Best Learning "china" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Best Learning Employee Reviews about "china"

Updated 8 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Best Learning CEO and Board Director Vivian Feng (no image)
Vivian Feng
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Salary: the money at Best Learning is quite good(in 14 reviews)

  • "China can be wonderful place to live(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Foreign teachers have limited room for growth - only teachers, or head teacher(in 16 reviews)

  • "I found him to be a great friend and Middle Man while living in China(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "china"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "My Honest Review Teaching Abroad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Teacher in Beijing, Beijing
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary: the money at Best Learning is quite good. It may not be great at the start, it really all depends on your qualifications. Regardless of your qualifications the company does a great job at rewarding employees. Their raises, incentives, and bonuses are the best in China. (You can make a lot of money and live quite comfortably if you are responsible and work hard). Because of the salary and consistency Best Learning is a great place to start in China. Work Environment: The work environment is great. Most of my employees are very helpful and open minded, they also do a good job at helping you feel welcome as well as making sure you are doing okay in China outside of work. Though I would warn those who work at a smaller center may have a different experience or if they simply work at a center where the employees are not as friendly. It really all depends on the center you work at. But please be sure to communicate with your colleagues. Make sure you ask questions and to seek help when you need it. Healthy relationships at work are huge in terms of having a good experience in China. These relationships can also help your living situation outside of work. Ask questions and don't be afraid to reach out. Key information can make all the difference. So ask questions and make sure you understand how to live outside of work. Ask questions relating to food, transportation, mobile service, wechat (facebook), Didi (Uber), etc. China can be wonderful place to live! Don't believe in all the fake news about China. Some of the greatest people I have met are Chinese. :) Work Load: The work load at Best Learning can be quite low or quite high depending on how many classes you have. The more classes the more money; less classes less money. I would advise newcomers who don't have much experience teaching in China to start out with 5 classes and work your way up. Too many classes can be to overwhelming and could possibly lead one to want go back home to soon. Make sure you complete at least one year in China. I found it a great experience because it helped me grow a lot as a person. Lets just say I am more aware of the world around me and have gained an appreciation for other cultures and peoples around the world. Its very rewarding in that hind sight. So if your load is too much be sure to let your principal know. They are there to help you have a great experience. In the Classroom: Teaching children in China has been a great reward for me. At first it is a little different therefore it can feel awkward and challenging (this is a normal feeling). Though with time it becomes quite fun, and becomes easier as you gain more and more experience. My best advice is that you observe as many classes as you can. Your colleagues are your best tools in becoming a great teacher. Don't be afraid to use their teaching tactics and classroom managing skills in your classroom. Also be sure to ask questions about how to use the electronic white board. Ask questions about everything and don't be afraid of failing! Every teacher is not perfect. As long as your growing you will be fine. Most importantly communicate with your Chinese Teacher, they can make your life so much simpler and easier, it just requires you to communicate properly. Teaching in the classroom was my favorite part about China. You will build many wonderful relationships with your students and it is a joy to see them grow! :)

    Cons

    Management: The Management can be a problem within the company. A lot of that is because of the language barrier as well as the different cultural influences on one another. Therefore many issues can arise from both parties that can lead to confusion, discomfort, and division. So I would advise if one has any problems to be sure to contact the headquarters of the company. When you do, ask for Jeremy. He is the Director and has lived in America for 10 years. He is very patient and he does his best to understand both parties. I found him to be a great friend and Middle Man while living in China. Again any issues don't fret, its most likely a communication error that can be resolved easily with patience and understanding on both sides. I cannot stress how important this is!

    Continue reading
    Best Learning2020-01-08
  2. "Don't waste your time - you don't need the added stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ningbo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Learning part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The teacher assistants are nice and the kids are cute.

    Cons

    First and foremost, the center I am referring to is one in Ningbo, China - not Beijing. I had an extremely stressful experience there. To begin with, management is absolute trash. The owner doesn't even speak English, and any talk with him needs to be through WeChat translate. The manager has emotional issues and lacks professionalism when dealing with foreign teachers. They are rude, incoherent and racist. When asked questions, they get aggressive, point a finger in your face and raise their voice unnecessarily. I don't know where they have qualifications from but it surely shouldn't be valid for a renowned English training school, as all its marketing says it is. The management from the Ningbo school also hires unqualified teachers, me included! I have teaching experience but I am not certified with a degree or with TEFL. The Chinese teachers they have there also speak poor English and DO NOT know how to handle or educate kids. It's an absolute disaster and such a pity because the place itself is super nice and welcoming. Working full-time is also a waste of time because they do nothing the whole day. During the week there is one class per day, and during the weekends there is one class and maybe a demo. Throughout the rest of the hours, people are just on their phones doing who knows what. Management included. They sit around looking out the window all the time.

    Continue reading
    Best Learning2019-10-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Beijing, Beijing
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Best Learning full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Got me a work visa. Teaching is super fun. Good pay

    Cons

    First month in China can be rough

    Continue reading
    Best Learning2019-08-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "You either work illegally for them or leave China"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Foreign Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Best Learning full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    After all the crap I experienced at this company I honestly see no pros

    Cons

    No proper work visas are given They don't care about the kids learning, just how much their parents will pay The company illegally denies you release papers needed to work somewhere else in China Company HR is run by people who know nothing about working with people Chinese teachers work harder and longer hours and don't get paid overtime for it HR has no common sense when they expect you to take a train from Shanghai to Beijing for something, then take a train back to Shanghai so you can teach the next day

    Continue reading
    Best Learning2019-08-19
  5. Helpful (2)

    "A Life Changing Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Teacher in Beijing, Beijing
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Best Learning full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I want to preface my pros by saying in no uncertain terms that Best Learning English changed my life. Simply put leaving my home and joining this company has easily been the best decision I have made thus far in my life. While not everything is perfect (which I will get into in the cons), this is a good company and one I very much encourage you to consider joining. Pros -Always paid on time and for the most part properly, the one or two times an error was made, they were quickly rectified. This has matched any other experiences I have had with a corporation of this size. -The flexibility to adapt the classroom to your personal style of teaching. While Best Learning does provide a very good curriculum for their teachers, they also encourage free expression of your teaching style and have always been open to any suggestions upon improvement. You get out of it what you put into it I always say, and I appreciate that freedom in my classes. Other places I have worked at have been very rigid and that took a lot of my joy out of the teaching process. -Lots of hours available if you want them. Now this one can only come from my experience at a larger center, but for the most part I have had as many hours as I wanted to keep me happy and my pockets well filled. -The pay is excellent. I've been reading some of the different negative posts on here and I have no idea what people are talking about when it comes to pay. The starting salary is quite good, add that with the ability to make more on the hours you have and various bonuses, you can make a great salary. -Hard work is very much acknowledged and appreciated. I have once again been reading the negative reviews that have commented upon the "popular" teachers get more hours and less work. I can't speak to that as to why you may have considered yourself unpopular, but my experience has been that if you work hard to be a great teacher, you will be "popular" simple as that. I have worked with well over 100 teachers in my time here and those that work hard and treat this as a job and not simply Spring Break, tend to find significant success. Who knew right? -Additional opportunities. There are plenty of different opportunities available within this company if you are willing to work hard and have the gumption to do it. I have known many people to transition to different positions in the company as well as continue working online for Best Learning even after leaving China. I personally presented an idea and created my own job within the company. There are people here who know a good idea when they hear it and are very open to trying something new. -My new family. I can't overstate this enough, but coming here has given me an entirely new family of friends and loved ones. We work together, we party together, we share milestones and holidays together. How is this anything less than a family and frankly I love my family of other foreign teachers and Chinese coworkers. You are one of the many reasons I am happy to wake up in the morning and come to work. -Connections. As an addendum to the previous pro, with all my new friends from across the globe, many have since gone home to their respective countries. I now have places and people that I can come visit in dozens of countries. People who will break bread with me and show me the real "wherever". In addition to that, the bigger your personal network is, the more future opportunities you have. I have since begun working on an external business with one of my close friends through Best Learning since she left. This is simply an opportunity I wouldn't have had if I had stayed in Canada. -An incredible amount of holidays and time off. Sure from what I have read some schools are better and some are worse. But frankly in Canada I had two weeks off a year. At Best Learning I easily get five to six. Now I understand that other countries have a higher amount of weeks off than Canada, but screw it I count this as a blessing. Since coming out here I have had the opportunity to travel to Thailand (four times), Hong Kong (three times), Macau, Viet Nam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, various major cities in China, and once again be saving lots of money every month. I really don't understand the haters out there saying we don't get time off. I assume that they are misconstruing the facts or simply expect that this isn't a job and should be allowed to travel at their whim. -Now there are certainly more pros associated with coming to China and blah blah blah, but those aren't attributed specifically to Best Learning. That being said China is an incredible country and I highly suggest that you take the plunge.

    Cons

    Onto the cons, now just like with the last set I want to preface this section a bit. I have been reading a lot of the reviews both positive and negative on here and I will be commenting on some of those specific cons. I know that based upon my score and pros section you might think I am just a company boy towing the line. I'm genuinely not. There are cons to be found, that being said I feel based upon my previous life experiences both back home and here in China that these cons are not Best Learning specific, but more from a corporate culture that frankly many people are not used to and try to place the blame in the wrong place. -Lack of representation at head quarters. I think this is probably the biggest con and simplest one to fix. Basically we as foreigners don't have anyone at HQ with whom we can talk to who understands our perspectives and ways of thinking. Someone who can bridge the gap between East and West. I feel after reading all of these reviews that in many of the cases, had someone been there to smooth out any confusions or let's face it fears that we as foreigners have and at the same time been able to stand up for the person having the issues. These problems would not have escalated and simply been sorted out. I have seen first hand a few problems that were tiny, spiral out of control because the teacher didn't have someone they felt understood their perspective and ultimately ended in a good teacher leaving with a sour taste in their mouths. -Not having weekends off. Now this is a fair con, that I have seen here often. That being said it is simply the nature of the beast. We are not a 9-5 school, we are an after hours private school. If you want to have your weekends, you'll need to find a different sort of school. However if you simply want to days off in a row to act as a "weekend", that is very achievable. Otherwise we all still have ample time to enjoy the city and our adventures here in China. Additionally there are like six three day weekends over the course of the year in which you can still participate in weekend fun. -A disconnect between management and teachers. Now this one is entirely on a school to school basis, but yes I do understand some of the feelings of other posters. One important thing to remember is that these principals or people in management are not from our home country, in many cases they have never left China or Asia. English is not their first language. This can be very challenging for someone who has teachers upset with them as they might not entirely understand what you are saying or if they do, they don't understand the reasoning of the issue. Again this circles back to having a mediator that people can speak with at HQ. Remember above all else that the management here are people just like us, if you can make an effort to understand, they too will make an effort. -The legality of things. Now I want to talk about the elephant in the room when it comes to being a legal worker in China. I won't lie, sometimes you are, sometimes you aren't. It is simply the nature of the country. This is simply no different here compared to any other company, unless of course you get into those extremely few places that happen to be 100%. Those places however you need to be of the utmost perfection yourself. Years of experience, bachelors degree, teaching licence, the works. Beyond those things, those places rarely if ever are hiring as the teachers who do get in stay for many many many years. To the reports of people being raided and taken away with no help from management. I have been here for a long time, in that time we have actually been raided a total of zero times, there have been two times where we were warned appropriately and no one came. In all the time I have been here I have only ever heard of two people actually being taken. One was very much due to that teachers error in speaking with the police that came, the other wasn't. Regardless Best Learning absolutely supported them and made sure that they were released properly. I can't state this enough, this is China. The rules here are naturally different, but this is not a Best Learning exclusive issue. Anywhere it can happen, and from talking to friends at other place, yes those places can let you down. But here in my many years of experience, it simply hasn't been relevant. -Lack of supplies. Okay this is a fair one, at times when you look at our lesson plans or curriculum it can ask for teaching supplies that we simply don't have easy access to. But, and I can't say but loudly enough, speak to any teacher in North America, it's a school problem, not a Best Learning exclusive problem. What schools don't have supplies??? This is a tale as old as schools. This comes down to your own personal resourcefulness as a teacher to adjust and pivot as necessary. This is why we are teachers, not just to follow a plan, but to find the most effective way to communicate and educate our point. -The nay sayers. To qualify here, when I say nay sayer. It's those individuals with whom left Best Learning, before their contracts completion and didn't like the results of that. Like having issues with a new job or having to reimburse money to the company that was loaned to them. Absolutely and unequivocally ridiculous as far as I am concerned. This con really isn't directed to the company, but to those who choose to misrepresent their time here by attacking and over embellishing what happen on this site or similar ones like it. Nineteen out of twenty times there is an issue with someone leaving, it came down to their personal failures as a teacher and them expecting the world to be handed to them and throwing a fit when it wasn't. My final note on this topic is that I do recognize I haven't worked at every single school here, that is simply impossible. I'm confident that there are periodic issues at schools here and there. The main point is to be respectful and to work towards solving these problems, not just complaining and allowing these annoyances to fester and grow. We are personally responsible for seeing the change we want to see in the world around us, and yes sometimes that does mean rolling up our respective sleeves and working hard.

    Continue reading
    Best Learning2018-10-11
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Good place for new teachers not so great for ANY ONE else."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Foreign Language Teacher in Beijing, Beijing
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    For the most part a stable income with high “taxes” to pay You can meet students and parents who really value their education Build or join a helpful expat community with coworkers Gain teaching experience Figure out what you really want to do in your career Meet hardworking good Chinese employees.

    Cons

    I worked there for 3 years and other than the wonderful connections I made with students and (some) colleagues, best learning is definitely NOT the place to work for if you are an experienced professional who wants to grow in a company and be treated with equality. I don’t regret choosing this school, because the hiring process was quick and they kept word to majority of their contracts but after I really thought about the promises they made in general, the ones they couldn’t keep are actually important for example, (I was never picked up at the airport as they stated they would) because they accidentally forgot and went to lunch (my recruiters) and I was promised If i wanted to relocate out of the city they can immediately transfer you with no problems but after three years of experience with this school, and one year trying to relocate to a different center I found out it’s a completely false statement they promise at the beginning of your hiring process . Centers are managed by districts and if you want to ever relocate it’s nearly impossible to since headquarters takes pay out of the managers. So to put it simply once you are placed in a center you are held there captive unless you quit and get rehired and have a good connection with a higher up. Also just like many training schools in China in the end it’s just a business and they don’t care about an individual class or students education progress no matter how loyal they are to the school. if they can’t keep up with the high tuition fees they are kicked to the side to sign up more new students. I saw early on that the younger the students are,the more chance of them to sign up and pay for 2-4 years extra before they even can get a feel of the school. Yes it’s true now they are hiring foreigners who can pretend to be American or Canadian but I feel that is a smaller issue compared to how they pay and treat their chinese employees. Teachers with the same tasks and extra work of communicating with parents and doing paper work get paid not even a quarter of what a foreign teacher will make, and if you have any compassion inside of you, you will feel guilty when you see the other teachers treating them like assistants when these Chinese teachers in fact have their English degrees and some foreign teachers don’t even have a proper visa.. Though many new Chinese employees cannot speak English even at basic level, that is the hiring staffs issue to fix. To summarize my three years I’ll tell you this : my first year was exciting and thrilling and everything felt new and I felt I could create so much with my lesson plans . My second year I felt more like I wanted to be a better teacher so I tried my best and reached all the bonuses and thought if I worked hard enough I could even become a head foreign teacher or someone who can do more than just show up to class. But on my Third year I realized I was treated the exact same way no matter if I showed up late and did the bare minimum or I worked my butt off to be the best teacher, I received nothing, as in no position to grow, and that was my biggest struggle with this job. I know teachers who are on their fifth year and are still doing the same (being treated the same as the newer teachers considering their schedules and vice versa .) In the past you had to work hard and earn the older leveled classes, nowadays best learning is lacking so many teachers whatever classes your given, your just meant to fill the space. I know when I left my center about 5 teachers we’re leaving in the coming months and one teacher who left a month before me still had three classes open and no one available to help out. Not even the centers nearby were willing to help. So if you choose this job i just wish you the best of luck and hope you have your own way of dealing with these matters. I am naturally a patient person and it took me three years to really open my eyes and see there are many other schools or job opportunities that pay similar but with less stress involved.

    Continue reading
    Best Learning2018-09-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Best learning is a good comany and its very professioinal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Teacher in Beijing, Beijing
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Best Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All the stuff there are nice that everyone speaks English and the centre is so modern. Thats a good experience

    Cons

    This is the fist job that I did in China and its a new and good thing for me. All the kids are nice and cute

    Continue reading
    Best Learning2018-08-30
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Disorganized and Disrespectful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Foreign Language Teacher in Beijing, Beijing
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Best Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My Western head manager was great, all things considered.

    Cons

    AVOID these criminals. The school has a rough appearance of having its act together (ie, smart boards in every room, “training”, exc), but appearances are where the professionalism ends. You may or may not have your documents processed legally or professionally. I learned after processing that my Z visa was illegal. Additionally, several staff were stranded outside of China during the processing of their documents and had to pay for the whole ordeal (if you think two weeks in HK is inexpensive, I have sad news for you). One center was raided by the police. Standards for students are not exactly high, either. Because the place is just a white monkey market, foreign teachers are pretty much guaranteed to get away with anything—up to and including teaching while drunk or high. Imagine the implications of that in a room with scared second-language toddlers and some dopey CT who has no idea what is happening either. One teacher dropped a kid on her head while drunk teaching! All in all, it was a thoroughly irresponsible and disrespectful place that obviously only cares about taking money from wealthy people stupid enough to believe that white teachers+ smartboard=school.

    Continue reading
    Best Learning2018-08-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Rewarding and you can make a lot of money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Best Learning full-time

    Pros

    Great pay and bonuses Gifts and trips from the school Adorable kids Fun work environment

    Cons

    You just have to be ready to live in China

    Best Learning2018-05-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Foreign Language Teacher in Beijing, Beijing
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Best Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Professional training was provided at the very beginning when I arrived in China, made teaching much easier and enjoyable.

    Cons

    No cons found for me

    Best Learning2018-05-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 24 reviews