BookingGo Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BookingGo Reviews

Updated 15 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 395 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
BookingGo CEO Ian Brown
Ian Brown
265 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits, career progression, free breakfast(in 34 reviews)

  • "Great work environment, really feel like I have a voice within the company(in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "I see a lot of Manchester walking between buildings for meetings(in 9 reviews)

  • "Customer Service can be stressing in peak season with high workload(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (7)

    "Amazing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Lead in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BookingGo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had worked as an IT Contractor for over 10 years working for many companies in the North West before accepting a contract at BookingGo. After 3 months into my 6 month contract I enjoyed working at BookingGo much I applied for a permanent position, and I can honestly say its the best move I have ever made. There are many interesting projects to work on and the Technology stack keeps getting better. There are... Innovation Weeks, Hackathons, company parties and events run during the year, its a real learning culture.

    Show More

    Cons

    Its based in Manchester city centre so its good if you like that kind of location.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work your doing amazing

    BookingGo2018-12-21

    BookingGo Response

    December 23, 2018People Director

    Thanks so much for your review and rating, I'm glad you liked it so much. We'll keep working hard to make it an even better place to work - Ryan

  2. "Overall Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BookingGo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The first two week were classroom based to learn how to do the job, this was a great way to also get to know people you will be working with. Lots of people wanting to go for drinks after work ect. Made for a reasonable work-life balance. Very good christmas party. Good four week paid training at the start of the job. Well supported by managers and learning and development colleagues.

    Cons

    For me the shifts were a negative aspect, but for other people this may be a good thing. Shifts were at the earliest starting at 7am and the latest finishing at 11pm (unless you are working nights). The HR department do make sure that you have your schedule in advance and it is clear that shifts are needed because you are responding to people all over the world, but it is something to think about.

    Advice to Management

    Continue doing what you are doing. I did not have any negative experiences from management and I thought that I was treated well.

    BookingGo2019-09-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Working here helping me to battle depression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Retention Advisor in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BookingGo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic team, that make your day to day so enjoyable. All the tools we need to do our job at our best. Constant support from manager and from colleagues. After 6 months working at Booking Go, I am improving a lot my battle with depression, because I feel happy to share my time here with colleagues (almost friend a lot of them) and managers' team. When I apply, I was afraid to tell "I am suffering depression at the... moment". I am 53 years old and came from the old school that if you have depression you weren't able to perform properly your work. Here at BookingGo I learnt that working in a fantastic environment make a difference in your personal life. I hope this helps other with my same situation, I know I am better and better each day, like to say what a lucky person I am to find this job at my 53!!!

    Show More

    Cons

    Even if I think hard I can't find one.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing to say, only to mention how important and what a great impact on the team is to work in an open office and be in contact all the time with Managers' Team.

    BookingGo2019-09-09

    BookingGo Response

    September 11, 2019People Director

    Wow thank you so much for sharing your story. As you know we focus a lot on this area in terms of training, supporting our colleagues and talking about mental health generally. So proud to have read what you have had to say. Thank you Ryan

  4. "Work hard go far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BookingGo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It can be a fantastic company to work for, diverse and forward thinking with a great benefits package that is under appreciated by many. Internal recruitment opportunities are plentiful.

    Cons

    We dont always support existing staff to learn and develop into new roles, they are given opportunities to apply but not to explore and develop into a role.

    BookingGo2019-09-04

    BookingGo Response

    September 11, 2019People Director

    Hiya, thanks for your review and rating it really is appreciated. Also thank you for being part of our success story over the last 5 years. I do hear you about helping colleagues develop into new roles. We hear a bit of this in CS where we have a lot of colleagues (as you know) who ...

    Show More
  5. "Being Alivw"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Life Agent 

    I have been working at BookingGo full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Everything is amazing at this place

    Cons

    I would not change anything

    Advice to Management

    Be nicer!

    BookingGo2019-09-02

    BookingGo Response

    September 11, 2019People Director

    Thank you so much, it really is appreciated, I think you’re awesome (is that nice enough 😉) Thanks Ryan

  6. "Overall a very good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Team in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BookingGo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free breakfasts are available and the subsidised canteen is great. Most of the staff are lovely and there’s generally a good atmosphere. I’ve been working in the company for just under 2 years and have been promoted twice so if you’re willing to work hard there are a lot of opportunities available. Amazing benefits.

    Cons

    The work in the call centre itself can be very stressful and people are pushed hard without necessarily getting the recognition they deserve But the company is working on this. The higher up you go in the company the more you can get away with things which as an agent would have lost you your job.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure that everybody in the company is treated the same.

    BookingGo2019-09-01

    BookingGo Response

    September 11, 2019People Director

    Hiya and thanks for your review. Also congratulations on 2 promotions in 2 years that is fantastic. We are always working at becoming an even place to work, there shouldn’t be people “getting away with it” no matter how high up they are so if you have any examples I’d love to hear ...

    Show More
  7. "Better direction, more talent in the team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BookingGo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team shift seems to be towards more experienced POs with a lot of change recently. A few big product strategy decisions feel like they're going in the right direction. Friendly, passionate people.

    Cons

    Usual tech company org, efficiency and agile challenges. Office a bit dated, bu we're getting a brand new office in 2020.

    Advice to Management

    More communication - it's a bit sparse (and has improved in quality in recent months).

    BookingGo2019-08-30

    BookingGo Response

    September 11, 2019People Director

    Hi and thanks for your feedback and rating it really is appreciated. I’m glad you think we’re heading in the right direction that means a lot. I’m responsible for building the new office (not physically obviously as I can’t even hang a picture!) but we’ll do our best to make the environment ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Doesn't match the rhetoric"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BookingGo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free fruit, tea and coffee Some great people Learning and development Is actually better than 2* apart from the failure to actually match their ambitions

    Cons

    - Leadership say they want to be tech employer of choice, but are merely on a par in most areas, and behind in others - There's no health insurance, flexible working isn't fully embraced, poor work space with small desks and not enough lockers - Bonus is significantly linked to objectives - No holiday carry-over - Becoming ever more corporate and bureaucratic - Overly strict requirements for promotion... causing people to leave to progress their career - Simple systems access takes an age with multiple levels of authorisation which stifles productivity - Crazy work flow enforcement for SOx which offers little assurance process was actually followed, but at least a box was ticked

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Accelerate your work to fulfill the ambition to be the tech employer of choice. Get rid of the unnecessary red tape

    BookingGo2019-09-07

    BookingGo Response

    September 11, 2019People Director

    Hiya, and thanks for your feedback it really is appreciated. I also appreciate the fact you recognise that we are ambitious in this area. I hear your frustrations I can see some of them and not others. For example we do link bonus to objectives but we also pay out more than most businesses ...

    Show More
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Commercial 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BookingGo full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great values, amazing people, gets things done

    Cons

    Can move too slowly at times

    BookingGo2019-08-11

    BookingGo Response

    September 11, 2019People Director

    Thank you - Ryan

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting business to work for !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Manager in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BookingGo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A true market leader within their field, you will learn a lot from them

    Cons

    Low salaries and weak bonus scheme.

    Advice to Management

    Too much bureaucracy, too many hierarchical decision-makers, and things bog down in committees, matrices, and upwards influencing.

    BookingGo2019-08-02

    BookingGo Response

    August 8, 2019People Director

    Hi and thanks for your feedback and rating. I’m not sure when you left us but we have actually increased our core bonus this year and I know it is ahead of many of our competitors. I also don’t agree re the hierarchy although appreciate that this is always a fine balance to get right. ...

    Show More
Found 395 reviews