Bechtel "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Bechtel Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated 1 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Bechtel Chief Executive Officer Brendan Bechtel
Brendan Bechtel
304 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company but bad culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Bechtel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You'll get to work on the best projects in the world and get well compensated for it. Work enough and you will get well compensated.

    Cons

    Politics are hard to navigate. If you're not buddies with the upper management you won't get anywhere. They prefer hard workers over smart workers or those that have advanced degrees.

    Continue reading
    Bechtel2019-05-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Solid Company that rewards effort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Controls Engineer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bechtel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Upper management does care about their employees, but market forces have the most impact on advancement

    Cons

    Unless you get in on the good side of upper management early, you will slip through the cracks.

    Bechtel2018-08-24
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Not recomended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Augusta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bechtel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    From what I've seen I can't find any pros besides the pay.

    Cons

    Upper management shows no concern for worker safety, there is absolutely no communication between departments, disrespect for workers and other contractors that are not part of behctel is constantly shown, use of scare tactics to get what management wants no matter the outcome, very dishonest company.

    Continue reading
    Bechtel2018-04-09
  4. "Safe working environment with great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bechtel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Career building opportunities, organization based salary's, overtime 60 to 70 hrs a week during shutdowns. Money Making jobs. Nuclear field experience

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say about this company. I truly loved working for them. I had good upper management

    Continue reading
    Bechtel2018-03-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Project Controls"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Controls Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bechtel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You meet some great people that can help guide and mentor your through your career.

    Cons

    Favoritism through connections, at times work can become daunting due to upper management.

    Continue reading
    Bechtel2018-03-03
  6. "Sabine Pass"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Millwright Gf in Cameron, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bechtel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere competitive pay great safety programs and leadership training

    Cons

    Lack of true craftsmen poor upper management Lack of good communication

    Continue reading
    Bechtel2017-10-27
  7. "Very clean jobsite. One of the more organized new construction jobs I've been on."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Baytown, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bechtel for less than a year

    Pros

    Very organized than most. Pay was competitive and it's safety driven.

    Cons

    Upper management was overflowing. Getting pulled around in different directions. Most likely not there fault. They seemed to be stressed out a lot.

    Bechtel2017-10-23
  8. "Bechtel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Houston, TX
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bechtel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fairly good EPC company. Opportunity to get varying experience if willing to do site assignments.

    Cons

    Management changes are taking the company in different direction, the results will not be known for years. Limited experience of new CEO. Solid upper management retiring.. Layoffs have been ongoing.

    Continue reading
    Bechtel2017-08-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Beware of Bottlenecks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bechtel

    Pros

    Very good pay, ability to work with big-name clients, multiple business lines

    Cons

    Career bottlenecks, upper management is very demanding

    Continue reading
    Bechtel2017-04-19
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Very poor lazy 'old boy' wasteful management who will eventually run the business into the ground."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Field Engineer in Muscat
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bechtel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Projects all over the world, very established processes in the form of SWPP's. Good pay in comparisons to other companies (mid-upper range). Though not the best.

    Cons

    Very bad prospects for staff. Upper management are riding the wave till they retire and have lost their mojo. Too many useless upper management who wouldn't survive in a competitive company. If you talk the talk you will go far even if you are useless. Well recommended company for dodgy second hand Car salesmen. Really good people are left behind and eventually leave. No improvement advice or performance management for under performers (mainly because management don't know what they are doing). Inexperienced staff go from project to project making the same basic mistakes again and again, surprisingly get promoted to high positions only to lose the company money.

    Continue reading
    Bechtel2017-03-26

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 29 reviews