Barnardo's Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Barnardo's Reviews

Updated 21 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
42%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Barnardo's Chief Executive Javed Khan
Javed Khan
112 Ratings
Pros
  • "Supporting young people, making a difference to their lives(in 15 reviews)

  • "Friendly staff and nice working environment(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Checks not enforced despite being encouraged to take additional support needs volunteers(in 33 reviews)

  • "It is surprising that they both work in a children's charity(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Worker in Royal Tunbridge Wells, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Barnardo's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff work together to create a great working environment.

    Cons

    Stressfull workload at times RE: safeguarding.

    Barnardo's2019-09-17
  2. "None"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Barnardo's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good working environment and very nice people

    Cons

    Not applicable In this case

    Barnardo's2020-02-20
  3. "best Chairty to work for in my opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Dundee, Scotland

    I have been working at Barnardo's part-time

    Pros

    good staff , good pay, friendly, great experience , lively

    Cons

    nothing as cons to be wrriten up

    Barnardo's2020-02-18
  4. Helpful (2)

    "good cause, terrible structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Marketing 

    I worked at Barnardo's full-time

    Pros

    working for a great cause lots of responsibility good team culture

    Cons

    CEO pushing through his ideas and hiring his friends as international ambassadors

    Barnardo's2020-02-06
  5. "Great training ashame about the team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Residential Support Worker in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barnardo's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My overall experience of Barnardos was a positive one in terms of training and new based evidence around issues children, young people and their families and carers

    Cons

    Within the team I worked in I began to notice a pull of rank, over time myself and other lower level pay staff began to feel unheard. I saw first hand how senior managers and others in positions of power used this to push out other staff members, I found that office politics took presudance over general care of young people and watched first hand how some young people were favoured over the more hard reach young people when it came to one to one support. I found staff to be rude and egotistical. As much as I loved my position I could no longer work in a toxic team environment

    Continue reading
    Barnardo's2020-01-29
  6. "Nice and cool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Associate 

    I worked at Barnardo's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Satisfactory Nice good lovely humanity

    Cons

    Not enough hours less pay high competition

    Barnardo's2020-01-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic bully culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Barnardo's full-time

    Pros

    The front line staff, shop staff and many people in the offices manage to , despite the toxicity at the top, do amazing work.

    Cons

    The CEO and his Chief of Staff, are out of control. The whole organisation and Senior Team are managed by the whims of the CEO’s vanity. Complaints around the culture and behaviours of the office and the organisation are ignored and swept under the carpet. There is a bullying and coercive culture at the very top that is well known and is left unchallenged and unchecked. A work culture begins at top and because of the behaviours at the very top a poison runs through the organisation which has empowered some to behave in the same way. Others are so broken by the toxic culture they simply try to survive another day and protect their teams as much as they can, others have normalised the behaviour. Any complaints that are made are met with a wall of senior staff telling you to 'keep it confidential for your own sake', while mid-level and lower HR team members are completely powerless to do anything. This results in people feeling isolated, belittled and unsupported. Whistle blowing attempts are just ignored. There is very much a feeling of what is the point in complaining, it is well known that nothing will happen and then your 'cards are marked'. Positive empowerment at the senior levels is non-existent – the CEO and Chief of Staff are, apparently, experts in all areas of the organisation, Brand, Retail, Fundraising, Safeguarding, every area. Highly experienced and well respected people are hired to do a job then are told how to do their job. The Chief of Staff is empowered by the CEO to undermine and belittle at every level - more like his enforcer than Chief of Staff. Beware, if you are applying for a job at the Head Office, they will likely offer you the world and a higher than average industry wage. Ultimately this is danger money and a pay off for turning a blind eye to the toxic culture.

    Continue reading
    Barnardo's2020-02-21
  8. "Incredible impact, dreadful senior leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Commercial Loan Consultant 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Barnardo's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Impact of the work is incredible to see, especially when you get to meet the people the charity supports - The charity is involved in so many areas of work, which can result in a variety of projects and campaigns - Some of my colleagues are the most passionate, talented and caring people I have ever met - Significant investment in 'digital' (although yet to integrate into wider culture) - Long and rich history

    Cons

    - CEO is vain, and the charity seems to be becoming a vanity project for him. Forces himself to be the centre of many charity events and campaigns. Seems he has an eye on politics. Has an 'executive team', that includes a bullying 'Chief of Staff' - who aggressively carries out his bidding and makes sure his objectives are met (seem to be at odds with objectives of the charity). It is surprising that they both work in a children's charity. - Poor internal structure - Work can be frenetic and siloed - Requires much tighter integration and coordination - Low pay compared to other similar roles

    Continue reading
    Barnardo's2020-01-16
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barnardo's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits , good company to work for and really help climb the ladder

    Cons

    Working extra hours but no money for overtime

    Barnardo's2019-12-20
  10. "Barnardos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Administrator in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Barnardo's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very special young people use the service

    Cons

    Management really should value the staff as they do a fantastic job for the young people

    Continue reading
    Barnardo's2019-12-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 251 reviews