Barchester Healthcare Employee Reviews about "carers"

Updated 16 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
51%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Barchester Healthcare CEO Dr Pete Calveley
Dr Pete Calveley
185 Ratings
Pros
  • "care staff are lovely and my staff are loyal to me(in 15 reviews)

  • "Residents were mostly lovely and other carers were friendly(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "A few grumpy carers that need to find their smile(in 21 reviews)

  • "The home where I worked was very short staffed(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "carers"

Return to all Reviews
  1. COVID-19

    "Satisfying Job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Care Assistant in Kettering, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am currently working at elmbank Care home( Barchester ) in Kettering as a senior Carer. I’ve been working for 17 years in care sector especially people with Dementia and I am passionate and love my job. This care home has a good vision and mission towards the residents and staff. I believe that this challenging situation that we are facing right now. Team Elmbank is doing a great job to ensure residents are being look after while they’re away from the family due to this Coronavirus viruse. We will fight and stand as one. Staff and management , work hard and helping each other to make the home better place for our residents. And I will salute to our acting manager Jayne Burgess and deputy manager Becky for their hard work and unconditional support to all the staff which gives hope for all of us.

    Cons

    To get away the viruse very soon and residents not to see their love ones.

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    June 1, 2020Recruitment Marketing Manager

    It’s a pleasure to read such positive comments. Thank you for taking the time to share them here – and we hope you continue to find life with us enjoyable and rewarding. We will share your lovely feedback with the team!

  2. "bullying"

    1.0
    Current Employee - Cleaner 

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    staff members kind friendly and profesional

    Cons

    working within the home with other carers staff and management is great the cons are the out side management if bullying staff and management is barchesters way forward in delivering quaility care then your going to fail we will not tolerate these actions and it must stop bullying and care do not go together and it will affect your company long term please do some thing about itnot just shrug your shoulders

    Continue reading

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    June 11, 2020Recruitment Marketing Manager

    We never want anyone to feel negatively about their career with Barchester, so we’re very sorry to hear this. We take accusations of this type very seriously so we would really appreciate if you could give us more detail by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com. Thank you.


  3. "Amazing"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Care Assistant in Taunton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Our team - brilliant We work hard, are professional and laugh a lot with our residents. The Manor is a happy place

    Cons

    A few grumpy carers that need to find their smile

    Continue reading

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    June 1, 2020Recruitment Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your positive feedback, we really appreciate it - keep smiling!

  4. Helpful (1)

    "This is a great company to work for."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in York, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive salaries (management level), support systems, commitment to delivering an excellent customer/service user experience.

    Cons

    Minimum wage for carers and ancillary staff, 'clunky' IT systems, too much paper rather than electronic equivalents.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Clicky bullying culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Care in Hethersett, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Made couple good long term freinds

    Cons

    Clicky staff which management join in with and encourage as bullys cover shifts,no new staff are welcome or stay and magement put it fown to a problem with new staff ,funny always new staff who are the problem.Was owed love to shop vouchers on leaving x2 ,never got so who did???Was not able to do exit interview which I wanted to was give a day date to do one that did not exist.Management went from nice to vindictive when handed my notice in.Poor residents and family's I feel sorry for.I am still in touch with 5 others who have left in my short time there and all and so happy to be out of that toxic environment CARERS SHOULD CARE??? Deputy manager and two seniors I caught doing impression of me day I left which is highly unprofessional and very sad I was so happy to not have to come back.

    Continue reading

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    June 4, 2019Recruitment Marketing Manager

    Providing the highest levels of care and support is what our success has been built on, so it’s incredibly disappointing to hear that you felt this was lacking when you worked here. Whilst we don’t think your experience is common at Barchester, if it’s happening anywhere, it is unacceptable. We’d really appreciate it if you could please give us more details by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Money orientated"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare

    Pros

    The team at floor level are great

    Cons

    Short staff, carers paid minimum wage while managers and ceo’s get extreme bonuses. Bullying at management level, huge pressure to fill beds even when you don’t have the resources, racism at management level, constantly on call with no extra pay

    Continue reading

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    March 11, 2019Recruitment Marketing Manager

    We’re sorry that you didn’t have a positive experience with Barchester. Your feedback matters a lot, and we’ll definitely look at how we can improve things as we move forward. Please share your thoughts by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

  7. Helpful (3)

    "Poor management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Assistant in Newport, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Residents were mostly lovely and other carers were friendly.

    Cons

    Not enough training given. No support from senior staff. Very hard work (12 hour shifts) and very poor wages. Some people did very little and weren't pleasant.

    Continue reading

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    March 11, 2019Recruitment Marketing Manager

    We’re sorry you felt this way about your time at Barchester. We would like to hear further details on your experiences with us. If you could please email us at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

  8. Helpful (6)

    "A Joke of a company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carer in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Barchester Healthcare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The team and the residents are perhaps the only pro at this place. Carers and Nurses are hard working, almost back-brakeingly so. Home manager was very supportive and had an open door policy.

    Cons

    Where does one even begin. It’s clear Barchester only ever care about one thing. Money. Barchester is a prime example of cooperate greed. Higher ups are rude and quick to point the finger if anything was to go wrong. Staffing levels low, but according to head office, 2 carers to 17 residents with varying degrees of bahvioural problems (including prone to violence) is over staffed. Residents suffer at the hands of the people their family’s fork out so much money for, as Barchester is one of the most expensive companies to have a family member live with, you’d expect they’d have the best care in England. No, and that is not the fault of care staff. Staff are under paid, over worked, and not even a thank you, not even an smile from the area manager as she sits and glares at you when she visits. And when you’re told that you’re job is easiet is even more of a spit in the face.

    Continue reading

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    August 2, 2018Social Media Exec

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our careers. We’re always looking at how we can improve, which is one of the reasons why we run an annual employee survey. The 2017 results show we’re moving in the right direction, with 80% of people telling us they’re happy with our culture and 84% revealing that they would recommend a Barchester care home to someone they love. However, it’s always disappointing to hear about any negative experiences, and your views will help us to take our improvements even further. Please could you let us know more by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

  9. Helpful (5)

    "Poor quality care by some staff"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Assistant in Carlisle, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked with a handful of good staff who really cared but one staff member let the whole team down

    Cons

    Staff reported for abuse towards residents, the investigation was kept internal which led to the staff member keeping her job with a final warning, leaving staff who had complained disillusioned with the system, always short staffed, and still expected the same amount of work. One nurse and one carer on nights most of the time to look after 40 residents with dementia.

    Continue reading

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    May 15, 2018Social Media Exec

    Providing the highest levels of care and support is what our success has been built on, so it’s incredibly disappointing to hear that you felt this was lacking when you worked here. We never want our people to feel uncomfortable or isolated, and we invest heavily in training for our managers. Whilst we don’t think your experience is common at Barchester, if it’s happening anywhere, it is unacceptable. We’d really appreciate it if you could please give us more details by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Nurse"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Nurse in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Barchester Healthcare part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A fair salary. Residents were reasonably happy with the service, as were families.

    Cons

    No sick pay encouraged carers to come in when they were unfit to work. Staff to patient ratios were dangerous at best.

    Continue reading

    Barchester Healthcare Response

    January 25, 2018Head of Social

    We’re sorry you’ve left Barchester feeling negative. We continue to improve the support and guidance we offer our employees. Happiness within the business is vital, so your feedback is important. If you would like to give us further information regarding your experiences at Barchester, please email us at: onlinefeedback@barchester.com

Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 English Reviews

Work at Barchester Healthcare? Share Your Experiences

Barchester Healthcare logo
or