Bede Gaming Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

Bede Gaming Reviews

Updated 18 September 2017
25 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Dan Smyth
6 Ratings

25 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Hitting the ground running at Bede..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - In-House Counsel in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Current Employee - In-House Counsel in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bede Gaming part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent on-boarding, friendly people, relaxed atmosphere, good coffee.

    Cons

    None yet (only been here a few weeks!)

    Bede Gaming Response

    20 Sep 2017 – HR Manager

    Great! Always good to hear good things about the on-boarding process at Bede as a lot of work has gone into that area. We strongly agree that our people and coffee are awesome too.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Truth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bede Gaming full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Worked with some great people. They try to look after their employees with the occasional free lunch / breakfast. Free beers at half 4 on a Friday. Free phone (BUSINESS USE ONLY). Private healthcare.

    Cons

    It's just a bit meh. The work can get a bit boring just banging out one casino site after another. It also messed with my moral compass. I felt dirty. A Bede developer is like the Walter White of the software world. Sure, you get to work with some great tech and you're probably one of the best at what you do, but you're still peddling meth to addicts.

    Advice to Management

    Budget some pay rises. A below inflation raise isn't a raise. Also sack off the 'flat' structure. Some people are better than others and deserve to be recognised as senior devs.

    Bede Gaming Response

    15 Sep 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks for your review. We definitely agree with you that our people are awesome and can confirm that the free food, beer and breakfasts are most certainly the truth.

    The phone we give to all... More


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Was great when I worked there but did have some flaws unfortunately"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Former Employee - Developer in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bede Gaming full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Learned a lot working with a team who make use of modern technologies and trends. Free food and beers. Great nights out and social activities with the team.

    Cons

    Salary was poor, not competitive at all. Felt like my skills were worthless, even when it was pointed out to the MD. Was only offered a small rise when I resigned.

    Bare minimum annual leave is given to employees a year.

    Bede Gaming Response

    14 Sep 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks for the review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed the people and tech (and the food and beers of course) during your time at Bede. We put a lot of effort into ensuring our staff are well... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bede Gaming full-time

    Pros

    Modern tools and technologies. Relaxed and bright environment. A lot of nice events and great salary. You will work with many talented IT professionals

    Cons

    Too many distractions at work place that is usually because of large scale projects. Rather than that management is friendly and helpful.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going hire talented people

    Bede Gaming Response

    4 Aug 2017 – Bede Champion

    Hi thanks for your review. We try our hardest to stay up to date within the industry, and ensure that we can expose all our employees to the latest technologies.


  6. "Great Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bede Gaming full-time

    Pros

    Bede has a really good atmosphere about it, the open door policy is a nice touch, especially when you first join, you feel you have access to everyone in the business, no matter how senior and everyone is willing to help each other.

    People really like working here and it shows. The office is nice, which helps and it's great to be a part of a big company that is doing some innovative and challenging things in its industry.

    Staff are genuinely looked after. Everyone in the company is encouraged and valued and it feels like we're a part of something that's going to be massive, which really keeps you motivated.

    Cons

    The flat structure can mean that decisions are made by committee and are therefore fairly slow and sometimes not at all.

    It's not always clear where the career paths are or what is expected out of you. Great to be able to steer your role how you think it should go and shape it how you want but when you first start it can be stressful, trying to make sure you're going in the right direction or working on the right thing.

    Advice to Management

    None at this time - just teething issues as we grow from a start up to an SME. Keep going in the same direction, the right steps are being taken.

    Bede Gaming Response

    20 Jul 2017 – Bede Champion

    Hi, Thanks for your review, Its great to see all your positive comments. We recognize that at times the structure can create uncertainty, however this is something we are working to improve. :)


  7. "Working at Bede for 5 months as an Apprentice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Analyst in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Current Employee - QA Analyst in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bede Gaming full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Everyone is willing to help you improve
    - A lot of opportunities to learn about different parts of the business
    - Friendly working atmosphere
    - A lot of social events

    Cons

    Haven't been here long enough to see any cons of being at Bede

    Advice to Management

    Keep going the way that you are now and make Bede even greater place to be

    Bede Gaming Response

    4 Jul 2017 – Bede Champion

    Hi. Thanks for your review. It's great to see that you are enjoying the working environment at Bede. We really try hard to create a friendly and welcoming environment for all our employees.


  8. "A Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bede Gaming full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Great atmosphere and camaraderie
    - Good company benefits
    - Great office
    - The company is growing and addressing its processes
    - Constantly asking for feedback on how to improve thing's from its employees

    Cons

    - Difficult to identify career progression opportunities (However BEDE are actively working on ways to address this)

    Advice to Management

    - Keep doing what you are doing! BEDE is a great company.
    - Try to close the increasing gap between senior staff decisions and workers

    Bede Gaming Response

    13 Jul 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks for the review - great to hear you're enjoying life at Bede. We don't have well defined career paths at Bede (by design) but are work hard with individuals who express an ambition to progress... More


  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bede Gaming full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Smart and friendly co-workers
    - Approachable and helpful HR department
    - Good atmosphere and culture
    - Fabulous offices
    - Free snacks
    - Beer fridge fridays!

    Cons

    - Could do more to identify formal qualifications for non-technical members of staff

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing to make sure the culture stays as great as it is.

    Bede Gaming Response

    23 Jun 2017 – Bede Champion

    Thanks for your review. It's great to hear that you have lots of positives about Bede, formal qualifications is definitely something we value in all our employees. We do offer lots of initiatives to... More


  10. "Bede life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Delivery Engineer in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Current Employee - Service Delivery Engineer in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bede Gaming full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great teams and friendly staff.

    Beer fridge fridays!

    Company has an attitude where if you work hard you are rewarded with it which is great.

    Cons

    Dont really have any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing and keep life at bede great.

    Bede Gaming Response

    23 Jun 2017 – Bede Champion

    Great to hear that you're enjoying life at Bede! Thanks for your review.


  11. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bede Gaming full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Open culture
    Awesome people
    Forward thinking - no technology is off limits
    Flexible approach to working
    Great hardware
    HR team who actually care about the staff
    Approachable Executive team
    Slack
    Free food and snacks
    Awesome parties
    Nice benefits
    No red tape

    Cons

    It seems impossible to get the office temperature to suit everyone (I don't think this is an unusual problem in an office environment though)

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing - Bede is a fantastic place to work

    Bede Gaming Response

    23 Jun 2017 – Bede Champion

    Hi. Thanks for your review! It's great to hear that you have lots of positives about Bede. We agree about the office temperature, not sure how we'll solve that one! But if you're chilly you can wrap... More


Showing 25 of 25 reviews
Reset Filters