Bodybuilding.com Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 192 of over 200 reviews

2.3
24%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Bodybuilding.com CEO   Jas Krdzalic
Jas Krdzalic
54 Ratings
  1. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Don't waste your time

    Sep 1, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Decent pay and benefits (for Boise market) - Flexible WFH - Pretty good work/life balance

    Cons

    Truly terrible upper management was allowed to stay in place for over a year, despite constant reports to HR of sexism, disrespect, and incompetence. In the last year, I've seen two acquisitions, two layoff waves (of ~40 and ~75 people), and literal dozens of voluntary departures. New middle/upper management is hired every couple months, upon which we scrap the cumulative "vision" of the last collection of managers and start working on a new "vision." Meanwhile, longstanding systemic problems continue to compound, with fewer and fewer resources left to fix them. Long story short, this company has no future. Look elsewhere.

    8 people found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Place

    Sep 21, 2020 - Graphic Designer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to get Omni-channel Marketing Experience

    Cons

    Poor Leadership and communications at times,

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Putting the NO in Autonomy

    Jan 30, 2020 - Digital Marketing Manager in Boise, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great 401K Match, Great Benefits, FTO, (Although, at one point we had to write our name on an 8ft by 10ft White Board Calendar for days we were taking off. Usually wouldn't be an issue, until the statement of "We will see who wants to keep writing their name up there" was made), Gym

    Cons

    Serious Micromanagement (other departments asking to be included in marketing planning, not for visibility but for approval, seemingly pulling mandate outside of their area of focus). Lack of trust in mid-level management and specialist level. Complete lack of knowledge in processes and workflow complexities. Short-term leadership outlook. Leaders lack tact (C-Suite employees stating they "forget what it's like to be one of you" from a stage at an all-hands meeting). Monotonous work (sale, sale, sale), churning and burning eCommerce discounts, which pulls time and resources away from things that should be number one priority (content, subscriptions, etc.). Customer-first focus is whimsical, not tangible.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Probably Not Smart To Take A Job Here

    Aug 22, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent benefits (were better when I started...they've been cut back) Nice people (I was always treated kindly) Probably well-intentioned

    Cons

    This isn't a very stable place. A year ago they hired A LOT of new people. Six months later they had mass layoffs, which included laying off many of the people they had just hired. Individuals who had relocated and/or left previous employers were suddenly left jobless. Over the past year, many in the company were jumping ship and taking jobs elsewhere. Those positions weren't backfilled (not a great sign). Even worse, the company kept job listings open, solicited applications, and even interviewed candidates. But they weren't necessarily hiring anyone. That's pretty disrespectful to qualified applicants who waste their time applying. It also suggests executives might not be sure where the company is supposed to be going. Hire, fire, hire, fire, interview, don't hire...yikes! The “management” aspect is bizarre. There are just soooo many managers…a ton of managers. After one of the seemingly perpetual reorganizations, my department had 13 people in it but 7 managers. What is that? Literally a manager who managed a manager who managed no-one. And, for all those managers, there’s not a whole lot of actual managing going on. No real discussions about career development, reviews (when they did happen) were mostly just box-checking, never witnessed a manager asking their team for ideas or feedback, etc. Pay is not great. They don't do an annual cost-of-living pay increase. No built-in structures to discuss raises. Even if you're a super star the chance of getting a raise is next to none. Bottom line…don’t leave your job to work here. Definitely DON'T RELOCATE! If you’re already in Boise, you just need a job, and you’re not super concerned with growing your career this would be an option.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Not what it used to be

    Sep 13, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coworkers and the gym, good benefits.

    Cons

    Company preaches openness but then makes decisions not aligned with the company values and doesn't explain. Multiple layoffs the past couple years. The positive and hopeful atmosphere of the past is gone.

    11 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    15% of Company Laid Off in Jan 2020

    Feb 27, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Flex Time Off - Health, vision and dental insurance - Free onsite gym that’s usually empty

    Cons

    Unfortunately I was only with the company for a handful of months and was part of the January 2020 lay offs. Local news reported 15% of the Boise corporate office, around 100 people, were laid off so I’m not sure why some reviews have the lay off numbers so low. Regardless of my personal sap story, it’s very obvious the company is in the red and is taking their employees down with the sinking ship. Each quarter ideals change without reflection on the previous quarter. Some quarters it’s all about e-commerce, others it’s about the app. Constantly ping-ponging around tells me C-Level doesn’t know what they want. Not to mention company culture is way in the dumps. Who wants to give 110% with such a lack of job security?! Such a disappointing experience from someone who was such a BBcom fan.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company - Terrible Position

    Aug 27, 2019 - Customer Service Representative in Boise, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Full Benefits - On-Site Gym - Great Executive Leadership

    Cons

    Terrible Management - The leadership in Customer Service has lost all motivation to strive for greatness alongside their reps. Be careful when placing requests for vacation time, as the management and senior members of the company will have 1st pick on the calendar. This leaves lower-level reps with very few options throughout each quarter and fiscal year to select time to vacation with family. Opportunity to "Move-Up" internally is touted very heavily throughout training process but normally takes 2-5 years of hard/dedicated work to rank higher than the lowest level of customer service. Overall I'd say their customer service position is well-suited for a High School senior looking to make "big money" at $12.00/hour.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    I love my job, I love my job

    Oct 28, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I feel I have been here so long I am a sacred cow in a field of steroid stock cattle. So I feel my job is safe because I say good morning and good night to every leader I see to stay in good graces. It seems to have worked so far. One good thing is our legal team is finally equalized by the departure of our most "knowledgable" legal asset. Maybe we can stop getting sued for the mistakes of our leadership team. So that is a plus. That means more money to our bottom line, which means more money for me.

    Cons

    Oh where do I start...? Nah, I wont. Trust me when I say, if you can work somewhere else, DO IT. Haha or you can come here and get solicited and paid to write nice reviews about our company on Glassdoor. Putting "Lipstick on a Pig" as I think they say it.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    CEO is tanking the company

    Aug 25, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Director level leadership Free BodyFit membership

    Cons

    Poor leadership from CEO Constant restructures Layoffs twice in one year

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great People - Great Outlook

    Nov 12, 2019 - Desk Jockey 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people who work for BBCom are really inspiring people, like any company they come from all sorts of backgrounds, but they all mesh well together. There is a camaraderie within the company that I haven't seen in other corporate settings. The benefits are amazing, and completely affordable. The company is going through a lot of changes right now, but they seem to have the direction figured out.

    Cons

    Leadership - It's a little top heavy. Newer managers need to be coached more. Moving away from the soft BBCom culture, to a stronger backed one will help with some of the people speaking ill of the company to their coworkers and the public.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 31 - 40 of 192 Reviews

Work at Bodybuilding.com? Share Your Experiences

Bodybuilding.com logo
or