Bodybuilding.com Engineer Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 of over 200 reviews

1.5
0%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
Bodybuilding.com CEO   Jas Krdzalic
Jas Krdzalic
3 Ratings
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Good place until it wasn't

    Jul 2, 2021 - Front End Developer in Meridian, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Health Ins, work-life balance, FTO

    Cons

    Layoffs, poor management decisions, and low pay.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Constantly shifting priorities

    May 24, 2021 - Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility in work environment and hours

    Cons

    Management was constantly shifting priorities

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    I was so excited to work here...

    Jan 11, 2021 - Everyone IS An Engineer There LOL in Boise, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The gym was pretty nice to have during a pandemic

    Cons

    I saw a lot of really good people get pushed around at this company. Management is incredibly toxic and self serving. The leadership here has no real interest in building a good product. They only are interested in making themselves look good in front of the CEO. In the time that I was there essentially every idea they had was tried out to about a 15% completion, leaving no room for any real changes... good or bad. Hence the deterioration of their site and app. A few more gold nuggets... I saw upper management turn on each other, often. They would fight and talk badly behind each others backs, until the good ones would get pushed out of the company. I also saw them lay off pregnant women and folks whose wives were 9 months pregnant.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Don't even bother

    Sep 3, 2020 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Employee discount - I like the people I worked with

    Cons

    - Longterm employees have been jumping ship since I started due to nonexistent appreciation (read: money). Talent is grossly underpaid. - No direction and zero transparency from c-level leadership. What do they even do besides pat themselves on the back during our quarterly all-hands meetings? - HR unfortunately got rid of the only person with integrity on their team; the rest (especially at the top) are all liars with no regard for bbcom employees. - Layoffs were handled so, so poorly. Employees who had given the company a better part of a decade were offered NO SEVERANCE. And HR claims severance had never been offered in the history of the company -- again, lies from the top. - Nobody knows what they're working on or if it'll even matter in the coming weeks because priorities and direction shift daily. - Company morale has been low and management is very much aware of it but do nothing to improve it. - Management's MO: "I really don't care, do you?"

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Lost and wandering, hiring lots of contractors

    Nov 24, 2019 - Developer/Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Very flexible with schedules when they can be. - Remote/WFH is in good shape - Benefits are up to par

    Cons

    - Salaries are weak - Bonuses are a joke - Raises are slow to be seen and usually not impressive - Top level talent doesn't stay long and hasn't been encouraged to stay - "Making more money" is very important to them, but they can't seem to figure out how - Loss of customer focus

    5 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Bleeding Talent

    Jan 20, 2020 - Front End Developer in Boise, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great benefits, fantastic mission statement

    Cons

    Very poor pay, lack of communication, siloed work environment, dated technology and systems, no career growth opportunities

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great Benefits

    Apr 17, 2019 - Client-Side Engineer in Boise, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, flexibility, great people, free lunches, bonuses, fun environment

    Cons

    Bro mentality, clique, less and customer focus,

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Bodybuilding.com Response

    Human Resource

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Bodybuilding.com. Our Total Rewards package is something we are very proud of and work hard at making better every day! Bodybuilding.com is continually evolving and transforming to better serve our team members and customers. We hear you and take your comments to heart. We wish you the best in your career endeavors and in life. Although you are no longer part of the Bodybuilding.com team, at heart, you will always be a part of our Bodybuilding.com family. -Chris, Human Resources

  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    DO NOT WORK FOR THIS COMPANY!!!!

    Nov 30, 2018 - Systems Engineer in Lakeland, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Agile environment. Work from home

    Cons

    Super volatile environment. I resigned from a 6 year full time position with the promise of a great job that would support me while getting up to speed. I started working there and was given no help from my team or manager to get going. They are super unorganized. Was told they didn’t have enough work for me after a month and laid me off

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Death throes of a dynasty

    Apr 27, 2018 - Engineer in Boise, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Corporate gym, above average (but declining) benefits. Likely an attractive acquisition target and the new owners may treat you better or at least offer a decent severance package.

    Cons

    Since the dismissal of the company founder BBCom has gone through multiple CEOs, each taking a different angle to right the clearly sinking ship. Many managers cannot be trusted and leadership is completely opaque. The only reliable thing from leadership is that they'll break nearly every promise made. Top-down communication is non-existent. Promised 360 reviews never materialized after an initial rollout, likely because the reviews of management were so negative and rather than facing reality they chose to ignore clear signs of incompetence and mismanagement. HR is in shambles. The company can't hire quality talent or even conduct a decent exit interview. Bro-culture still runs the show. Women need not apply unless you're slim, pretty and keep opinions to yourself.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Can't recommend unless you're desperate for a temporary position

    Jan 12, 2018 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Technology stack is vaguely interesting. Working on a large web presence is a great experience A lot of fun people to work with

    Cons

    A lot of volatility They can't seem to focus on one thing but instead change their mind every other month, wasting lots of engineering time and effort. Declining profits means everything is getting scaled back No raises this year Certain bosses are truly not nice people who do not like disagreement or your own opinion Questionable business decisions Questionable treatment of customers in order to stop the declining revenues Employees mysteriously disappear without a real explanation

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 25 Reviews

Work at Bodybuilding.com? Share Your Experiences

Bodybuilding.com logo
or