Bermondsey Pub Company Reviews

Updated 3 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
51%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Bermondsey Pub Company Operations Director Henry Fairbanks (no image)
Henry Fairbanks
7 Ratings
  1. "A little over a month in, and still enjoying it!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 

    I have been working at Bermondsey Pub Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good opportunities to grow within the company

    Cons

    Age-dependent wages, starting at minimum wage

    Bermondsey Pub Company Response

    April 21, 2020

    Great to hear that you are enjoying working with Bermondsey Pubs. We are obviously going through some challenging times currently but are working hard to ensure that all of our team continue to feel connected. We can't wait to be back open for business! Kind regards, Sarah (Head of People)

  2. "Great support network"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bermondsey Pub Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very easy to make contact with whomever you need to get in contact with

    Cons

    there is a slight lack of structure

    Bermondsey Pub Company Response

    April 21, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, it is great to hear that overall you are enjoying working with Bermondsey Pubs. We take on board your feedback and will ensure we consider how we can improve this going forward. Kind regards, Sarah (Head of People)

  3. "Uncompetitive pay"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bermondsey Pub Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -50% off food and drink in all venues -great staff, (it’s a bar job so nothing special in the industry)

    Cons

    - get payed the least out of any pub/bar in my area - they play down the role you play in the kitchen, it’s a cheap way to hire kitchen staff as they are usually payed more to do so.. I read bar staff rotate - I have been In the company for nearly 2 years. When I was interviewed they said they were aiming to get all staff on the london living wage within two years. This has not happened -only pay rises I have received we’re mandated by increases in national minimum wage. -inflated london prices, but no compensated wages for staff living and working in london. -all the benefits to not match a fair wage for all staff. -paying minimum wage, but expecting more than minimum effort

    Continue reading

    Bermondsey Pub Company Response

    April 21, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, it is really important to us that we understand how our teams feel about working with Bermondsey pubs. Your feedback is really useful and we will ensure we consider the points that you have raised. Kind regards, Sarah (Head of People)

  4. "Need to pay attention to staff"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bermondsey Pub Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50% off discount across all pubs Flexible hours if needed

    Cons

    Very poor management Higher level management didnt care about any problems we brought to their attention. Blamed loss in profit on staff instead of changes made by the company that didn't suit the town the pub was situated in (ie bad food when next to fine dining restaurants)

    Continue reading

    Bermondsey Pub Company Response

    April 21, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry to hear that you felt that you did not get the support that you required from our management teams. We do work really hard to act on areas of concern that are raised by our teams and to ensure that our support teams are accessible to all. Kind regards, Sarah (Head of People)

  5. "Poor recruitment process"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bermondsey Pub Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unknown - but I am sure there is many.

    Cons

    Extremely poor recruitment process !

    Continue reading

    Bermondsey Pub Company Response

    December 5, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I apologise that you did not feel that this situation was dealt with as well as it could have been - we will review our ways of working to ensure we address your points. Kind regards, Sarah - Head of People

  6. "Good opportunity for growth"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bermondsey Pub Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always looking to add new pubs to their already impressive line-up. If you're looking for progression, this is the best news for you!

    Cons

    Long hours, but hey that's hospitality for you

    Continue reading

    Bermondsey Pub Company Response

    December 5, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review - we love to hear how our team feel about working with us. We do work hard to continually review how we look after our teams, if you have any specific suggestions, please let us know. Kind regards, Sarah - Head of People

  7. "Great"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bermondsey Pub Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing company with great oppurtunities.

    Cons

    Not really any cons other than long hours

    Bermondsey Pub Company Response

    October 16, 2019

    Thanks for your review. We love to hear that our team enjoy working with Bermondsey Pubs. We continually strive to ensure that Bermondsey Pubs is a great place to work so please do let us know if you have any thoughts on how we can further improve. Sarah Walters - HR Business Partner

  8. "Fun, but not great"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bermondsey Pub Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training, good pay, good fun

    Cons

    Don't let the managers manage. Too corporate

    Continue reading
  9. "Poor pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Bermondsey, England

    I worked at Bermondsey Pub Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy work, friendly co workers

    Cons

    bad pay, high staff turnover

    Bermondsey Pub Company Response

    April 29, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Feedback from our teams is really important and we will ensure that your comments are taken on board and taken into account for our future plans. Sarah Walters - HR Business Partner

  10. Helpful (1)

    "the best pubco I've found in over 20+yrs!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bermondsey Pub Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am treated very fairly, like a person, and not a number on a spreadsheet. Great Bonuses and incentives. very friendly head office team, ops directors etc. they know you by name, and know your staff. recognition and rewards are amazing. great perks. down to earth and approachable managers and OMs. we are given freedom to run our pubs, as we pretty much want to, as long as we stay within certain parameters. most places you have to follow strict guidelines, centralised initiatives. good payrates, holiday allowances etc.

    Cons

    not found any yet, and I have been here over two years.

    Continue reading

    Bermondsey Pub Company Response

    April 2, 2019

    Thanks for your review. It is always great to hear that our team enjoy working with Bermondsey Pubs. We are continually striving to ensure that Bermondsey Pubs is a great place to work, please always feed into any member of the team should you have any thoughts on how we can further improve. Sarah Walters - HR Business Partner

Found 16 reviews