Bede Gaming Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Bede Gaming Reviews

Updated 24 April 2018
29 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Dan Smyth
9 Ratings

29 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Genuinely great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bede Gaming full-time

    Pros

    They listen to their employees and actively try to do something about the concerns that people raise.

    Promotion of mental wellbeing - who else does that?

    Food vans arranged are great, plus the food is on the company from time to time.

    Pretty flat hierarchy. More "leads" than "managers". Don't expect much red tape except that imposed by clients.

    A senior management team that understands the benefits of investing in dev teams and giving them autonomy rather than a top down flow of work.

    Cons

    Location isn't great but the company does their best with where they are.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Bede Gaming Response

    2 May 2018 – Bede Champion

    Hi. Thanks for your review :)

    Your comments about Bede are really positive, and we are really pleased you feel that way. Communication and creating an honest and open environment is really... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Perks, Cool Offices, Great People, Super work ethic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bede Gaming full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Great employment and office perks
    - Friendly, sociable team
    - Everyone is at the top of their game and supportive
    - This company is going places!

    Cons

    - Not a lot around the office location to do at lunch/after work.

    Bede Gaming Response

    16 Apr 2018 – Bede Champion

    Hi. Thanks for your review :) It's great to here you are excited about working at Bede, we are to! We appreciate there aren't many facilities close to the office, but we do organise daily food vans... More

  3. "Welcoming and fun place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    - The people.
    - The culture.
    - Free food and beer!
    - Company phone.
    - Great health care plan.
    - Genuine sense of being cared for and valued.
    - Good opportunities.
    - Lots of change and exciting things to come!

    Cons

    - Sometimes difficult communicating with senior management, not always clear where we stand.
    - Some uncertainty as to what will change as the business is growing.

    Advice to Management

    Better communication, but otherwise doing great!

    Bede Gaming Response

    26 Mar 2018 – HR Manager

    Thanks for your review - it's great to hear you have so many positive things to say about life at Bede. We know we're not perfect and working hard at getting better at communication across the... More


  4. "Decent people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bede Gaming full-time

    Pros

    Friendly staff, startup vibe, great teamwork

    Cons

    Little bit negative on the salary side, especially as some at the same level are varied to each other

    Advice to Management

    pay fairly

    Bede Gaming Response

    5 Mar 2018 – HR Manager

    Thanks for your review! We're sorry to hear you have a negative view of salary here at Bede - we do our best to reward people as fairly as possible.

    We do encourage all of our staff to take or HR... More


  5. "Feedback from a new starter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Current Employee - Finance in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bede Gaming full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Proactive and can-do attitude is prevalent throughout the business. Welcoming and inclusive culture. Great people to work with.

    Cons

    No real downsides, you need to be able to take accountability and ownership.

    Bede Gaming Response

    31 Oct 2017 – HR Manager

    Hi. Great to hear that you have lots of positives about Bede. We think it's a great place too! :)


  6. "Hitting the ground running at Bede..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - In-House Counsel in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Current Employee - In-House Counsel in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bede Gaming part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent on-boarding, friendly people, relaxed atmosphere, good coffee.

    Cons

    None yet (only been here a few weeks!)

    Bede Gaming Response

    20 Sep 2017 – HR Manager

    Great! Always good to hear good things about the on-boarding process at Bede as a lot of work has gone into that area. We strongly agree that our people and coffee are awesome too.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Truth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bede Gaming full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Worked with some great people. They try to look after their employees with the occasional free lunch / breakfast. Free beers at half 4 on a Friday. Free phone (BUSINESS USE ONLY). Private healthcare.

    Cons

    It's just a bit meh. The work can get a bit boring just banging out one casino site after another. It also messed with my moral compass. I felt dirty. A Bede developer is like the Walter White of the software world. Sure, you get to work with some great tech and you're probably one of the best at what you do, but you're still peddling meth to addicts.

    Advice to Management

    Budget some pay rises. A below inflation raise isn't a raise. Also sack off the 'flat' structure. Some people are better than others and deserve to be recognised as senior devs.

    Bede Gaming Response

    15 Sep 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks for your review. We definitely agree with you that our people are awesome and can confirm that the free food, beer and breakfasts are most certainly the truth.

    The phone we give to all... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Was great when I worked there but did have some flaws unfortunately"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Former Employee - Developer in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bede Gaming full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Learned a lot working with a team who make use of modern technologies and trends. Free food and beers. Great nights out and social activities with the team.

    Cons

    Salary was poor, not competitive at all. Felt like my skills were worthless, even when it was pointed out to the MD. Was only offered a small rise when I resigned.

    Bare minimum annual leave is given to employees a year.

    Bede Gaming Response

    14 Sep 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks for the review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed the people and tech (and the food and beers of course) during your time at Bede. We put a lot of effort into ensuring our staff are well... More


  9. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bede Gaming full-time

    Pros

    Modern tools and technologies. Relaxed and bright environment. A lot of nice events and great salary. You will work with many talented IT professionals

    Cons

    Too many distractions at work place that is usually because of large scale projects. Rather than that management is friendly and helpful.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going hire talented people

    Bede Gaming Response

    4 Aug 2017 – Bede Champion

    Hi thanks for your review. We try our hardest to stay up to date within the industry, and ensure that we can expose all our employees to the latest technologies.


  10. "Great Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bede Gaming full-time

    Pros

    Bede has a really good atmosphere about it, the open door policy is a nice touch, especially when you first join, you feel you have access to everyone in the business, no matter how senior and everyone is willing to help each other.

    People really like working here and it shows. The office is nice, which helps and it's great to be a part of a big company that is doing some innovative and challenging things in its industry.

    Staff are genuinely looked after. Everyone in the company is encouraged and valued and it feels like we're a part of something that's going to be massive, which really keeps you motivated.

    Cons

    The flat structure can mean that decisions are made by committee and are therefore fairly slow and sometimes not at all.

    It's not always clear where the career paths are or what is expected out of you. Great to be able to steer your role how you think it should go and shape it how you want but when you first start it can be stressful, trying to make sure you're going in the right direction or working on the right thing.

    Advice to Management

    None at this time - just teething issues as we grow from a start up to an SME. Keep going in the same direction, the right steps are being taken.

    Bede Gaming Response

    20 Jul 2017 – Bede Champion

    Hi, Thanks for your review, Its great to see all your positive comments. We recognize that at times the structure can create uncertainty, however this is something we are working to improve. :)


Showing 29 of 29 reviews
Reset Filters