Booking.com "amsterdam" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Booking.com Employee Reviews about "amsterdam"

Updated 15 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Booking.com President and CEO Glenn Fogel
Glenn Fogel
169 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some Team leaders treat their agents differently(in 129 reviews)

  • "Customer service department has very high turnover rate(in 100 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "amsterdam"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, very diverse community

    Cons

    Progression for next step would be in Amsterdam

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2019-09-09
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Start up turned corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Relaxed office environment, Potential for career progression in the Amsterdam head office Great systems and tools to get the work done Office is in a great location Perfect if you looking to learn about ecommerce Great opportunity to learn about other teams within Booking.com and increase your knowledge base Great culture and morals

    Cons

    Booking.com is a corporate company that is pretending to still be an edgy start up. Micro managing has become a trend in the office Managers train their team on how to do their jobs when they dont get involved and do the job themselves (how can you train best practice when you dont get your hands dirty) Benefits have been cut back (Yearly meeting in Amsterdam cancelled and monthly social outing cut to £5 per person.) This would have been better received if senior leadership did not make false claims about the cuts. You can progress fast at Booking.com but you need to play the corporate game to do so The fact that Booking.com is the number 1 accommodation provider has got to some peoples head both internally and externally and there is no longer that play to be the best attitude It does feel like management and certain staff are trying to catch you out when you have done something that they dont agree with. In the annual company survey trust in leadership was terrible Lots of senior staff in head office go missing

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2019-08-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to start or advance your career within marketing and hospitality. Great working environment, offices and chance to travel. Management are great, push you to better yourself and expand knowledge base.

    Cons

    Long hours, although office has a great view not the easiest to commute to. Opportunities are slim unless you live in London or Amsterdam. The ability to work remotely is there but strict on when you can. Salaries are also very low for what is being asked of staff/revenue generated through staff work.

    Booking.com2019-06-30
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Cambridge office stats driven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Specialist in Cambridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Informal dress code, meal on duty, some nice people working in

    Cons

    Office is 100% stats driven, very strict policies on conduct, no care about people behind the job, despite major efforts from Head Quarter's in Amsterdam.

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2019-06-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good for entry level job, but leave after a year or you're trapped."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Specialist in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *discounted lunch *(eventual) 25% hotel discount *access to free courses *monthly social events

    Cons

    *salary below industry average *over-ambitious sales targets *nearly impossible to get promoted *recruitment/hr department are inept and cause more issues than solve *company structure in complete contrast to the 'feedback' style the company says it promotes - essentially the head office in Amsterdam makes a decision, tells the local offices at the last minute (often with no explanation given) and management will consistently pretend they know what is happening. Also they will frequently ask for feedback on projects, company initiatives, etc., and that feedback will be ignored, unless you're critical and then it will be used against you in your personal review sessions.

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2019-03-10
  6. Helpful (13)

    "London Office: Good and Bad sides"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Guest Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Free daily meals cooked by a chef. You are entitled once a day to one hot meal, soup, access to an unlimited salad buffet, bread and one dessert. - Free teas, coffees, hot chocolates, and fruits always available. - Opportunity to learn several useful skills or improving them (ex: problems solving, complaint handling, communication, coaching, data analysis, leading a team meeting etc..) - Great flexibility: You can book holiday last minute and have it approved up to 2 days before the date you need it without filling a written form or speaking to someone / it is all on a system that you can access even from home. You can also swap easily your shifts with other colleagues of the same hired language as you which is very practical to save up on your yearly holiday quota. - Workplace is well located (2 min away from South Quay Station) and near shops like Pret à manger, Tesco etc.. - London Office is in good condition and well decorated. - Company offers paid downtime hours during your shift to work towards your personal development on a monthly basis except during their peak seasons. - Company gives quarterly a budget of 35 pounds per agent towards doing a team outing which team members can organize themselves. - Desks can be lifted up which allows agents to work sitting as well as standing. Also walls in the office are mainly made of huge transparent windows which is helpful if you are claustrophobic. - Big Summer and Christmas parties. - Helpful and friendly office reception team. - Working with people from various cultural backgrounds and nationalities. - 121 with your team leader on a monthly basis. - Variety of shift patterns to match your lifestyle: Early / Late / Night and more recently the 4x10h which allows you to get weekly the same 3 consecutive days off in exchange of working weekly 4 shifts of 10h instead of 5 shifts of 8h but the downside of this one is that you will have to work every weekend. - Company used to organize an amazing yearly business event called BAM. It was a trip with flight, food and hotel all paid for to Amsterdam where about 25% of the staff worldwide gathered for a great time of learning, entertainment, fun and party. Unfortunately they replaced last year this great asset they had as a company to a pale version of what it used to be. - Christmas gift every January (but I think this benefit is stopping from this year as it was alongside with the BAM). - Quaterly bonus and possibility to do overtime quite frequently.

    Cons

    - For most people the role of customer service guest or partner specialist gets unbearably repetitive and boring after 1 year max. It is definitely '' a must '' to try moving to a different role within the company as soon as possible to remain engaged and stimulated. - Although it should not be like this, your whole experience in the company will depend on which team leader you get. The way the company is structured gives a lots of power to team leaders over their agents. The danger of this is if you get a nice team leader who is friendly and supportive it is a big plus for your journey in the company but if you get the contrary, you will probably have a hard time there. - Targets and KPI's are unrealistic, it is almost impossible to reach them all consistently on a monthly basis. Although officially the company used to say '' the customer is at the center of everything we do '' in reality they prioritize quantity (even if job is badly done) above quality. The most frustrating target is CSAT which is judged on surveys customers will receive after their interaction with agents, half of the time if not more, the guest doesn't make any difference between you as an agent, the accommodation and the company so even if you was great with him or her, it is most likely you will still get a bad survey which will affect you to the point of being put on what they called ''performance plan'' this can lead to a formal meeting and warning depending your team leader. - The system they are using to measure if agents are on target has changed 3 times during my time there. The latest one is some kind of artificial intelligence that no one fully understand including those who made it. So basically if you think the system is wrongly registering your points which is very common, you can't prove it to your team leader. - There is a very negative atmosphere of complaining in the London office. Lots of agents are there just for the money and hate their jobs. The few people who are genuinely passionate about their jobs and great at it have to be very strong mentally to remain positive. - The main system agents are using to work changes almost every week and many times without agents being notified in advance which can be stressful. Also bugs are very frequent on this same system. - Company uses a Facebook at work system called Workplace to create a social life in the office and promote company events or sharing information. It is helpful however this same system gives you sometimes a feeling that you are in a virtual world, it does not really make you feel you are building real relationships with your colleagues and also all those notifications after a while can really distracts you from your core duties. - For your salary to be interesting, you are forced to work unsociable hours (nights, lates and weekends). - Progression in the London office is very hard because variety of roles to grow is very limited, unless you are willing to relocate to Amsterdam office where you will get more opportunities. Another issue with progression is that the competition is high because the number of internal vacancies in the London office is very small compared to the number of agents. - Most of the seniors (older staff trained to help agents on cases) are friendly and supportive but some of them are lacking active listening skills, those one seems not interested at all to help, they rush you on the phone by robotic answers without trying to understand your questions. - HR is great for simple queries and requests but inefficient and very frustrating when it comes to big issues. - A/C system is dysfunctional all year long and it has been the case for a long time. The office gets often freezing or boiling inside despite the temperature outside. Lots of people are getting sick because of it but company will not take this into consideration when it comes to apply their sickness policy which used to be getting a warning after 3 instances of absence. Last summer you could see in the office very often agents having to work with blankets over their shoulders and coats during their shifts while it was 30 degrees outside.

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2019-01-11
  7. Helpful (9)

    "“I am Woody Woodpecker and I am the sheriff of the Town”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good training; Flexibility at work; Great international colleagues; Decent pay + quarterly bonus; Monthly party.

    Cons

    Customer/Partner specialists very well pressed to reach unrealistic targets. The job is stressful per se like in other call centres; some agents speaking some languages are most of the time on the phone listening to both realistic and unrealistic complaints(really demotivating task), whereas some others work on the picklist only (which is equally bad for the PSAT/CSAT, KPI related to the quality of the job as it is related to unresolved past cases) and listening to the music. -Changes of procedures occur continuously. -Quarterly bonus set to meet expectations only (almost impossible to exceed them). -Booking Annual Meeting (BAM) in Amsterdam “transformed” (read “cancelled”); -Many positions (Guest Reviews, CRA etc) disappeared and or fused with other departments within few months, forcing many employees to leave the company; -contact per hours (the second most important KPI which shows the productivity of the agent) is measured on number of calls received, not any more per single item. Good luck! - small properties heavily strangled by the rules dictated by the company. - A lot of Bookers do not know how to use the website to reserve rooms/apartments. Not user friendly at all. Internal Promotions: the pre-selection is based on the above-mentioned KPIs. Absences in the past might influence the final verdict. However, it is the grade of connection you have (networking inside and outside the office with the key players) that will give the opportunity to grow professionally inside the company, despite the ridiculous videos prepared in the headquarter want to persuade you that meritocracy is key. Seniors: Most of them are not very approachable, they undergo a metamorphosis once they leave their previous job as simple agents. Team leaders: Their main duty is to report who complains too much in their own group to their line managers who know how to get rid of them. No leadership skills, no technical knowledge of the software, no knowledge of the easiest procedures (this is especially true for those hired externally). Most of them belong to ONE NATIONALITY. Customer service managers: They are in competition among themselves (and the rest of the offices worldwide) they push their team leaders to get from their teams the best KPIs in order to get bonuses. Also here, only ONE NATIONALITY. Does the obsession of their motto “The right people in the right place at the right time” want to suggest that other nationalities are not good in managing a call centre office?? HR: They work for Management, despite they hypocritically claim to support agents (which is the majority part of the offices) and that the internal promotion process is clear and fair. This department has the courage to send to some of its former employees an email to refund the company some money (the amount varies from €50 to €500 and sometimes more) as they calculated their last payslip incorrectly and blackmail them in case they will not give money back. Here again, only ONE NATIONALITY.

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2018-12-27
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Partner Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You learn basics of AM / AE

    Cons

    Could be more productive due to the management from Amsterdam

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2018-05-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A melting pot of expats, a handy start in a new country. Also, a place of incompetence + burnouts."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercieel Medewerker Outbound in Amsterdam
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I gained some truly nice friendships over the past years. I got a permanent contract which enabled me to by real estate in the Netherlands.

    Cons

    I had been performing monotone, meaningless and very often totally nonsense tasks in the so called commercial outbound department in Amsterdam. Believe me when I say, performing these tasks were the best part of the job. All the rest comes in a list below. Feeling useless: If this department would close from one day to the other, then nothing, absolutely nothing would go wrong and the business would not miss it. The overlapping departments would then take over what makes sense to perform. 0 trust culture: My working day was hardly about work. It was about how to "show and prove" that I am working well. Doing a great job was never that obvious to the team leaders, who had trouble managing their good workers, unless the magic numbers were in the workers favor. These numbers have been measured in a quarterly modified performance management dashboard and with a constantly changing logic. They had an influence on our personal bonus and on the mood of the performance evaluation meetings. One head does not know what the other head does: Random targets are being set by a separate department, like "Big Brother knows everything" - style. The Big Brother team can be imagined as 3 (or more) brothers, one is in charge of performance, one of tooling and one of commercial tasks, etc. The brothers do not talk to each other and therefore no one gets a full picture of what is happening and why. The overall influence of the Big Brother team on our department has been so successful that the performance logic and dashboard have been changed in every quarter in the past 2.5 years and this constant, forced, troubled change had driven my colleagues nuts. At the end, the department management tend follow all the silly orders blindly without trying, questioning, feedback and real initiatives. No one in charge: Our managers are never in charge of any real decision because the “Big Brother team decides it all”, they say. The team with multiple heads arguments that our TLs should manage our expectations better. As a result, pointing fingers, doing nothing well and not being responsible for all, that is the game. Development: We had a meeting with HR as part of a development-week more than a year ago. HR told us that the chances that we get internally hired into an advanced role is close to 0. But we can switch sideways into a similar, slightly less useless job. Also, advancing in our amazing department into a good-for-nothing TL role and become part of the neurotic TL team had been definitely out of question. My colleagues who made the sideways move are unhappy or overworked or on a burnout. The empty office: Colleagues on long-term sick leave, plenty of burnouts, no contracts extended, colleagues quit cause fed up, quit cause got depressed by work, quit for better opportunities (any opportunity), quit cause the boss does not allow part time in a department in which the majority of the coworkers work part time and the job is definitely not that responsible and brainy one that could not be filled in part time. Forced everything: The worst were the forced interactions. There was a childish department employee behavior framework to comply with, a bunch of useless meetings to attend, useless knowledge exchange huddles in which we were forced to act active and motivated, stand up meetings which every executive would love to avoid because there is a difference between knowing in our heads that our department is a failure, and experiencing this failure in a face to face forced stand up meeting with everybody incl. management. Watching our tired, demotivated, hardly competent team leads standing in front of us and playing the role of the small boss and acting like they would be a real management team for 10 minutes, but after the meeting they delegate basically all their responsibilities or just simply fail to perform them. Watching the big boss, who commutes in the office like a silent ghost and has 0 people skills, standing in front of us in silence cause he delegated all the talking to the TLs already. He speaks only when he “has to” underline the importance of our targets and the department bonus (his bonus, his reputation). Degrees, true knowledge and valuable experience: Forget it and watch how external people with less of everything apply and get jobs which you would want go for but are not able because you are from internal, where the caste-like system rules apply.

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2020-01-15
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Was good, but going down hill with a bunch of new management and nonsense changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Amsterdam
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My colleagues are awesome, Amsterdam is great, and the compensation is great if you're good at your job Perks are good, not silicon valley, but nice offices, travel discounts, food, coffee, mortgage interest discount. While they are rare, there are a few truly exceptional managers if you're lucky enough to get one.

    Cons

    New CEO is embarrassing, when he speaks in public he makes us look bad. New high level positions were filled by people who didn't respect our culture and what parts were working. Suddenly we run like a top down company and they make changes with huge negative impact on employees without going through works council. When you flag concerns you will be belittled and bullied by a minority of people here, but they have their buddies and work hard to keep others down. Honestly if I didn't love my colleagues & Amsterdam so much I would quit. Therapist worries I am on the edge of a nervous breakdown 100% due to my job and says it's common for people who work here that she sees. I am losing my favorite coworker to burnout and a few others are close behind. It isn't the work it is the very bad managers & the trainings only help the ones who were trying to be good.

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2019-12-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 94 reviews