Beazley Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Beazley Group Reviews

Updated 11 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Andrew Horton
47 Ratings
Pros
  • "amazing company with great perks and free lunch(in 23 reviews)

  • "Good benefits including commuter, fitness and BYOD reimbursement(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Flat structure can lead to a lack of career progression and clear decision making with too many committees(in 7 reviews)

  • "Very small company makes it feel as though career progression is tough(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good people and incredible environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beazley Group

    Pros

    Just wow. I have never visited, let alone worked for, as great an environment as the Birmingham office. Incredible space and facilities; lovely people.

    Cons

    Difficult to think of any

    Beazley Group2019-01-08
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beazley Group full-time

    Pros

    Train season ticket Lunch paid

    Cons

    Not enough women. Can be quite laddy

    Beazley Group2019-03-04
  3. "Good place to work overall!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beazley Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Treat people well - flexible hours, good compensation and benefits, ability to work from home, and managers that respect work life balance. You get a 3 month sabbattical after 10 yrs working. Great at what they do - and lots of opportunity to do interesting work. Very accessible senior management and executive team. Feels like a small company though its roughly 1500-people strong. Not too hard to navigate. People...

    Show More

    Cons

    Traditionally an underwriting-led company, so other functions have to shout to be heard. Slow to change when it comes to technology and the core business. Many people have worked here for 10+ years. Smaller company means its harder to move around departments as jobs don't come up that often. A little bit of unconscious bias does exist in pockets in management.

    Advice to Management

    None really, its all going in a good direction.

    Beazley Group2019-01-04
  4. "Fantastic Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Beazley Group full-time

    Pros

    I worked here for 6 years and I always felt I had opportunities for progressions, great support from management and a friendly atmosphere.

    Cons

    Due to the increase in company size it is beginning to lose some of its small company culture, but this is to be expected to a degree.

    Beazley Group2018-07-16
  5. "I think its a great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beazley Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've worked for lots of companies, including some large insurance companies in the past and this one is first class. It prides itself for paying the best money for the best people and that is obvious by the calibre of staff that work there. With the introduction of Activity Based Working (where you don't have to be in the office daily) is another highly valued benefit which gives great flexibility, and truly treats...

    Show More

    Cons

    Not many .. maybe a bit too political sometimes, and we just need to remember that we all work for the same team.

    Advice to Management

    Carry on doing what you are doing, give you staff the flexibility, and you will get good results. Keep ensuring that we have maintain good people, and deal with the under performers through good performance management.

    Beazley Group2018-05-18
  6. "Room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriter in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Beazley Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging work and significant responsibilities. Staff are friendly and benefits are nice to have. Starting to provide more resources in strategic areas

    Cons

    Flat structure can lead to a lack of career progression and clear decision making with too many committees. Too many middle managers.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on results for promotion and advancement

    Beazley Group2017-10-07
  7. "Really strong positive culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beazley Group full-time

    Pros

    Strong focus on communications and transparency, easy to get to know people, welcoming culture, focus on excellent service. Lots of collaboration across the company too.

    Cons

    Would be good to see more female role models, especially in top positions

    Advice to Management

    Focus on diversity and inclusion!

    Beazley Group2017-07-03
  8. "Great people and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beazley Group

    Pros

    Well regarded in the industry, really collaborative culture and bright people Strong focus on innovation and growth.

    Cons

    At the start of it's D&I strategy with an increasing agenda to promote and retain woman in senior roles.

    Beazley Group2017-06-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Poor culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Beazley Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch, paid for travel, good remuneration

    Cons

    Typical old school insurance company, unfriendly, very corporate, lack of progression, intense, slow moving

    Beazley Group2017-04-05
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great benefits but some issues lurking underneath the surface"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Beazley Group full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits package, nice office location, nice people

    Cons

    Poor leadership in the IT teams middle management layer

    Advice to Management

    Invest in strong leaders do not rely on age or previous experience as a gauge of management potential

    Beazley Group2016-08-04
Found 72 reviews