Barchester Healthcare Employee Reviews about "care staff"

Updated Jul 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 355 reviews

3.2
49%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Barchester Healthcare CEO Dr Pete Calveley
Dr Pete Calveley
196 Ratings
Pros
  • "care staff are lovely and my staff are loyal to me(in 15 reviews)

  • "Residents were mostly lovely and other carers were friendly(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "A few grumpy carers that need to find their smile(in 21 reviews)

  • "The home where I worked was very short staffed(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "care staff"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Caring but understaffed

      Jul 30, 2020 - Registered Nurse in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff, good training, beautiful building and furnishings

      Cons

      Very short staffed and would not use agency nurses so care staff and nurses worked very hard to provide the best care possible, but too few of us and too little time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      Thank you for your feedback, your comments will be passed on for review.

    2. 1.0
      Current Employee

      pay rates are unfair and work load is madness

      May 30, 2020 - Head Chef in West Bromwich, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      care staff are lovely and my staff are loyal to me

      Cons

      the company takes liberties , pay rates are unfair and varied across homes some are paid very very well others are expected to do the same job for half the money expectations are set way to high and support is next to none this company does not know the meaning of fair!!!

      1 person found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      We never want anyone to feel negatively about their career with Barchester, so we’re very sorry to hear you feel this way. Please share your views in more detail by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Okay

      May 19, 2019 - Care Assistant in Brackley, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Residents are amazing Care staff and some of the nurses are there for you 100%

      Cons

      Management are money based They don’t really listen to you about some of the issues there are at the home Only seem to get negative feedback Not much support to care staff when you are struggling

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      We know we can only care and support our residents if we care for our employees. We’re disappointed to hear your experience isn't what you want it to be. We’d like to know more so we can look for ways to improve things. Please give us as much detail as possible about your concerns by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Bullies

      Mar 15, 2019 - General Manager in Sevenoaks, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Residents and their families care staff work hard

      Cons

      Huge bullying culture. Right from the top conference calls are brutal . Directors have no idea and the divisional director is rude to all her staff

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      Providing the highest levels of care and support is what our success has been built on, so it’s incredibly disappointing to hear that you felt this was lacking when you worked here. We never want our people to feel uncomfortable or isolated, and we invest heavily in training for our managers. Whilst we don’t think your experience is common at Barchester, if it’s happening anywhere, it is unacceptable. We’d really appreciate it if you could please give us more details by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Poor support structure

      Feb 24, 2019 - Staff Nurse in Lancaster, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      lovely residents and relatives, care staff good but overworked

      Cons

      poor support, blame culture in place, make a mistake once and they don't support you, they get rid of you, bad message to send out to other staff,

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry you feel negatively about working at Barchester. We continue to improve the support we offer our employees, so your feedback is important. If you would like to offer further information about your experiences, please email us at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Do NOT work for this company

      Aug 4, 2016 - Care Assistant in Stockport, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Residents and their families are the only thing that kept me there for so many years until they shut our Unit down.

      Cons

      They pay peanuts for the work they expect you to do, often short staffed and running on low "numbers" or Agency, "numbers" as they don't see staff or Residents as humans. The Company is full of corrupt Liars, always false promising and never doing anything for their Staff members. Many times we have been left on dangerous staffing levels, to the point where Residents have fallen and all they do is try to cover it up. They're disgusting. Before our Unit closed they promised no redundancies would be made until the last Residents left, not even 3 weeks later Redundancies were made and the Care Staff were having to Care, wash pots in the kitchen without being trained to use the dish washer and chemicals, then do the cleaning as that was never done whilst also chasing up laundry as Residents often wore pajamas during the day as laundry were always behind due to redundancies. The managers speak to you as if you are something on the bottom of your shoe, I've been swore at, dragged in the office over some very personal stuff and been told to "get over it" and they do NOT take reports seriously. I had reported something a long time ago which was swept under the carpet and now that's gotten very serious!! We also had the reaction "but it's a Friday...." when something was reported, absolutely disgusting!!! Avoid!!!

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      A Joke of a company

      Aug 1, 2018 - Carer in Reading, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The team and the residents are perhaps the only pro at this place. Carers and Nurses are hard working, almost back-brakeingly so. Home manager was very supportive and had an open door policy.

      Cons

      Where does one even begin. It’s clear Barchester only ever care about one thing. Money. Barchester is a prime example of cooperate greed. Higher ups are rude and quick to point the finger if anything was to go wrong. Staffing levels low, but according to head office, 2 carers to 17 residents with varying degrees of bahvioural problems (including prone to violence) is over staffed. Residents suffer at the hands of the people their family’s fork out so much money for, as Barchester is one of the most expensive companies to have a family member live with, you’d expect they’d have the best care in England. No, and that is not the fault of care staff. Staff are under paid, over worked, and not even a thank you, not even an smile from the area manager as she sits and glares at you when she visits. And when you’re told that you’re job is easiet is even more of a spit in the face.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Social Media Exec

      Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our careers. We’re always looking at how we can improve, which is one of the reasons why we run an annual employee survey. The 2017 results show we’re moving in the right direction, with 80% of people telling us they’re happy with our culture and 84% revealing that they would recommend a Barchester care home to someone they love. However, it’s always disappointing to hear about any negative experiences, and your views will help us to take our improvements even further. Please could you let us know more by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Patients are just numbers to them

      Jan 16, 2016 - Team Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employs brilliant staff, good training opportunities, care staff loaded with so much responsibility but never give up and love their residents no matter what

      Cons

      Pay as low as £6.40 for full time senior carers Have to pay for meals even though you do not get paid on your lunch break 3663 food (cheap as chips for the money they bring in for each resident per week!) Rooms filled within two days of a previous death Furniture not changed in my particular home for up to 10 years (from a staff member who worked 16 years) even on a dementia unit where bodily fluids/food are spread more often than not Extreme disorganisation, kitchen staff constantly short, head chef working 7 days a week for 2 weeks until agency finally booked. (Very stingy on hiring agency) 6 caters for 33 residents on a dementia unit where about 15 of them are HIGH RISK OF FALLS!! Not good enough! Caters worked into the ground constantly, like donkeys Even had a previous manager tell us we all were not good enough and we're doing an awful job Also the CEO signs his name 'pete' like he's part of the gang but we know you're just a money hungry pencil pusher. You own a multi-million £ company, act like it!

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Barchester expects a lot but gives little

      May 8, 2014 - Care Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoy my job as carer and the team I work with are dedicated and hard working. We are supported by the head nurses. Training is on going but mainly for legal reasons I feel. We are carers because we care not for our hourly rate which is low.

      Cons

      There is a distinct lack of communication between management and care staff. Leaving staff feeling very under valued. We are expected to run on limited staff due to client carer ratio. Rightly or wrongly I think care comes before huge profits. No perks for carers, would be nice to have a free lunch on long shifts.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to leave such constructive and honest feedback. We are committed to providing the very best in holistic care and rely on dedicated people such as yourself to deliver the highest standards to the folk we support. We take your comments very seriously as we strive continuously to improve our performance as an employer. Thank you for your commitment to your role.

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Shame there isn’t a zero star rating!

      Jul 28, 2018 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Care staff on the front line are wonderful. They are the ones that care for the residents and do a great job.

      Cons

      This is a company that is For Sale. The company is led by a dreadful COO and Divisional Directors who do not care about the staff or the residents. They encourage and are bullies who are only interested in the amount of money they make. Steer clear if you value your self esteem and confidence to do your job. Don’t get sucked in by the offers of big money (for the managers only) you will have no life. The big bucks don’t roll down to the Care staff but the managers do well. When the CQC come in, a great front is put on, as soon as they’ve “blagged” there way through the CQC inspections everything reverts back to how it was. Just hideous. Why the CQC haven’t twigged is amazing. There are one or two managers who genuinely care, but only one or two. Steer clear.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Social Media Exec

      Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Barchester. We’re always looking at how we can improve, which is one of the reasons why we run an annual employee survey. The 2017 results show we’re moving in the right direction, with 80% of people telling us they’re happy with our culture and 82% saying they’d recommend us as an employer. It’s always disappointing to hear about any negative experiences, and your views will help us to take our improvements even further. Please let us know more about the experience you had by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Barchester Healthcare Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Barchester Healthcare? Share Your Experiences

    Barchester Healthcare logo
    or