Birmingham City University Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Birmingham City University Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Birmingham City University CEO Graham Upton
Graham Upton
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working hours available to you(in 4 reviews)

  • "Great team , friendly, approachable and always willing to help out(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management could improve their relation to the educational staff(in 6 reviews)

  • "The Uni of Bham have much better ratings than BCU(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Demonstrator in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Birmingham City University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Fair work Great people to work with

    Cons

    Not enough hours (demonstrating) due to university policy students can only take 6hrs per week but getting 6 is rare

    Advice to Management

    Offer more hours to less people.

    Birmingham City University2019-04-09
  2. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Lecturer in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Birmingham City University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really love working here

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    Birmingham City University2019-09-18
  3. "Started great, ended badly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enablement Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Birmingham City University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, great environment, a lot of staff really care about the students

    Cons

    Constant restructures means turnovernl is high, and hard to replace experienced staff who leave due to lack of appreciation of their hard work

    Advice to Management

    Constant restructures are destroying the morale of staff, make a plan and stick to it for longer than an academic year

    Birmingham City University2019-09-18
  4. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Lecturer 

    I have been working at Birmingham City University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place to work in terms of support

    Cons

    Too many desk managers trying to micro manage staff

    Advice to Management

    Not good to micro manage staff

    Birmingham City University2019-08-18
  5. "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Birmingham City University full-time

    Pros

    Great staff, very friendly. Overall great working envrionement

    Cons

    no cons at the moment

    Birmingham City University2019-06-14
  6. "Not bad but not amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Ambassador 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Birmingham City University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great environment and nice people

    Cons

    Some of my shifts were not paid... even if I did appear that I was

    Birmingham City University2019-05-19
  7. "student experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Birmingham City University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great learning environment to learn with pepole

    Cons

    not a lot of academic guidance with regards to future plans

    Birmingham City University2019-04-27
  8. "Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Birmingham City University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good holiday allowance, salary increase every year providing positive annual review, positive and supportive work team.

    Cons

    Can be a lonely job especially if you have your own workshop space. If you are from a commercial environment you may find it hard as it is a much slower pace and less work and can be rather boring because of this. A fair bit of paperwork involved as well in the form of standard operating procedures and risk assessments. The slow pace of the university can cause problems especially with suppliers and getting... machinery serviced. Relationships I've had with suppliers commercially have unfortunately been ruined due to finance not paying them on time. I am treated like a bad customer now and have to ensure payments are made upfront before I receive goods. The slow pace means machinery is out of use for months on end. I've waited almost a year for a machine to be installed and a colleague has be out of service for longer waiting for their workshop to be re installed to health and safety guidelines. That can make the job rather soul destroying as you get to a point where you do feel what's the point, which is why I wouldn't recommend. Too many people involved with processes.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None - my direct management have been good at supporting me where they can. Higher up I would advise that their are too many people involved with processes and this needs to be streamlined to create a more efficient workplace.

    Birmingham City University2019-04-11
  9. "Was meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Electronics Engineer 

    I worked at Birmingham City University full-time

    Pros

    Alright uni for electronic engineering but staff need to learn how to code.

    Cons

    Staff are greatly under prepared and have next to no idea what is going on outside.

    Advice to Management

    Spend more money on millennium point instead of build a "art collage"

    Birmingham City University2019-04-09
  10. "Overall good working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Birmingham City University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good facilities, access to resources, new buildings. My supervisors and colleagues are great.

    Cons

    Management lacks common sense, parking at city south campus is ridiculous, too much attention is given to paperwork and tick box exercises.

    Birmingham City University2019-03-13
Found 67 reviews