Blue Cross for Pets Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Blue Cross for Pets Reviews

Updated 17 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Blue Cross for Pets Chief Executive Sally de la Bedoyere
Sally de la Bedoyere
8 Ratings
  1. "Great for experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Volunteer 

    I worked at Blue Cross for Pets part-time

    Pros

    laidback, flexible, friendly staff and management

    Cons

    none - this is a great place to work as a volunteer, especially compared to some of the other dreadful places out there.

    Blue Cross for Pets2019-11-27
  2. "Poor and dishonest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Volunteer in Newbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross for Pets part-time

    Pros

    The belief that animals and people benefit from your work

    Cons

    No real planning, H&S ignored, dishonest manager stealing donations and doing nothing, higher management aware and complicit, unprofessional

    Continue reading
    Blue Cross for Pets2020-01-17
  3. "Fantastic!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross for Pets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brilliant people who are incredibly passionate and will do anything to support driving income to support the pets in our care.

    Cons

    Tend not to Utilise the skills of team as much as they could

    Continue reading
    Blue Cross for Pets2019-09-14
  4. "A caring and positive culture in a charity over 120 years old."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - L&D Business Partner in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Cross for Pets full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great culture. Caring environment for both pets and people.

    Cons

    Not a great place to work if you don't drive. Many of its sites are in rural locations.

    Continue reading
    Blue Cross for Pets2019-08-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Highest standard of care for pets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - VETERINARY NURSE in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross for Pets full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good hours and shifts. Highly skilled vets. High standard of care and protocols. All nursing skills used including schedule 3 and nurse clinics. Excellent CPD opportunities. Best standard of care I have seen for strays and wildlife.

    Cons

    No payscale so no matter experience, salary the same for all nurses. Very clicky environment, you have to be in the click to cope. Management have their "favourites" so no chance of moving in in to a senior role. Management reluctant to address when other staff members are bullied. Some of the most arrogant nurses I have ever worked with who go out if their way to belittle not only staff but members of the public.

    Continue reading
    Blue Cross for Pets2019-07-13
  6. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Royal Leamington Spa, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross for Pets part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice environment to be working in.

    Cons

    informal, unstructured management, not t a high standard.

    Blue Cross for Pets2019-05-03
  7. "Blue Cross"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross for Pets part-time

    Pros

    Fun Staff Easy Working environment Loving

    Cons

    Not really any that i can think off

    Continue reading
    Blue Cross for Pets2019-04-19
  8. "senior management really stepped up when needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Volunteer in Egham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross for Pets part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice charity to work for. I was impressed at how seriously head office took a complaint from a customer about the shop manager and another volunteer. There were some concerns that a customer raised and the head office dealt with it quickly and proactively. The shop manager has gone as has the volunteer.

    Cons

    there should be some guidance to some shop managers about pricing things. Sometimes they price things more expensive than new goods would cost!

    Continue reading
    Blue Cross for Pets2019-02-11
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Think carefully before working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross for Pets full-time

    Pros

    Working to help pets - a great cause, & you meet pets in the offices Some really good people who care Enlightened training Position of HQ in Cotswold countryside Nice country pubs and garden centres nearby

    Cons

    My opinion: Ineffective management at top level (directors & trustees) Ill advised continued allocation of resources Dysfunctional culture - management don't practice what they preach One set of rules for them, another for the rest

    Continue reading
    Blue Cross for Pets2019-01-16
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Would Rather Not Say in Oxford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Cross for Pets full-time

    Pros

    The teams at the rehoming centres and hospitals are incredibly dedicated and do amazing work for pets.

    Cons

    Senior management are completely oblivious to the feelings of staff. They run the charity as a corporate business and absolutely do not care about the staff at all.

    Continue reading
    Blue Cross for Pets2018-11-09
Found 28 reviews