Barchester Healthcare Employee Reviews about "care staff"

Updated Nov 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 417 reviews

3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Barchester Healthcare CEO Dr Pete Calveley
Dr Pete Calveley
230 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good staff, management, lovely residents(in 13 reviews)

  • "Great team environment, supportive and open management(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "A few grumpy carers that need to find their smile(in 24 reviews)

  • "Long hours, but that's normal in care and at the moment(in 22 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals

    Reviews about "care staff"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Hard but rewarding

      Nov 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hard work but rewarding and long hours

      Cons

      Shocking deputy managers no idea about care staff relations

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments here.

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Overall terrible

      May 21, 2021 - Care Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      they will always pay you.

      Cons

      They care very little about the residents, focusing more on meeting quotas than treating them like humans despite charging them an arm and a leg to stay there. This doesn't apply quite so much to the nurses as it does the care staff and management. The management sets unrealistic deadlines for things that aren't always within the carers control and makes very little effort to provide anything more than the bare minimum of staff needed to provide a somewhat humane level of care. The care staff routinely perform illegal moves but at least they take the time to do things properly when they've been warned that they're going to be observed. In my experience the senior care staff were incredibly condescending and rude to new carers and care assistants, which is a sentiment shared by every new hire I worked with. I was also paid less than other new hires with the same level of experience with no explanation as to why this was the case.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      We never want anyone to feel negatively about their career with Barchester and take feedback of this type very seriously so please give us more detail by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com. Thank you.

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Don’t waste your time

      Feb 24, 2021 - Carer in Brackley, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The care staff are lovely

      Cons

      The manager is horrendous. No support, rubbish pay, long shifts, no staff. Always short staffed. She speaks to staff like rubbish. This really is a thankless job. Such a shame as the girls are lovely to work with!

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      We’re very sorry to hear you feel this way, we pride ourselves on ensuring our staff feel supported at all times. We invite you to share further details by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com. Thank you.

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Caring but understaffed

      Jul 30, 2020 - Registered Nurse in Edinburgh, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff, good training, beautiful building and furnishings

      Cons

      Very short staffed and would not use agency nurses so care staff and nurses worked very hard to provide the best care possible, but too few of us and too little time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      Thank you for your feedback, your comments will be passed on for review.

    5. 1.0
      Current Employee

      pay rates are unfair and work load is madness

      May 30, 2020 - Head Chef in West Bromwich, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      care staff are lovely and my staff are loyal to me

      Cons

      the company takes liberties , pay rates are unfair and varied across homes some are paid very very well others are expected to do the same job for half the money expectations are set way to high and support is next to none this company does not know the meaning of fair!!!

      1 person found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      We never want anyone to feel negatively about their career with Barchester, so we’re very sorry to hear you feel this way. Please share your views in more detail by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Okay

      May 19, 2019 - Care Assistant in Brackley, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Residents are amazing Care staff and some of the nurses are there for you 100%

      Cons

      Management are money based They don’t really listen to you about some of the issues there are at the home Only seem to get negative feedback Not much support to care staff when you are struggling

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      We know we can only care and support our residents if we care for our employees. We’re disappointed to hear your experience isn't what you want it to be. We’d like to know more so we can look for ways to improve things. Please give us as much detail as possible about your concerns by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Bullies

      Mar 15, 2019 - General Manager in Sevenoaks, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Residents and their families care staff work hard

      Cons

      Huge bullying culture. Right from the top conference calls are brutal . Directors have no idea and the divisional director is rude to all her staff

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      Providing the highest levels of care and support is what our success has been built on, so it’s incredibly disappointing to hear that you felt this was lacking when you worked here. We never want our people to feel uncomfortable or isolated, and we invest heavily in training for our managers. Whilst we don’t think your experience is common at Barchester, if it’s happening anywhere, it is unacceptable. We’d really appreciate it if you could please give us more details by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Poor support structure

      Feb 24, 2019 - Staff Nurse in Lancaster, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      lovely residents and relatives, care staff good but overworked

      Cons

      poor support, blame culture in place, make a mistake once and they don't support you, they get rid of you, bad message to send out to other staff,

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry you feel negatively about working at Barchester. We continue to improve the support we offer our employees, so your feedback is important. If you would like to offer further information about your experiences, please email us at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      A Joke of a company

      Aug 1, 2018 - Carer in Reading, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The team and the residents are perhaps the only pro at this place. Carers and Nurses are hard working, almost back-brakeingly so. Home manager was very supportive and had an open door policy.

      Cons

      Where does one even begin. It’s clear Barchester only ever care about one thing. Money. Barchester is a prime example of cooperate greed. Higher ups are rude and quick to point the finger if anything was to go wrong. Staffing levels low, but according to head office, 2 carers to 17 residents with varying degrees of bahvioural problems (including prone to violence) is over staffed. Residents suffer at the hands of the people their family’s fork out so much money for, as Barchester is one of the most expensive companies to have a family member live with, you’d expect they’d have the best care in England. No, and that is not the fault of care staff. Staff are under paid, over worked, and not even a thank you, not even an smile from the area manager as she sits and glares at you when she visits. And when you’re told that you’re job is easiet is even more of a spit in the face.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Social Media Exec

      Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our careers. We’re always looking at how we can improve, which is one of the reasons why we run an annual employee survey. The 2017 results show we’re moving in the right direction, with 80% of people telling us they’re happy with our culture and 84% revealing that they would recommend a Barchester care home to someone they love. However, it’s always disappointing to hear about any negative experiences, and your views will help us to take our improvements even further. Please could you let us know more by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Shame there isn’t a zero star rating!

      Jul 28, 2018 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Care staff on the front line are wonderful. They are the ones that care for the residents and do a great job.

      Cons

      This is a company that is For Sale. The company is led by a dreadful COO and Divisional Directors who do not care about the staff or the residents. They encourage and are bullies who are only interested in the amount of money they make. Steer clear if you value your self esteem and confidence to do your job. Don’t get sucked in by the offers of big money (for the managers only) you will have no life. The big bucks don’t roll down to the Care staff but the managers do well. When the CQC come in, a great front is put on, as soon as they’ve “blagged” there way through the CQC inspections everything reverts back to how it was. Just hideous. Why the CQC haven’t twigged is amazing. There are one or two managers who genuinely care, but only one or two. Steer clear.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Social Media Exec

      Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Barchester. We’re always looking at how we can improve, which is one of the reasons why we run an annual employee survey. The 2017 results show we’re moving in the right direction, with 80% of people telling us they’re happy with our culture and 82% saying they’d recommend us as an employer. It’s always disappointing to hear about any negative experiences, and your views will help us to take our improvements even further. Please let us know more about the experience you had by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Barchester Healthcare Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Barchester Healthcare? Share Your Experiences

    Barchester Healthcare logo
    or