BlackBerry Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BlackBerry Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1986 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
BlackBerry CEO John Chen
John Chen
638 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Beta Software Test Student (Co-op)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beta Software Test Student in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely loved working there, the environment is very ripe with opportunity and the support provided by my immediate leaders was great. I was able to pitch an idea and see it come to life within my tenure which was awesome to witness. John Chen was always very welcoming and honest about where the company stood and thats what I loved the most, honesty with a gameplan.

    Cons

    None, I absolutely loved it,

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    BlackBerry2018-10-15
  2. "Good Company, Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Systems Developer in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worked on a great team, good perks employees are well looked after

    Cons

    salary a little below average progression is slow

    Advice to Management

    Bring back BlackBerry phones

    BlackBerry2019-07-15
  3. "Old fashioned company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Operations in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Location in London is great, 5 min walk to Covent Garden and a lot of theatres nearby. The office is opposite Somerset House with multiple transport links.

    Cons

    The decision making process is really long and the information is locked down within small groups of people. Communication across whole organisation needs to improved. No career progression but interview process is time consuming.

    Advice to Management

    Please open up to your employees and show your interest in them.

    BlackBerry2019-10-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "I can't see a bright future here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Technical heritage still pretty strong, lots of IP.

    Cons

    Management and Top Management disconnected from employees.

    Advice to Management

    Share value can't be the only target company has

    BlackBerry2019-09-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Declining company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Operations Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good portfolio just not integrated

    Cons

    Lack of investment in product

    Advice to Management

    Investment in product and sales team

    BlackBerry2019-09-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "European mess / No clear strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation, good people are still around.

    Cons

    EMEA management is a mess. Very aggressive towards employees. Management by fear is the standard. Marketing is allocated to the UK where most of the revenue is generated and all other countries are dragging behind. Good members of the top management are moving away.

    BlackBerry2019-08-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Low Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nothing I can think of.

    Cons

    Too much to do and management does not understand the employees needs. Very hectic environment. Upper management in US/Canada controls everything and senior management in UK are very scared to lose their jobs so they avoid to tell the reality to them. Senior Manager of Enterprise support keeps sitting in front of computer and does not even bother to talk to the department on daily basis.

    Advice to Management

    Try to convey the message to US/Canadian management instead of

    BlackBerry2019-08-23
  8. "Good company. Constantly changing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager 

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time

    Pros

    Good package, leadership has been consistent for some years.

    Cons

    Significant transformation has taken place and likely will continue. That's quite normal these days, but difficult if you're not comfortable with change,

    BlackBerry2019-06-25
  9. "Leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch, great office location.

    Cons

    How long have you got?

    BlackBerry2019-07-12
  10. "Once a titan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time

    Pros

    Great OS, software devices, culture

    Cons

    Felt down for lack of investment at the right time

    Advice to Management

    Too late.

    BlackBerry2019-05-13
Found 1986 reviews