Barchester Healthcare "carers" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Barchester Healthcare Employee Reviews about "carers"

Updated 7 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Barchester Healthcare CEO Dr Pete Calveley
Dr Pete Calveley
149 Ratings
Pros
  • "Residents and their families care staff work hard(in 14 reviews)

  • "Residents were mostly lovely and other carers were friendly(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "A few grumpy carers that need to find their smile(in 20 reviews)

  • "Long hours, management always wanting more and make night staff attend training during they’re sleep time(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "carers"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Care Assistant in Taunton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Our team - brilliant We work hard, are professional and laugh a lot with our residents. The Manor is a happy place

    Cons

    A few grumpy carers that need to find their smile

    Continue reading
    Barchester Healthcare2020-02-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "This is a great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in York, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive salaries (management level), support systems, commitment to delivering an excellent customer/service user experience.

    Cons

    Minimum wage for carers and ancillary staff, 'clunky' IT systems, too much paper rather than electronic equivalents.

    Barchester Healthcare2019-06-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Clicky bullying culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Care in Hethersett, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Made couple good long term freinds

    Cons

    Clicky staff which management join in with and encourage as bullys cover shifts,no new staff are welcome or stay and magement put it fown to a problem with new staff ,funny always new staff who are the problem.Was owed love to shop vouchers on leaving x2 ,never got so who did???Was not able to do exit interview which I wanted to was give a day date to do one that did not exist.Management went from nice to vindictive when handed my notice in.Poor residents and family's I feel sorry for.I am still in touch with 5 others who have left in my short time there and all and so happy to be out of that toxic environment CARERS SHOULD CARE??? Deputy manager and two seniors I caught doing impression of me day I left which is highly unprofessional and very sad I was so happy to not have to come back.

    Continue reading
    Barchester Healthcare2019-06-04

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    June 4, 2019Recruitment Marketing Manager

    Providing the highest levels of care and support is what our success has been built on, so it’s incredibly disappointing to hear that you felt this was lacking when you worked here. Whilst we don’t think your experience is common at Barchester, if it’s happening anywhere, it is unacceptable. We’d really appreciate it if you could please give us more details by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Money orientated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare

    Pros

    The team at floor level are great

    Cons

    Short staff, carers paid minimum wage while managers and ceo’s get extreme bonuses. Bullying at management level, huge pressure to fill beds even when you don’t have the resources, racism at management level, constantly on call with no extra pay

    Continue reading
    Barchester Healthcare2019-02-05

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    March 11, 2019Recruitment Marketing Manager

    We’re sorry that you didn’t have a positive experience with Barchester. Your feedback matters a lot, and we’ll definitely look at how we can improve things as we move forward. Please share your thoughts by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Assistant in Newport, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Residents were mostly lovely and other carers were friendly.

    Cons

    Not enough training given. No support from senior staff. Very hard work (12 hour shifts) and very poor wages. Some people did very little and weren't pleasant.

    Continue reading
    Barchester Healthcare2019-01-24

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    March 11, 2019Recruitment Marketing Manager

    We’re sorry you felt this way about your time at Barchester. We would like to hear further details on your experiences with us. If you could please email us at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (6)

    "A Joke of a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carer in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The team and the residents are perhaps the only pro at this place. Carers and Nurses are hard working, almost back-brakeingly so. Home manager was very supportive and had an open door policy.

    Cons

    Where does one even begin. It’s clear Barchester only ever care about one thing. Money. Barchester is a prime example of cooperate greed. Higher ups are rude and quick to point the finger if anything was to go wrong. Staffing levels low, but according to head office, 2 carers to 17 residents with varying degrees of bahvioural problems (including prone to violence) is over staffed. Residents suffer at the hands of the people their family’s fork out so much money for, as Barchester is one of the most expensive companies to have a family member live with, you’d expect they’d have the best care in England. No, and that is not the fault of care staff. Staff are under paid, over worked, and not even a thank you, not even an smile from the area manager as she sits and glares at you when she visits. And when you’re told that you’re job is easiet is even more of a spit in the face.

    Continue reading
    Barchester Healthcare2018-08-01

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    August 2, 2018Social Media Exec

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our careers. We’re always looking at how we can improve, which is one of the reasons why we run an annual employee survey. The 2017 results show we’re moving in the right direction, with 80% of people telling us they’re happy with our culture and 84% revealing that they would recommend a Barchester care home to someone they love. However, it’s always disappointing to hear about any negative experiences, and your views will help us to take our improvements even further. Please could you let us know more by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Poor quality care by some staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Assistant in Carlisle, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked with a handful of good staff who really cared but one staff member let the whole team down

    Cons

    Staff reported for abuse towards residents, the investigation was kept internal which led to the staff member keeping her job with a final warning, leaving staff who had complained disillusioned with the system, always short staffed, and still expected the same amount of work. One nurse and one carer on nights most of the time to look after 40 residents with dementia.

    Continue reading
    Barchester Healthcare2018-05-11

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    May 15, 2018Social Media Exec

    Providing the highest levels of care and support is what our success has been built on, so it’s incredibly disappointing to hear that you felt this was lacking when you worked here. We never want our people to feel uncomfortable or isolated, and we invest heavily in training for our managers. Whilst we don’t think your experience is common at Barchester, if it’s happening anywhere, it is unacceptable. We’d really appreciate it if you could please give us more details by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Nurse in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A fair salary. Residents were reasonably happy with the service, as were families.

    Cons

    No sick pay encouraged carers to come in when they were unfit to work. Staff to patient ratios were dangerous at best.

    Continue reading
    Barchester Healthcare2018-01-23

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    January 25, 2018Head of Social

    We’re sorry you’ve left Barchester feeling negative. We continue to improve the support and guidance we offer our employees. Happiness within the business is vital, so your feedback is important. If you would like to give us further information regarding your experiences at Barchester, please email us at: onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Carer 

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Staff are working there butts off to give residents the care they need. Night staff are not coping with only three staff as we have a lot of residents with difficult needs. We are on low wage and I have an nvq 3 and I am on low wage and not a senior carer even though I have asked.

    Cons

    Management don’t care about staff they are not getting recruits in. They expect us to work with minimum staff which makes us ill and have time off work we don’t even get sick pay which I think is disgusting. Staff are getting to stressed because management and higher up don’t understand what we do for these residents all they care about is getting more money in by assessing residents that shouldn’t be put into our home.

    Continue reading
    Barchester Healthcare2017-12-27

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    January 2, 2018Head of Social

    We’re sorry you have a negative view of life as an employee at Barchester. We’re dedicated to providing our employees with the best support. If you would like to give us further information regarding your experiences at Barchester, please email us at: onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Don't bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff work really hard to work together. Career opportunities are good just because they as desperate, but you can think again if you want to complete any type of course or learning you won't have time but just so you are aware the courses are there for show.

    Cons

    Management request staff to complete care ratings and it's an expectation as part of a weekly report system. Management bully staff and give ultermatums you either say yes or leave. Poor management in and out like yo yos. Staff expected to work above and beyond constantly doing the work of up to 5 the job description is a lie. Very low wage for expectations , very long hours. Training especially induction poor. But refresher training is very basic trying to fit too much in to one day and cutting corners just to get people signed off. A company who's management have a saying one goes who cares 10 are waiting to step in well that says a lot for the care of the staff, unfortunately barchester your running out of people to fill the places and anyone who does come for employment they are not fit Or will leave once they become aware. No staff stay for long never seen a turnover like it. If you don't agree either you speak and loose your job or you put up and shut up, that's your only option. Residents care is a poor standard, short staffed and carer allocation is not to residents needs.. my manager before she left completed the allocation tool for the whole home ( every resident ) she gave high needs in all areas of care to see If it made a difference and to no surprise nothing changed at all staffing would have been the same with 50 end of life residents with high dependency for all care and nursing interventions. Bonuses are talked about but you don't see anything of them.

    Continue reading
    Barchester Healthcare2017-12-20

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    December 22, 2017Head of Social

    We’re sorry you felt this way about your time at Barchester. We would like to hear further details on your experiences with us. If you could please email us at: onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 28 reviews