Barchester Healthcare Employee Reviews about "carers"

Updated May 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 of over 355 reviews

3.2
49%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Barchester Healthcare CEO Dr Pete Calveley
Dr Pete Calveley
196 Ratings
Pros
  • "care staff are lovely and my staff are loyal to me(in 15 reviews)

  • "Residents were mostly lovely and other carers were friendly(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "A few grumpy carers that need to find their smile(in 21 reviews)

  • "The home where I worked was very short staffed(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "carers"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Satisfying Job

      May 8, 2020 - Senior Care Assistant in Pune
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I am currently working at elmbank Care home( Barchester ) in Kettering as a senior Carer. I’ve been working for 17 years in care sector especially people with Dementia and I am passionate and love my job. This care home has a good vision and mission towards the residents and staff. I believe that this challenging situation that we are facing right now. Team Elmbank is doing a great job to ensure residents are being look after while they’re away from the family due to this Coronavirus viruse. We will fight and stand as one. Staff and management , work hard and helping each other to make the home better place for our residents. And I will salute to our acting manager Jayne Burgess and deputy manager Becky for their hard work and unconditional support to all the staff which gives hope for all of us.

      Cons

      To get away the viruse very soon and residents not to see their love ones.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      It’s a pleasure to read such positive comments. Thank you for taking the time to share them here – and we hope you continue to find life with us enjoyable and rewarding. We will share your lovely feedback with the team!

    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      bullying

      May 16, 2020 - Cleaner 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      staff members kind friendly and profesional

      Cons

      working within the home with other carers staff and management is great the cons are the out side management if bullying staff and management is barchesters way forward in delivering quaility care then your going to fail we will not tolerate these actions and it must stop bullying and care do not go together and it will affect your company long term please do some thing about itnot just shrug your shoulders

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      We never want anyone to feel negatively about their career with Barchester, so we’re very sorry to hear this. We take accusations of this type very seriously so we would really appreciate if you could give us more detail by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com. Thank you.

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Amazing

      Feb 7, 2020 - Health Care Assistant in Pune
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Our team - brilliant We work hard, are professional and laugh a lot with our residents. The Manor is a happy place

      Cons

      A few grumpy carers that need to find their smile

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      Thank you for your positive feedback, we really appreciate it - keep smiling!

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Clicky bullying culture

      Jun 3, 2019 - Senior Care in Hethersett, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Made couple good long term freinds

      Cons

      Clicky staff which management join in with and encourage as bullys cover shifts,no new staff are welcome or stay and magement put it fown to a problem with new staff ,funny always new staff who are the problem.Was owed love to shop vouchers on leaving x2 ,never got so who did???Was not able to do exit interview which I wanted to was give a day date to do one that did not exist.Management went from nice to vindictive when handed my notice in.Poor residents and family's I feel sorry for.I am still in touch with 5 others who have left in my short time there and all and so happy to be out of that toxic environment CARERS SHOULD CARE??? Deputy manager and two seniors I caught doing impression of me day I left which is highly unprofessional and very sad I was so happy to not have to come back.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      Providing the highest levels of care and support is what our success has been built on, so it’s incredibly disappointing to hear that you felt this was lacking when you worked here. Whilst we don’t think your experience is common at Barchester, if it’s happening anywhere, it is unacceptable. We’d really appreciate it if you could please give us more details by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      This is a great company to work for.

      Jun 14, 2019 - General Manager in York, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive salaries (management level), support systems, commitment to delivering an excellent customer/service user experience.

      Cons

      Minimum wage for carers and ancillary staff, 'clunky' IT systems, too much paper rather than electronic equivalents.

      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Money orientated

      Feb 5, 2019 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The team at floor level are great

      Cons

      Short staff, carers paid minimum wage while managers and ceo’s get extreme bonuses. Bullying at management level, huge pressure to fill beds even when you don’t have the resources, racism at management level, constantly on call with no extra pay

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      We’re sorry that you didn’t have a positive experience with Barchester. Your feedback matters a lot, and we’ll definitely look at how we can improve things as we move forward. Please share your thoughts by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Poor management

      Jan 24, 2019 - Care Assistant in Newport, South East England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Residents were mostly lovely and other carers were friendly.

      Cons

      Not enough training given. No support from senior staff. Very hard work (12 hour shifts) and very poor wages. Some people did very little and weren't pleasant.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      We’re sorry you felt this way about your time at Barchester. We would like to hear further details on your experiences with us. If you could please email us at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      A Joke of a company

      Aug 1, 2018 - Carer in Reading, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The team and the residents are perhaps the only pro at this place. Carers and Nurses are hard working, almost back-brakeingly so. Home manager was very supportive and had an open door policy.

      Cons

      Where does one even begin. It’s clear Barchester only ever care about one thing. Money. Barchester is a prime example of cooperate greed. Higher ups are rude and quick to point the finger if anything was to go wrong. Staffing levels low, but according to head office, 2 carers to 17 residents with varying degrees of bahvioural problems (including prone to violence) is over staffed. Residents suffer at the hands of the people their family’s fork out so much money for, as Barchester is one of the most expensive companies to have a family member live with, you’d expect they’d have the best care in England. No, and that is not the fault of care staff. Staff are under paid, over worked, and not even a thank you, not even an smile from the area manager as she sits and glares at you when she visits. And when you’re told that you’re job is easiet is even more of a spit in the face.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Social Media Exec

      Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our careers. We’re always looking at how we can improve, which is one of the reasons why we run an annual employee survey. The 2017 results show we’re moving in the right direction, with 80% of people telling us they’re happy with our culture and 84% revealing that they would recommend a Barchester care home to someone they love. However, it’s always disappointing to hear about any negative experiences, and your views will help us to take our improvements even further. Please could you let us know more by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to start your career in the caring sector.

      Aug 25, 2015 - Health Care Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very supportive and helpful staff especially Nurses, Care Assistant, Training and Admin staff. Senior Management are visible and approachable. Excellent training, the amount of training can be slightly overwhelming during induction period. Great place to start your career in the caring sector. Encouraged to advance your career at Barchester

      Cons

      Very low pay. Pay increases are poor, poor pay incentive to advance in training that is offered. The Care Assistants 12 hour shifts can be physically very demanding with only short breaks allowed. Very high staff turn over. High non-UK staff numbers, while some are excellent nurses and carers and are doing a great job, others have a very different work ethic and have very poor English and conversational skills.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Patients are just numbers to them

      Jan 16, 2016 - Team Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employs brilliant staff, good training opportunities, care staff loaded with so much responsibility but never give up and love their residents no matter what

      Cons

      Pay as low as £6.40 for full time senior carers Have to pay for meals even though you do not get paid on your lunch break 3663 food (cheap as chips for the money they bring in for each resident per week!) Rooms filled within two days of a previous death Furniture not changed in my particular home for up to 10 years (from a staff member who worked 16 years) even on a dementia unit where bodily fluids/food are spread more often than not Extreme disorganisation, kitchen staff constantly short, head chef working 7 days a week for 2 weeks until agency finally booked. (Very stingy on hiring agency) 6 caters for 33 residents on a dementia unit where about 15 of them are HIGH RISK OF FALLS!! Not good enough! Caters worked into the ground constantly, like donkeys Even had a previous manager tell us we all were not good enough and we're doing an awful job Also the CEO signs his name 'pete' like he's part of the gang but we know you're just a money hungry pencil pusher. You own a multi-million £ company, act like it!

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Barchester Healthcare Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Barchester Healthcare? Share Your Experiences

    Barchester Healthcare logo
    or