Bodybuilding.com Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Bodybuilding.com Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Bodybuilding.com CEO Jas Krdzalic
Jas Krdzalic
15 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Overall I'd say their customer service position is well-suited for a High School senior looking to make "big money" at(in 9 reviews)

  • "If you don't bro-culture to their bro-standards(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great For People Who are Looking to Move-up in a Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bodybuilding.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They did a great job with educating and teaching skills to employees. They did a lot of hiring from within.

    Cons

    The fitness industry has shifted and they are still trying to figure out how to adapt.

    Bodybuilding.com2019-10-12
  2. "Great Company - Terrible Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bodybuilding.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Full Benefits - On-Site Gym - Great Executive Leadership

    Cons

    Terrible Management - The leadership in Customer Service has lost all motivation to strive for greatness alongside their reps. Be careful when placing requests for vacation time, as the management and senior members of the company will have 1st pick on the calendar. This leaves lower-level reps with very few options throughout each quarter and fiscal year to select time to vacation with family. Opportunity to... "Move-Up" internally is touted very heavily throughout training process but normally takes 2-5 years of hard/dedicated work to rank higher than the lowest level of customer service. Overall I'd say their customer service position is well-suited for a High School senior looking to make "big money" at $12.00/hour.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Inspire your teams. Get rid of your "zero-tolerance" policy that only applies to individuals whom you choose to apply it to. As a customer service rep. I was only ever given constructive criticism. Take time out of 40-hour work week to give credence and honor the hard work. Printing off a certificate for someone to pin within their cubicle is a basic fundamental. Making it the only form of your appreciation is... directly indicative of the lack of true appreciation for members of the company.

    Show More
    Bodybuilding.com2019-08-27
  3. "Great Place to Work A++"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bodybuilding.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great environment, easy to work with, creativity, flexibility, caring and understanding to situations, open door policy

    Cons

    it's located in a awkward spot - but not sure it is a Con to consider

    Bodybuilding.com2019-07-17
  4. "No COMPARISON to this Work Community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bodybuilding.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have recently learned how much harder it is to seek out work when you are not just looking for a paycheck. It is insane how much you can tell by a company just in the way their interviews are conducted. I went through several interviews and not one of them can come close in comparison to the outstanding experience I had doing so through BodyBuilding.com. Some jobs take weeks to even get back to you! This company... contacted me within 24 hours and that is only the beginning. Through the phone interview process, the interviewer did an outstanding job of making it feel like a conversation rather than a questionnaire. I can’t thank her enough for making it personable so I could comfortably answer each question in a way that wasn't written out or scripted. This left an impression that would keep me loyal to this company whether they offered me a position or not! The face to face interview was just as comfortable as the one conducted through the phone. I felt like I could talk to them as if I had known these amazing induvial for years. The setting it was conducted in was comfortable and there wasn’t a moment in the process where I felt panicked from intimidation. One short tour made me devoted to becoming employed by them because the vibes were like nothing I had ever felt being in a workplace. Everyone easily displayed signs of pure enjoyment for the work they were doing and there were no signs of discontent! I cannot wait to share more as I join this environment in a few short weeks! Thank you so much!

    Show More

    Cons

    NONE! I have not witnessed anything negative about this great association!

    Advice to Management

    Keep being amazing and showing others such an unforgettable amount of compassion.

    Bodybuilding.com2019-05-11
  5. "Good Things to Come"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounts Payable Specialist in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bodybuilding.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I left Bodybuilding.com to attend grad school and I found myself coming back after graduating because of: * great benefits (high 401K match, great medical/dental) * awesome people (encouraging, growth-minded, like family) * flexibility (no set clock in/out times, a couple remote days/week) * FTO available immediately (not accrued) * seeing how our company is literally changing peoples' lives for the better! *... Focus on development (person and professional)

    Show More

    Cons

    Now we share the building with the building owners and parking has been more difficult because of that. That's literally the only thing I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on the path that you're on! Find more ways to include all employees in events and decisions. It helps us non-managers feel important and valued.

    Bodybuilding.com2019-04-24

    Bodybuilding.com Response

    May 6, 2019Human Resource

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences in being part of the Bodybuilding.com team and family. Our Total Rewards package is something we are very proud of and work hard at making better every day! We are happy to have you back home at Bodybuilding.com and look forward to many more years of changing lives together! -Raquel, Human Resources

    Show Less
  6. "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client-Side Engineer in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bodybuilding.com full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, flexibility, great people, free lunches, bonuses, fun environment

    Cons

    Bro mentality, clique, less and customer focus,

    Bodybuilding.com2019-04-18

    Bodybuilding.com Response

    May 6, 2019Human Resource

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Bodybuilding.com. Our Total Rewards package is something we are very proud of and work hard at making better every day! Bodybuilding.com is continually evolving and transforming to better serve our team members and customers. We hear you and take your comments to heart. We wish you the best in your career endeavors and in life. Although you are no longer part of the Bodybuilding.com team, at heart, you will always be a part of our Bodybuilding.com family. -Chris, Human Resources

    Show Less
  7. "Good Local Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bodybuilding.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome culture and great people that you get to work directly with.

    Cons

    Constantly moving around initiatives and lots of "maybes" in regards to opportunity.

    Bodybuilding.com2019-03-21

    Bodybuilding.com Response

    May 6, 2019Human Resource

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Our team here at Bodybuilding.com is more than just a team, we are a family! We are so proud to have you on our journey. That journey sometimes includes changing of direction. We are continually striving to make change easier to understand and navigate. We hear you and will continue to work at making this journey smoother for everyone! -Raquel, Human Resources

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Fraud Analyst 

    I worked at Bodybuilding.com full-time

    Pros

    Good unusual side benefits like gym and supps

    Cons

    Bro mentality, its all who you know

    Bodybuilding.com2019-02-01
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Talk to someone who currently works at BBcom."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Acquisition Manager in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bodybuilding.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Bodybuilding.com has changed over its 19-year history. It is not the same place today that it was when it opened, or even 4 years ago, it is different. Leaving this organization was a difficult choice. I would not have the opportunity I left for if it wasn't for this place. Here is some list of benefits that they offer: -High 401k match -Good Medical plan(s) -Good Dental plan(s) -Good vision plan -Onsite gym,... for you and a guest. Open 24.7 (reimbursement for remote.) -Certification and conferences - IF YOU BRING IT UP -Fun activities at least quarterly -site discount The biggest benefit is having a team as they have here at BBcom. Most people love the organization and have the chance to help change peoples lives

    Show More

    Cons

    Having to deal with people who are fixated on "where BBcom was" the organization had changed and that was hard for a lot of people.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on the path you are on.

    Bodybuilding.com2018-12-13
  10. Helpful (8)

    "DO NOT WORK FOR THIS COMPANY!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Lakeland, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bodybuilding.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Agile environment. Work from home

    Cons

    Super volatile environment. I resigned from a 6 year full time position with the promise of a great job that would support me while getting up to speed. I started working there and was given no help from my team or manager to get going. They are super unorganized. Was told they didn’t have enough work for me after a month and laid me off

    Advice to Management

    Start treating people with respect.

    Bodybuilding.com2018-11-30
Found 133 reviews