supportive of the decisions you make and they are always there to help when you need it. I belive that Barchester and all their team give 100% in giving the best care possible to every individual. The training you are given is fantastic and helps you in giving the highest standard of care to the individuals you care for. I am now working towards my level 3 diploma in residential and nursing which Barchester have provided for me to encourage and support me in the position I hold in Barchester Healthcare

      Cons

      At this present time I cant think of any cons for working for Barchester Healthcare

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Review

      Nov 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Fontwell, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team environment, supportive and open management.

      Cons

      No negative issues, great workplace.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Colleagues were amazing!!

      Nov 17, 2021 - Laundry Assistant in Bristol, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My colleagues who I worked with. Lovely residents. Lovely home.

      Cons

      Poor pay. Not enough staff. Not enough praise.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Homely environment

      Oct 30, 2021 - Health Care Assistant in Stonehouse, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly, happy, great team work,

      Cons

      Dont always get chance to enjoy the activity’s with residents as always busy with other jobs, would like less agency and more barchester staff

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Barchester

      Oct 30, 2021 - Senior Care Assistant in Gloucester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good team spirit at the home. Have the chances to step up the ladder with NVQ qualifications

      Cons

      Would like less time writing paperwork and more time to spend doing activities with the residents.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Stressful job but amazing home and good company to work for.

      Oct 27, 2021 - Nursing Unit Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good training( Tracy trainer one of their biggest assets.) Unit managers have to work for it but salary above average. Most of staff have been there a long time and although recently their work load has increased dramatically they all he'll each other and work as a team As a manager my team support was amazing. Fourhills is a great home to work in. Enjoy getting to know residents and their families. I have only left three days ago but miss it already. My plan is to return to the home in January as a staff nurse.

      Cons

      Never have enough time or staff to do everything I need to do. As a manager I totally understand that due to lower occupancy the staffing is sufficient. Manager does her best to cover the shifts but sickness levels are high and can make days very stressful.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 390 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Barchester Healthcare Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Barchester Healthcare? Share Your Experiences

    Barchester Healthcare logo
    or