Best Learning Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Best Learning Reviews

Updated 20 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Best Learning CEO and Board Director Vivian Feng (no image)
Vivian Feng
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Salary: the money at Best Learning is quite good(in 14 reviews)

  • "China can be wonderful place to live(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Foreign teachers have limited room for growth - only teachers, or head teacher(in 16 reviews)

  • "I found him to be a great friend and Middle Man while living in China(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Brilliant, Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Best Learning full-time

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, great atmosphere to teach, professional teaching aids.

    Cons

    No real cons at all

    Continue reading
    Best Learning2018-05-03
  2. "OK company, very location dependent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager in Beijing, Beijing
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Learning full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Always pays -Nice yearly bonuses -Can make good money if you stick with the company for a few years -Takes care of their employees regarding police or local laws -Lots of good kids -Solid lesson plan provided -Good healthcare reimbursement (no visual, or dental) -Second shift, good work/life balance -Teachers generally care about the kids and the job -Excellent support from Chinese staff -Free (basic) Chinese classes -Fun dinners/team building/parties/outings with center

    Cons

    -Experiences may vary wildly with center, where you are placed, and respective management -New contracts don't pay based on how many hours you teach -Not very diverse -Unless you want to be a teacher, no career opportunities -Saturdays and Sundays are BUSY -Senior management is marketing/sales/investors, the children are NOT the priority

    Continue reading
    Best Learning2020-02-20
  3. "Started off rough and ended less rough."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Teacher in Qingdao, Shandong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Learning for less than a year

    Pros

    The people I worked with were really nice.

    Cons

    Management doesn't know what they're doing at all.

    Continue reading
    Best Learning2020-02-08
  4. "My Honest Review Teaching Abroad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Teacher in Beijing, Beijing
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary: the money at Best Learning is quite good. It may not be great at the start, it really all depends on your qualifications. Regardless of your qualifications the company does a great job at rewarding employees. Their raises, incentives, and bonuses are the best in China. (You can make a lot of money and live quite comfortably if you are responsible and work hard). Because of the salary and consistency Best Learning is a great place to start in China. Work Environment: The work environment is great. Most of my employees are very helpful and open minded, they also do a good job at helping you feel welcome as well as making sure you are doing okay in China outside of work. Though I would warn those who work at a smaller center may have a different experience or if they simply work at a center where the employees are not as friendly. It really all depends on the center you work at. But please be sure to communicate with your colleagues. Make sure you ask questions and to seek help when you need it. Healthy relationships at work are huge in terms of having a good experience in China. These relationships can also help your living situation outside of work. Ask questions and don't be afraid to reach out. Key information can make all the difference. So ask questions and make sure you understand how to live outside of work. Ask questions relating to food, transportation, mobile service, wechat (facebook), Didi (Uber), etc. China can be wonderful place to live! Don't believe in all the fake news about China. Some of the greatest people I have met are Chinese. :) Work Load: The work load at Best Learning can be quite low or quite high depending on how many classes you have. The more classes the more money; less classes less money. I would advise newcomers who don't have much experience teaching in China to start out with 5 classes and work your way up. Too many classes can be to overwhelming and could possibly lead one to want go back home to soon. Make sure you complete at least one year in China. I found it a great experience because it helped me grow a lot as a person. Lets just say I am more aware of the world around me and have gained an appreciation for other cultures and peoples around the world. Its very rewarding in that hind sight. So if your load is too much be sure to let your principal know. They are there to help you have a great experience. In the Classroom: Teaching children in China has been a great reward for me. At first it is a little different therefore it can feel awkward and challenging (this is a normal feeling). Though with time it becomes quite fun, and becomes easier as you gain more and more experience. My best advice is that you observe as many classes as you can. Your colleagues are your best tools in becoming a great teacher. Don't be afraid to use their teaching tactics and classroom managing skills in your classroom. Also be sure to ask questions about how to use the electronic white board. Ask questions about everything and don't be afraid of failing! Every teacher is not perfect. As long as your growing you will be fine. Most importantly communicate with your Chinese Teacher, they can make your life so much simpler and easier, it just requires you to communicate properly. Teaching in the classroom was my favorite part about China. You will build many wonderful relationships with your students and it is a joy to see them grow! :)

    Cons

    Management: The Management can be a problem within the company. A lot of that is because of the language barrier as well as the different cultural influences on one another. Therefore many issues can arise from both parties that can lead to confusion, discomfort, and division. So I would advise if one has any problems to be sure to contact the headquarters of the company. When you do, ask for Jeremy. He is the Director and has lived in America for 10 years. He is very patient and he does his best to understand both parties. I found him to be a great friend and Middle Man while living in China. Again any issues don't fret, its most likely a communication error that can be resolved easily with patience and understanding on both sides. I cannot stress how important this is!

    Continue reading
    Best Learning2020-01-08
  5. "ILLEGAL TERMINATION AND DISGUSTING MISUSE OF POWER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Foreign Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Best Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The students I had were the only reason I stayed with the company.

    Cons

    I had developed a large tumour and had to fly back to my home country for surgery. The company decided to fire me for this. I had worked there for 3 years and all of my students and their parents loved having me as their teacher; some parents even asked to have me privately tutor their children. I had broke my back over trying to improve this terrible company. I only gave this corrupt company 1 star because there was no 0 star option. I worked over 50 hours a week with no compensation of overtime whatsoever. I have never been so disrespected by a company I LOVED working for.

    Continue reading
    Best Learning2020-01-14
  6. "Feeling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Foreign Affairs in Beijing, Beijing
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Learning full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    International enviroment and nice coworkers

    Cons

    Office only, some times it makes people boring

    Continue reading
    Best Learning2019-11-04
  7. "Apathetic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Learning full-time

    Pros

    -the pay is spectacular and really competitive in the world of ESL teaching -they give many bonuses and incentive to finish your yearly contracts -it is an easy job, if you don’t care about quality of education (unfortunately this is not me) -the hours are nice if you don’t like waking up early many days a week

    Cons

    -they don’t care much about individual success of teachers -they don’t put a lot of work into developing or fixing curriculum and if you email them with issues or mistakes in the lessons, nothing is done about it -students are consistently thrown into classes way beyond their level simply because it’s the only time that could fit their schedule and the teachers just have to accept it. -Majority of Chinese Teachers in my center cannot speak English well, and it is impossibly frustrating to work with them in an ESL environment -our regional manager and principal cannot speak any English and therefor do not interact with foreign teachers, which is an odd dynamic -our principal is also head of the course consultants which means she focuses on money and not quality of academics or quality of teachers -we have a very unprofessional work environment with teachers constantly using profane language in don’t of children and Management does nothing about it -my days off are not together (Monday and Thursday)

    Continue reading
    Best Learning2019-11-06
  8. "Well Paid and Simple Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Foreign Teacher in Beijing, Beijing
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is pretty competitive with other ESL schools. In reality, the job is extremely simple. You sign in to work, you check the pre-made lesson plan, you grab the appropriate flashcards, and when the time comes, you go and teach the class for an hour and a half. Provided your Chinese teacher isn't too obsessive over the exact details you won't have any problems. The barrier for entry isn't exactly over the moon or anything. Show up and time and teach your classes and you should be just fine.

    Cons

    Management can vary from center to center. My center was well run and the admins were understanding of any issues the foreign teachers had. HR can sometimes seem a bit obtuse on occasion, but during my time there they made clear attempts to improve.

    Continue reading
    Best Learning2019-10-05
  9. "Always paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Foreign Teacher in Beijing, Beijing
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Honestly, the job is not difficult. Kids are adorable, especially the very young ones. The curriculum may not be great, but it's there for teachers to start with. The company has always paid on time. There are some legitimate complaints, but valid ones are _usually_ more just annoyances rather than genuine mistreatment.

    Cons

    Depending on which center you work at, the immediate management can be unethical and deceitful. Foreign teachers have limited room for growth - only teachers, or head teacher. Work hours aren't great - basically everyone works 8:30-6pm or later weekends, and weekdays often afternoon until 8:30pm. Two days off aren't necessarily consecutive.

    Continue reading
    Best Learning2019-09-25
  10. "Don't waste your time - you don't need the added stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ningbo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Learning part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The teacher assistants are nice and the kids are cute.

    Cons

    First and foremost, the center I am referring to is one in Ningbo, China - not Beijing. I had an extremely stressful experience there. To begin with, management is absolute trash. The owner doesn't even speak English, and any talk with him needs to be through WeChat translate. The manager has emotional issues and lacks professionalism when dealing with foreign teachers. They are rude, incoherent and racist. When asked questions, they get aggressive, point a finger in your face and raise their voice unnecessarily. I don't know where they have qualifications from but it surely shouldn't be valid for a renowned English training school, as all its marketing says it is. The management from the Ningbo school also hires unqualified teachers, me included! I have teaching experience but I am not certified with a degree or with TEFL. The Chinese teachers they have there also speak poor English and DO NOT know how to handle or educate kids. It's an absolute disaster and such a pity because the place itself is super nice and welcoming. Working full-time is also a waste of time because they do nothing the whole day. During the week there is one class per day, and during the weekends there is one class and maybe a demo. Throughout the rest of the hours, people are just on their phones doing who knows what. Management included. They sit around looking out the window all the time.

    Continue reading
    Best Learning2019-10-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 89 reviews