Barchester Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Barchester Healthcare Reviews

Updated 15 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
53%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Barchester Healthcare CEO Dr Pete Calveley
Dr Pete Calveley
147 Ratings
  1. "Excellent employer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Acting General Manager in Witney, England

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked for Barchester for 1 and half years. I started as a bank nurse, soon became permanent and progressed from there to Clinical Lead, then Deputy manager and now acting general manager. Barchester is a fantastic company to work for. Lots of employee benefits and very good career progression opportunities.

    Cons

    None I can think of!

    Barchester Healthcare2020-01-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing comes to mind now

    Cons

    Insufficient staff, poorly maintained equipment and unavailability of basic hygiene material

    Barchester Healthcare2020-02-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Professional and caring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RMN Staff Nurse in Launceston, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent place. Well staffed. Very caring. Excellent facilities for staff. Spacious rooms for residents. Lots of fun activities for residents. Lots of free learning for CPD. Excellent nursing care within a warm and homely atmosphere.

    Cons

    I really can not think of anything bad about the establishment. It is only when you leave and work somewhere else you realise what an excellent place it is. Pay could be better .

    Continue reading
    Barchester Healthcare2019-12-17
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Nurse in Truro, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Home has a modern and welcoming reception area.

    Cons

    Went to enquire about an advertised post and manager discussed my personal information in the reception area. Admonishing cleaning staff in front of me whilst walking round reception checking for dust. Informed me that doesn't care what people think, it's her way or the highway!!!!!! Have worked for Barchester before and carried out a whistleblowing due to significant safeguarding concerns but would not want to return under this management. Refused an interview due to being a previous employee ???

    Continue reading
    Barchester Healthcare2020-01-12
  5. "Great Staff, Poor Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Kitchen Assistant 

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare part-time

    Pros

    Great Staff, Lovely residents and dinners

    Cons

    Poor Central Office, out of touch

    Barchester Healthcare2019-12-15
  6. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Horsham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent induction, good training opportunities and bonuses. Management have open door policy and pay for staff is better than other homes in sector

    Cons

    The care planning system still not electronic and paper based system.

    Barchester Healthcare2019-11-12
  7. "Decent place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Healthcare Assistant in Llanelli, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good training & Plenty of shifts available

    Cons

    Difficult environment, Terrible bank pay

    Barchester Healthcare2019-11-13
  8. "Great company, great boss, great ceo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Camberley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Communication is slick, open, honest and timely. Company motivates staff and is fair in supporting with issues

    Cons

    None so far that I can think of

    Barchester Healthcare2019-10-28
  9. "Working for Barchester"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Practitioner in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Free training, profit share scheme, supportive team.

    Cons

    Rate of pay could be better

    Continue reading
    Barchester Healthcare2019-10-23
  10. "Working conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carer in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    World class working conditions

    Cons

    Salary is very low and staff is always leaving

    Continue reading
    Barchester Healthcare2019-10-16
Found 244 reviews