Booking.com Employee Reviews about "low salary"

Updated 1 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 of over 5K reviews

3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Booking.com President and CEO Glenn Fogel
Glenn Fogel
932 Ratings
Pros
  • "Open environment, Good Benefits(in 120 reviews)

  • "Great environment and friendly staff(in 101 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Very low salary, required to work BH(in 68 reviews)

  • "For example should a staff member that happens to be gay, is in the wrong no one will say anything as that person will scream homophobia(in 60 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "low salary"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      18 Nov 2020 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Free learning opportunities via several platform like Udemy, linkedin learning, Safari books etc. 2. Opportunity to explore more technology and suggest to the company. 3. Good work culture

      Cons

      1. Low salary when compared to market rate

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      It’s ok for a short period

      6 Apr 2020 - Customer Service Representative in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Multicultural place, great teams, proper e-learning , cool offices, food it’s ok, possible to swap shifts with colleagues

      Cons

      Lot of favouritism, sometimes lack of trust, unrealistic targets, low salary

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Nice company

      7 Nov 2019 - Customer Service Specialist in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company culture, job is chilled

      Cons

      Difficult career progression and very low salary

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      review of RC.com

      16 Mar 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun environment Company perks - pension, breakfasts, holidays, cinema Interesting & exciting challenges every day Great environment and friendly colleagues Mental health first aiders and courses on professional development - want you to improve

      Cons

      Misguided technical leadership and decision making LT can be extremely unprofessional Lack of confidentiality and privacy with HR Still has start up mentality but with little thought to out of hours support The company need to look at and help employees to progress their career. Low salary in exchange for huge workload Unfair focus on software not technical engineers Some departments don't get enough recognition for hard work.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Booking.com Response

      People Director

      Hi and thanks for your feedback it is appreciated, although clearly some of your comments are a concern to me. Clearly I don't agree about the LT being unprofessional or my team not maintaining confidentiality but if you have some specific concerns, examples, I'd love to hear about them. I can assure you we are determined to keep working life fun, I hope that came across from the Let's Booking Do It events. Anyway, please do get in touch (I can guarantee confidentially) I'd love to hear from you Ryan

    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not good, but not bad - mediocres at their best

      7 Dec 2018 - Customer Service Representative in Manchester City Centre, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Yes it’s true there is free breakfast - always the same never changed - paid Sick days - most of your team will be fine - LinkedIn learning is really great!

      Cons

      Too much talking about doing, it's either you do or you just talk. LT - a lot of talking but no changes, not sure what is their job, they speak too much but 0 doing. Systems - pure junk, CRBMS belong to 1998 (we are now at 2019) Website UX is ok, but I will recommend to see what there is under the surface. The company values are being suger coated they will promote people who snitch on their on team members. If you are from small market good luck, you will do others people job more then yourself. Guess what you will be paid the same. Only few people from the small market can get promoted (probably if you are a snitch) it’s all based on your relationships with other people, you can be very good in your job but you will stay at the same job forever. Bonuses- unless you are a manger or from fountain street offices , you can forget from it. P&C killing the company but they will have bonus while the CS agent who trying to fix things will get noting. People team - whatever Perk box is doing nothing not a benefit ( except the free hot drink every week) - new thing thu. People are afraid to speak, if you are saying something bad even its true you will be stamped bigger X then USA black stamp Still too much targets in CS. Low salary for your exactly what you will be asked to do.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      Booking.com Response

      People Director

      Hi and thanks for your review, although I am clearly disappointed with how you feel. I can assure you I don't copy and paste any replies on here I can guarantee that. Also it's a shame that you have left as we have just announced a wide range of benefits enhancements that may address some of your concerns about the LT not doing anything. These changes has huge impacts in CS. We give no bonuses to anyone who leave 5 star reviews as we have no idea who they are - please check that out with Glassdoor if you like. There were more than 800 internal moves and promotions in 2018. I can assure you they were not based on the quality of a cover letter. Although if you submit a poor letter or CV I'm sure that would have an impact when multiple people are applying for a job. I'm sorry we were not a fantastic place for you but I hope you have found a great place to work and I wish you all the best for the future - Ryan

    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      -

      18 Jan 2019 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great People, multicultural environment

      Cons

      - Low salary compared to other smaller companies - Micromanagement - Anti-social hours

      4 people found this review helpful

      Booking.com Response

      People Director

      Hi and thanks for your review and feedback, although I am clearly disappointed by how you feel, especially given you have been with us for more than 3 years. I am assuming that you work in Customer Service given your comments on the hours. We do operate a 24 hour CS operation so that we can support our customers around the world whenever they need our help. We try to manage the hours fairly but it is the nature of the operation I'm afraid. Re the salary, we always keep an EE on how our salaries benchmark with the local competition and as you'll be aware we have just made some big improvements to our benefits package and given everyone a 300 euro gift. Over all I think our package is strong. Thanks again Ryan

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      A great place to work

      13 Mar 2018 - Software Engineer in Manchester City Centre, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great atmosphere, amazing office, multitude of events

      Cons

      Low salary, too many meetings

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Booking.com Response

      People Director

      Hi thanks for your review and rating. Picking up on the salary point, this is clearly an area where we always want to improve and everyone wants more. However, we do benchmark ourselves in engineering twice a year, and are very focussed on making the right investments in package so we stay competitive. Will we ever give everyone exactly what they feel they want, probably not but we do think we can offer a competitive salary, a great range of benefits, a place to learn and develop AND be a great place to work which is a great combination. Thanks again Ryan

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Multinational company growing a lot

      27 Sep 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Multicultural environment Free lunch Friendly people

      Cons

      Micromanaging Low salary Monopoly for the sector

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great fun, great people!

      1 Jan 2021 - Customer Service Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wonderful environment to work in

      Cons

      Very low salary, required to work BH

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Company to work for

      11 Nov 2020 - Team Leader in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - A friendly and positive environment - Opportunity to grow - Your feedback is valued - People are always eager to help you - great benefits

      Cons

      - low salary - sometimes we had the luck of communication regarding the important changes

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 68 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Booking.com Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Booking.com? Share Your Experiences

    Booking.com logo
    or