BlackBerry Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BlackBerry Reviews

Updated 25 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1931 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
BlackBerry CEO John Chen
John Chen
620 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Blackberry was dying at the time(in 119 reviews)

  • "Senior Management had their own views and didn't listen to middle/lower management and engineers(in 59 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Beta Software Test Student (Co-op)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beta Software Test Student in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely loved working there, the environment is very ripe with opportunity and the support provided by my immediate leaders was great. I was able to pitch an idea and see it come to life within my tenure which was awesome to witness. John Chen was always very welcoming and honest about where the company stood and thats what I loved the most, honesty with a gameplan.

    Cons

    None, I absolutely loved it,

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    BlackBerry2018-10-15
  2. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - National Account Manager in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Management Good working culture Open enviroment Learn things

    Cons

    I cannot say there is anything for a CON.

    Advice to Management

    None

    BlackBerry2019-02-05
  3. "Good company. Constantly changing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager 

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time

    Pros

    Good package, leadership has been consistent for some years.

    Cons

    Significant transformation has taken place and likely will continue. That's quite normal these days, but difficult if you're not comfortable with change,

    BlackBerry2019-06-25
  4. "Once a titan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time

    Pros

    Great OS, software devices, culture

    Cons

    Felt down for lack of investment at the right time

    Advice to Management

    Too late.

    BlackBerry2019-05-13
  5. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, products, people, technology, bonus

    Cons

    Red tape, convoluted process, uncertainty,

    BlackBerry2019-03-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Look out for number one"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time

    Pros

    Location and not much else

    Cons

    Marketing (external perception, prospective customer data,) Ineffective management Fear-based workplace Poor strategy/planning on departmental level Software/Hardware strategy

    BlackBerry2018-12-28
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Forget about working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people, but they have all left now

    Cons

    If you value your sanity, you would think twice about working here. The people are nice, but the management will push you to breaking point and then further. Keep your PMI up to date because you will need it

    Advice to Management

    Quit

    BlackBerry2018-10-20
  8. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time

    Pros

    Colleagues, benefits, work environment, fun atmosphere

    Cons

    Lack of transparency with employees

    BlackBerry2018-08-20
  9. "Enjoyable to work at, lots of redundancies at the time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits and community spirit

    Cons

    Lots of cost cutting taking place

    BlackBerry2018-07-24
  10. "Quite satisfied on balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some great people, products and interesting customers. Nice offices and good compensation package. Good career development resources available. The future looks positive!

    Cons

    Internal processes are a challenge. Aggressive sales focus from senior leaders. Need to listen to customers and invest more in core products to remain competitive

    BlackBerry2018-01-30
Found 1931 reviews