Barratt Developments Reviews

Updated 7 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
92%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Barratt Developments Chief Executive David Thomas
David Thomas
60 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lovely people, great company benefits and a little bit of travel with expenses paid(in 8 reviews)

  • "Good company that looks after you(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours, expected to work Saturdays for no overtime(in 7 reviews)

  • "High pressure particularly at certain times of the year, some senior management quire old-fashioned outlook and somewhat risk adverse(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      Barratt cares about its people

      9 Oct 2020 - Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've found Barratt to be a genuinely considerate employer - they really care about making you be the best you can be. If you put the work in, they will support you to reach your potential. I think the way they supported their staff during the coronavirus crisis was a true testament to this. Health and safety came first, and they made sure everyone received their normal pay if on furlough, and then brought everyone back by the end of June. It's also great to work for a company that absolutely wants to do the right thing. I think this is led from the top by excellent leadership from David Thomas, who beyond being a genuinely nice person is committed to supporting charities and local communities. It's great to be able to feel proud of the company you work for.

      Cons

      I don't really have anything negative to say about Barratt. I've been lucky enough to have had excellent managers and opportunities throughout my time at Barratt and I think this has guided my experience.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Barratt Developments Response

      Recruitment Coordinator

      Thank you for your thoughtful and positive review. We are really pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time at Barratt Developments and we hope that this continues to be positive going forward. We are proud of our culture and it is down to all of our employees such as yourself and their hard work that make it a reality. Thank you again and all the best going forward.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Excellent Training and Development for Early Careers

      5 May 2021 - Land Graduate in Birmingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Reputable company, Great working culture Commitment to people in the business Progression and development opportunities

      Cons

      You will always come across people who are resistant to change or adoption of new ideas, but generally these people are not in leadership positions anyway. Otherwise, I cannot see any downsides to working for Barratt Developments.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Barratt Developments Response

      Recruitment Team

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are proud of our graduate programme and it is down to all of our employees such as yourself and your hard work which makes it a success. Thank you again and all the best going forward.

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Enjoyed my time working there

      22 Apr 2021 - Commercial Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good team ethos and give managers a degree of autonomy

      Cons

      Commercial systems (even their new ones) are so outdated

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Barratt Developments Response

      Recruitment Team

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback and we’re happy to hear your experience is positive overall. We value feedback so that we can become an even better company and will take your comments on board. We wish you all the best with your career.

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Review

      7 May 2021 - Sales Administrator in Chelmsford, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice office environment and good staff celebration

      Cons

      Bad culture and no teamwork

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Barratt Developments Response

      Recruitment Team

      Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. We are sorry to hear your thoughts towards the culture and teamwork within your area. While we have things to work on, we're glad you've also sensed the positive environment that we've worked hard to make part of Barratt Developments and will take all of your comments on board going forward.

    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Orthodox way of working

      20 Apr 2021 - Personal Assistant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love working with my team Good benefits

      Cons

      No progression for admin staff Poor salary structure

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Barratt Developments Response

      Recruitment Team

      Thank you for your balanced review. We are sorry to hear about the above cons from your experience with us. We do value all of our current and former employees feedback and so we will take your comments on board. We would like to wish you all the best in your career.

    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great experience

      24 Mar 2021 - Assistant Site Manager in Brighton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good money , experience and bonus

      Cons

      Relentless pace of work is difficult for some.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Barratt Developments Response

      Recruitment Team

      Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback and we wish you all the best going forward.

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      6 Apr 2021 - Senior Buyer in Watford, East of England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great People, good team atmosphere

      Cons

      High work load for individuals

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Barratt Developments Response

      Recruitment Team

      Thank you for your balanced review. We value feedback so that we can become an even better company and will take your comments on board. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback and wish you all the best with your career.

    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Loved it

      15 Feb 2021 - Senior Surveyor in Solihull, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, good HR structure, and a great place to work

      Cons

      Small fish in a big pond, but this isn’t a big deal

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Barratt Developments Response

      Recruitment Team

      Thank you for your review, we are pleased to read of your positive experience overall. We are proud of our culture and it is down to all of our employees, past and present, that make it a reality. Thank you again and all the best going forward.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Excellent Company

      19 Feb 2021 - Trainee Assistant Site Manager in Birmingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Motivated and driven team, friendly people, strong work ethic

      Cons

      Nothing so far for me to be honest.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Barratt Developments Response

      Recruitment Team

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback and we’re happy to hear your experience is a positive one, we hope this continues to be the case for the remainder of your career with us.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Ambitious and Forward-thinking Employer

      7 Oct 2020 - Technical Coordinator in Gateshead, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very strong and reputable company who always put their staff first. Barratt recognise that its staff are it's strength and as such hardwork never goes unrewarded. Great long-term strategies and goals and is wellplaced to be the largest, most sustainable and inclusive housebuilder in the UK

      Cons

      Is a quite a fast pace, high pressure work environment that might not be for everyone. Organisational can be confusing at first and top-down communication could be improved

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Barratt Developments Response

      Recruitment Coordinator

      Thank you for your thoughtful and balanced review. We strive to create an open culture at Barratt Developments and value feedback so that we can become an even better company. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback and we’re happy to hear you're pleased overall.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 102 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Barratt Developments Job Seekers

    Assistant Site Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Senior Technical Coordinator
    Learn About the Job
    Trainee Assistant Site Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Barratt Developments? Share Your Experiences

    Barratt Developments logo
    or