Barchester Healthcare Employee Reviews about "carers"

Updated Oct 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 of over 417 reviews

3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Barchester Healthcare CEO Dr Pete Calveley
Dr Pete Calveley
230 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good staff, management, lovely residents(in 13 reviews)

  • "Great team environment, supportive and open management(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "A few grumpy carers that need to find their smile(in 24 reviews)

  • "Long hours, but that's normal in care and at the moment(in 22 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals

    Reviews about "carers"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Poor

      Aug 25, 2021 - Caregiver in Glasgow, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place to work great residents

      Cons

      Carer wage is low 9 pounds an hour not good got the hard work we do

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments here.

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Disappointed

      Oct 13, 2021 - Senior Care Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Was big expectations for SCA role

      Cons

      At present I am working as a carer.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      Thank you for your feedback. We would like to learn more about what happened with your training so please give us more detail by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com. Thank you.

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Overall terrible

      May 21, 2021 - Care Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      they will always pay you.

      Cons

      They care very little about the residents, focusing more on meeting quotas than treating them like humans despite charging them an arm and a leg to stay there. This doesn't apply quite so much to the nurses as it does the care staff and management. The management sets unrealistic deadlines for things that aren't always within the carers control and makes very little effort to provide anything more than the bare minimum of staff needed to provide a somewhat humane level of care. The care staff routinely perform illegal moves but at least they take the time to do things properly when they've been warned that they're going to be observed. In my experience the senior care staff were incredibly condescending and rude to new carers and care assistants, which is a sentiment shared by every new hire I worked with. I was also paid less than other new hires with the same level of experience with no explanation as to why this was the case.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      We never want anyone to feel negatively about their career with Barchester and take feedback of this type very seriously so please give us more detail by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com. Thank you.

    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      bullying

      May 16, 2020 - Cleaner 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      staff members kind friendly and profesional

      Cons

      working within the home with other carers staff and management is great the cons are the out side management if bullying staff and management is barchesters way forward in delivering quaility care then your going to fail we will not tolerate these actions and it must stop bullying and care do not go together and it will affect your company long term please do some thing about itnot just shrug your shoulders

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      We never want anyone to feel negatively about their career with Barchester, so we’re very sorry to hear this. We take accusations of this type very seriously so we would really appreciate if you could give us more detail by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com. Thank you.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Amazing

      Feb 7, 2020 - Health Care Assistant in Taunton, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Our team - brilliant We work hard, are professional and laugh a lot with our residents. The Manor is a happy place

      Cons

      A few grumpy carers that need to find their smile

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      Thank you for your positive feedback, we really appreciate it - keep smiling!

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      This is a great company to work for.

      Jun 14, 2019 - General Manager in York, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive salaries (management level), support systems, commitment to delivering an excellent customer/service user experience.

      Cons

      Minimum wage for carers and ancillary staff, 'clunky' IT systems, too much paper rather than electronic equivalents.

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Clicky bullying culture

      Jun 3, 2019 - Senior Care in Hethersett, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Made couple good long term freinds

      Cons

      Clicky staff which management join in with and encourage as bullys cover shifts,no new staff are welcome or stay and magement put it fown to a problem with new staff ,funny always new staff who are the problem.Was owed love to shop vouchers on leaving x2 ,never got so who did???Was not able to do exit interview which I wanted to was give a day date to do one that did not exist.Management went from nice to vindictive when handed my notice in.Poor residents and family's I feel sorry for.I am still in touch with 5 others who have left in my short time there and all and so happy to be out of that toxic environment CARERS SHOULD CARE??? Deputy manager and two seniors I caught doing impression of me day I left which is highly unprofessional and very sad I was so happy to not have to come back.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      Providing the highest levels of care and support is what our success has been built on, so it’s incredibly disappointing to hear that you felt this was lacking when you worked here. Whilst we don’t think your experience is common at Barchester, if it’s happening anywhere, it is unacceptable. We’d really appreciate it if you could please give us more details by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Money orientated

      Feb 5, 2019 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The team at floor level are great

      Cons

      Short staff, carers paid minimum wage while managers and ceo’s get extreme bonuses. Bullying at management level, huge pressure to fill beds even when you don’t have the resources, racism at management level, constantly on call with no extra pay

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      We’re sorry that you didn’t have a positive experience with Barchester. Your feedback matters a lot, and we’ll definitely look at how we can improve things as we move forward. Please share your thoughts by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      A Joke of a company

      Aug 1, 2018 - Carer in Reading, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The team and the residents are perhaps the only pro at this place. Carers and Nurses are hard working, almost back-brakeingly so. Home manager was very supportive and had an open door policy.

      Cons

      Where does one even begin. It’s clear Barchester only ever care about one thing. Money. Barchester is a prime example of cooperate greed. Higher ups are rude and quick to point the finger if anything was to go wrong. Staffing levels low, but according to head office, 2 carers to 17 residents with varying degrees of bahvioural problems (including prone to violence) is over staffed. Residents suffer at the hands of the people their family’s fork out so much money for, as Barchester is one of the most expensive companies to have a family member live with, you’d expect they’d have the best care in England. No, and that is not the fault of care staff. Staff are under paid, over worked, and not even a thank you, not even an smile from the area manager as she sits and glares at you when she visits. And when you’re told that you’re job is easiet is even more of a spit in the face.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Social Media Exec

      Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our careers. We’re always looking at how we can improve, which is one of the reasons why we run an annual employee survey. The 2017 results show we’re moving in the right direction, with 80% of people telling us they’re happy with our culture and 84% revealing that they would recommend a Barchester care home to someone they love. However, it’s always disappointing to hear about any negative experiences, and your views will help us to take our improvements even further. Please could you let us know more by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Poor quality care by some staff

      May 11, 2018 - Care Assistant in Carlisle, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked with a handful of good staff who really cared but one staff member let the whole team down

      Cons

      Staff reported for abuse towards residents, the investigation was kept internal which led to the staff member keeping her job with a final warning, leaving staff who had complained disillusioned with the system, always short staffed, and still expected the same amount of work. One nurse and one carer on nights most of the time to look after 40 residents with dementia.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Social Media Exec

      Providing the highest levels of care and support is what our success has been built on, so it’s incredibly disappointing to hear that you felt this was lacking when you worked here. We never want our people to feel uncomfortable or isolated, and we invest heavily in training for our managers. Whilst we don’t think your experience is common at Barchester, if it’s happening anywhere, it is unacceptable. We’d really appreciate it if you could please give us more details by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 24 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Barchester Healthcare Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Barchester Healthcare? Share Your Experiences

    Barchester Healthcare logo
    or