Barchester Healthcare Employee Reviews about "short staffed"

Updated Jan 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 349 reviews

3.2
50%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Barchester Healthcare CEO Dr Pete Calveley
Dr Pete Calveley
195 Ratings
Pros
  • "care staff are lovely and my staff are loyal to me(in 15 reviews)

  • "Residents were mostly lovely and other carers were friendly(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "A few grumpy carers that need to find their smile(in 21 reviews)

  • "The home where I worked was very short staffed(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "short staffed"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Caring but understaffed

      Jul 30, 2020 - Registered Nurse in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff, good training, beautiful building and furnishings

      Cons

      Very short staffed and would not use agency nurses so care staff and nurses worked very hard to provide the best care possible, but too few of us and too little time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      Thank you for your feedback, your comments will be passed on for review.

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The worst company to work for, and the worst care home for your elderly.

      Jan 8, 2021 - Care Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are no pros of working for this company!

      Cons

      Working under pressure, low salary, bullying, we can not provide proper care to residents due to short-staffed and a neverending list of inadequate procedures to the residents! Total institutional abuse!

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      We’re very sorry to hear you feel negatively about your time with us. We take feedback of this type very seriously so please give us more detail by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com. Thank you.

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Avoid like the plague

      Apr 5, 2019 - Unit Nurse Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay overtime rates when work overtime

      Cons

      They do not live up to their 'ethos'. Short staffed consistently. Lied about the post I relocated for.. Told me clinical lead but in fact a lower post, not made aware until 2 weeks after I started! Sacked me midshift for trumped up charges. (said I had allowed a resident to run out of meds when in fact he had gone to hospital with his meds and was still in hospital when they sacked me). Gave me a crap reference. Refuse to engage with my union to rectify reference and make it factual. Very distressing. For the amount clients pay they do not get value for money at all.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      Providing the highest levels of care and support is what our success has been built on, so it’s incredibly disappointing to hear that you felt this was lacking when you worked here. We never want our people to feel uncomfortable or isolated, and we invest heavily in training for our managers. Whilst we don’t think your experience is common at Barchester, if it’s happening anywhere, it is unacceptable. We’d really appreciate it if you could please give us more details by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Awful

      Jul 12, 2019 - Care Assistant in Reading, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Only pros are seeing the residents happy, awful management and deputy management at Austen house care home.

      Cons

      They expect you to work long hours short staffed and expect you to do over time if not they make you feel bad for being tired. They employ staff that can not speak fluent English and they unfortunately do not understand much English. At Christmas time they left us short staffed to collect their bonuses. Management only care for themselves and only good out of the company was the manager from west oak Berkshire, unfortunately he couldn’t look after our home.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Management bully and intimidate you every day and get away with it,

      Mar 6, 2019 - Health Care Assistant in Basingstoke, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There isn't anything good about working for barchester

      Cons

      Management bully you on a day to day basis and get away with it, A senior member of staff grabbed me by my arm very tight which left a bruise whilst holding the door shut so I could not leave whilst the deputy manager was in the room and witnessed it but told me not to report it because i would lose my Job if I did , at that time i felt very scared and intimidated, on a daily basis management told staff we was rubbish at our jobs yet we are on our feet 12 hours a day non stop sometimes miss breaks whilst they sit down not once do they come out and help on the floor because as management said "god forbid I should get my hands dirty I'm on a higher pay grade than you minions" and yet they preach teamwork when they don't even help themselves. Deputy manager lives at the care home in the week because she doesn't like the commute when agency come just as far, managements spend more time smoking than they do actually supporting there staff they have 2-3 cigarettes every hour, when certain members of staff are on lunch who also Smoke management will sit there and make you feel very uneasy and moan at you whilst your on a break. Management say we have to spend more time giving personal care but then moan because some residents haven't had showers within the 4 hours we have to wash them we start at 8 and they want 72 residents to be washed and up by 12 it's very hard when your short staffed. I always say care is a 24 hour service if residents are not washed before lunch we can wash them after. Management said we're not allowed to eat lunch with residents yet we have done it before and it encourages the residents to eat. We was allowed to save ourselves lunch after residents have finished there lunch but admin and management come in and take what I would equate to 4 plates of food in one then short on food for residents and staff but as long as management eat it's fine whilst we're on our feet all day, we were told we was not allowed to drink water on the floor yet we need to keep ourselves hydrated, basically the barchester home in basingstoke is very corrupt and management would sign on there rounding charts when we have inspections that they personally checked on them when they had not, management would suddenly appear when cqc are in and say that we are hard workers they will help us hoist residents basically being fake all to get a good rating. I have also witnessed deputy manager shouting in a residents face and pointing her finger in this poor residents face relatives reported it but again nothing happened.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Recruitment Marketing Manager

      Providing the highest levels of care and support is what our success has been built on, so it’s incredibly disappointing to hear that you felt this was lacking when you worked here. We never want our people to feel uncomfortable or isolated, and we invest heavily in training for our managers. Whilst we don’t think your experience is common at Barchester, if it’s happening anywhere, it is unacceptable. We’d really appreciate it if you could please give us more details by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Do NOT work for this company

      Aug 4, 2016 - Care Assistant in Stockport, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Residents and their families are the only thing that kept me there for so many years until they shut our Unit down.

      Cons

      They pay peanuts for the work they expect you to do, often short staffed and running on low "numbers" or Agency, "numbers" as they don't see staff or Residents as humans. The Company is full of corrupt Liars, always false promising and never doing anything for their Staff members. Many times we have been left on dangerous staffing levels, to the point where Residents have fallen and all they do is try to cover it up. They're disgusting. Before our Unit closed they promised no redundancies would be made until the last Residents left, not even 3 weeks later Redundancies were made and the Care Staff were having to Care, wash pots in the kitchen without being trained to use the dish washer and chemicals, then do the cleaning as that was never done whilst also chasing up laundry as Residents often wore pajamas during the day as laundry were always behind due to redundancies. The managers speak to you as if you are something on the bottom of your shoe, I've been swore at, dragged in the office over some very personal stuff and been told to "get over it" and they do NOT take reports seriously. I had reported something a long time ago which was swept under the carpet and now that's gotten very serious!! We also had the reaction "but it's a Friday...." when something was reported, absolutely disgusting!!! Avoid!!!

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Look elsewhere

      Aug 25, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Newington, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Residents are mostly lovely, as are the relatives. All of the staff, especially on night shift have a fantastic bond.

      Cons

      Constantly running out of supplies - wipes, bags, pads, bed sheets. Being left to look after 17 people alone because of short staffed/no one calling agency Management who ignore staff Changing of rota with little warning Signs everywhere in the staff room 'don't do Very little support when dealing with aggressive residents - being hit is the norm. Overflowing sluice bins Filthy kitchen Appalling food

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Head of Social

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. If you’d like to provide any further information please email onlinefeedback@barchester.com.

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Poor quality care by some staff

      May 11, 2018 - Care Assistant in Carlisle, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked with a handful of good staff who really cared but one staff member let the whole team down

      Cons

      Staff reported for abuse towards residents, the investigation was kept internal which led to the staff member keeping her job with a final warning, leaving staff who had complained disillusioned with the system, always short staffed, and still expected the same amount of work. One nurse and one carer on nights most of the time to look after 40 residents with dementia.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Barchester Healthcare Response

      Social Media Exec

      Providing the highest levels of care and support is what our success has been built on, so it’s incredibly disappointing to hear that you felt this was lacking when you worked here. We never want our people to feel uncomfortable or isolated, and we invest heavily in training for our managers. Whilst we don’t think your experience is common at Barchester, if it’s happening anywhere, it is unacceptable. We’d really appreciate it if you could please give us more details by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      No support

      Apr 4, 2017 - Registered Nurse in Alcester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Care Staff are hard working and thoughtful . Staff constantly picking up extra shifts to help their co workers. Building and rooms are nice.

      Cons

      Short staffed, won't allow agency cover, hr don't support staff when contacted, constant pressure from higher management who don't understand industry, higher management when visiting don't go onto floor to see problems of being short staffed. Working constantly under staffed , even less than what barchesters own staffing tool recommends just to cut costs! Lots of staff leaving and no exit interviews, no one asked why they are leaving.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Healthcare Assistant

      Feb 2, 2017 - Health Care Assistant in Croydon, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can always get overtime and build your contracted hours around raising children.

      Cons

      All branches are highly understaffed. Residents for hoisting are to be handled by 2 carers, it doesn't happen a lot. You are left on your own, and are expected to do all the work as if you had someone to help you, which is a criminal offence and you can injure the resident. I have been to hospital several times due to a back injury at work, but nobody seems to care. They pay minimum wage and the head office does not allow the manager to pay you extra if you worked short staffed. The company is a disgrace.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Barchester Healthcare Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Barchester Healthcare? Share Your Experiences

    Barchester Healthcare logo
    or