Bodybuilding.com Reviews

Updated 14 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.1
19%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
Bodybuilding.com CEO   Jas Krdzalic
Jas Krdzalic
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good place to work with great benefits(in 20 reviews)

  • "The company work/life balance is amazing(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "It has gotten to the point where the employees are no longer empowered to do their jobs(in 7 reviews)

  • "Than they shut down two warehouses, Boise Idaho days after their huge black friday/cyber monday sale(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great job for people who like a challenge.

      14 Jun 2021 - Organizational Development Coordinator in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love this work. I like that my job is different everyday. The company adapts and pivots very well (small enough to act like a start up, big enough to have great benefits). I like the environment of working with people who do hard things to get results (whether physically, mentally or professionally). Good place for someone who likes a challenge and can operate well in ambiguity.

      Cons

      This job isn't predictable. You can't plan on taking a long vacation during the "off season." In my role I have often needed to work evenings and weekends to meet deadlines, sometimes with little or no lead time to prepare. Not for someone who's looking for a standard 8-5.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good things to come

      11 Jun 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people. You would be hard-pressed to find a better group of people to work with. The majority is passionate about what we are doing and where we are going. It helps when you are working in a turnaround and you know many of the people you are with are trying to make things better and help the customers. Gym- One of the best facilities or reimbursement if you are remote. Employee discount - 30% off.

      Cons

      Some of the people are just focused on the past and scared to work more than 30 hours a week. When I see reviews on glassdoor I get excited because that means we making the right choices and expelling so much toxicity. You will need to be strong-willed in order to be successful in a turnaround like this one.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      GREAT Place

      24 May 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They were really friendly when I went to work.

      Cons

      I felt like i couldn't move up in the compnay

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Rinse and repeat

      20 Oct 2020 - Customer Service Representative in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Customer satisfaction, friendly workforce, no strict script to follow, employee benefits, FTOP/PTO; personal time-off

      Cons

      Stressful (depending on channel), monotonous, poor training protocol, no employee recognition, high turnover rate

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Overall just ok

      19 Apr 2021 - Compliance 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and work life balance. Unlimited PTO and flexible schedule

      Cons

      Pay wasn't great and opportunities to advance started lacking

      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Constantly shifting priorities

      24 May 2021 - Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility in work environment and hours

      Cons

      Management was constantly shifting priorities

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Look elsewhere

      18 Dec 2020 - Anonymous Position 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None. The gym used to be, but they sold the building and down graded the gym.

      Cons

      Horrible leadership and even worse management. Absolutely terrible pay and raises/bonuses were cut even after large layoffs all to make room for expensive new leadership while completely forgetting about their loyal employees. They sell the unlimited PTO but good luck trying to get any time off. There is no work life balance (I worked on Thanksgiving) and while working from home is nice, the company did nothing to help employees transition until 4-5 months after working from home started leaving almost everyone on their own to try and set up suitable work areas. Hard work is put in only to be scrapped because leadership didn’t want to properly invest and completely pivot to a new idea with no data or plan. Then, that plan fails and their off to chase the next shiny object. I could go on, but I hope you get the picture.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Zero Stars, run, dont walk

      12 May 2021 - Human Resources Coordinator in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Zero, none, nada, zilch, yada yada yada

      Cons

      CEO Loves and fully supports Colin Kaepernick

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Not for the weak of mind

      8 Sep 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Gym, discount, company orientation was the best, company in big transformation mode, ceo works out in the gym and always speaks and ready to help with workout ideas

      Cons

      Lazy coworkers who complain and whine without knowing what it is like to work hard. I worked in Seattle for 5 years/10 hours a day/an hour drive each day each way for less money than I make here and with benefits that cost more and did less for my wife and daughter than the ones here. I did the 5 years with only one raise and got a certificate instead of a raise with my promotion. Oh and did I mention that the company I worked for in Seattle has a 5 star rating and the ceo has 90% approval?????

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      I was so excited to work here...

      11 Jan 2021 - Everyone IS An Engineer There LOL in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The gym was pretty nice to have during a pandemic

      Cons

      I saw a lot of really good people get pushed around at this company. Management is incredibly toxic and self serving. The leadership here has no real interest in building a good product. They only are interested in making themselves look good in front of the CEO. In the time that I was there essentially every idea they had was tried out to about a 15% completion, leaving no room for any real changes... good or bad. Hence the deterioration of their site and app. A few more gold nuggets... I saw upper management turn on each other, often. They would fight and talk badly behind each others backs, until the good ones would get pushed out of the company. I also saw them lay off pregnant women and folks whose wives were 9 months pregnant.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 190 Reviews

    Work at Bodybuilding.com? Share Your Experiences

    Bodybuilding.com logo
    or