BlackRock Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 25 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 481 of over 3K reviews

4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Good work life balance is encouraged(in 266 reviews)

  • "BlackRock has a great technology with lots of really smart people(in 169 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance can be challenging(in 219 reviews)

  • "long hours when there are tight deadlines(in 190 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company but it depends on the department you work in

      21 Jan 2021 - Associate in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good compensation and challenging projects. One of the best things is the culture and the people you get to work with.

      Cons

      Sometimes there is no work-life balance, especially in more client-facing roles.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Exceeded expectations!

      6 Jan 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Before joining BlackRock I heard it was a good company to work for but it wasn’t until I was a few months into my new role and had experienced the culture first-hand that I knew I had landed a fantastic career opportunity. I had worked at other large finance companies, but this felt different. I remember attending my first Global townhall where the senior leadership would draw huge crowds of proud ‘supporters’. You would be lucky to get into the auditorium let alone get a seat. The leadership speak openly and honestly and inspire you to achieve the firms goals. The firm have been supportive and well organised during Covid and communicate well. I learnt that many colleagues had worked there 10-20+ years which is a testament to the culture and work-life balance policies. People don’t believe me when they ask me how much holiday allowance I get and I tell them it’s unlimited. I work in a very smart and diverse team with a good mix of gender, race, and background. In terms of the work, I’ve received progressively challenging projects where I was able to develop my skills and was nominated for promotion after a year. I worked hard and was quickly rewarded with promotion and compensation increases. I felt like I was able to make a difference and my ideas were listened to and adopted which was refreshing for such a large company.

      Cons

      As with most large firms, trying to get things done can be more difficult than in a smaller firm and it pays to build connections with other teams and have an overview of how things operate. They seem to hire experienced candidates, which is great, and people stay longer. However, I notice less younger talent compared to other companies I’ve worked for. Experienced a slow-ish interview and on-boarding process.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great if you're in the right role, right part of the business with a good manager.

      17 Oct 2020 - Associate in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Generally get to work with very smart and high performing individuals. Unlimited holiday (once agreed with manager) Decent benefits Relatively good work-life balance

      Cons

      Pay isnt always competitive (depending on if you're in the right part of the business like investments) Long hours especially if you're on global team with lots of US based colleagues Has a significant number of people managers who are not good. Can be bit too hierarchical Lots red tape in getting simple things done.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      14 Jan 2021 - Data Analyst in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture Diversity Good work life balance

      Cons

      No much guidance, you need to be self sufficient

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Work environment lovely, but very political

      22 Jan 2021 - Associate in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Can genuinely bring whole self to work, work is engaging, everyone is willing to help and connect.

      Cons

      Too political. As a junior, your career progression is based on how well you know management, not how good you are at your job. Work/life balance nonexistent in Covid times.

      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Leader company with strong support to its employees

      12 Sep 2020 - Risk Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work-life balance, benefits, it seems that internal mobility is easier compared to other companies in the same field.

      Cons

      Decisions can be slow partly due to managers not taking strong decisions when needed and always looking for consensus in everything which is not always the most efficient way for bringing things forward. Quite bureaucratic with too many teams and people to involve for the most basic decisions.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      9 Dec 2020 - Product Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Extremely good work life balance. Supportive / engaged staff colleagues

      Cons

      not really any to speak of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good internal mobility and work-life balance

      19 Nov 2020 - Associate in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Internal mobility, work-life balance and support

      Cons

      Some of the American culture

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Risk Analyst

      21 Jan 2021 - Risk Analyst in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The salary that BlackRock provides is good

      Cons

      The work-life balance in the company is bad

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Strong culture

      13 Oct 2020 - Associate in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A strong culture with a good work/life balance and flexible time off.

      Cons

      Often high expectation whilst also cutting costs.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 481 Reviews

    Popular Careers with BlackRock Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at BlackRock? Share Your Experiences

    BlackRock logo
    or