Boots Glasgow Reviews

Updated 6 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
56%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Boots Senior Vice President and Managing Director Sebastian James
Sebastian James
5 Ratings
  1. "Dispenser"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - pharmacy dispensing assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Boots full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good working environment and good to staff

    Cons

    long hours around holidays such as christmas

    Boots2020-04-22
  2. "Typical large company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Hamilton, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Boots full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount, nice colleagues, local

    Cons

    Too long on feet, disjointed management, disorganised staffing, unclear role

    Continue reading
    Boots2020-05-07
  3. "Flexible for part time student work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Advisor in Motherwell, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots part-time

    Pros

    On an 8 hour contract where the shifts are the same every week so I know when I am working in advance - a lot of student jobs change shifts every week. There is no requirement to work overtime and you are never put in for a shift unless you have consented to it - most of my friends in other student jobs are forced to work whenever it suits the business and are only shown the rota a few days before. Means during particularly stressful uni periods my job can take a back seat and I can focus on studying. On the other hand there are a lot of extra shifts that you can pick up as and when suits you - able to work a great deal more at summer/christmas/ when uni deadlines are further away. Managers are very understanding of uni requirements and encourage me to prioritise uni over my job.

    Cons

    Open late at night so don't feel safe when shutting the shop, especially because the security guards only work in my store half of the week. Their shifts are split between two stores so Boots can save money. I have been approached a few times by dangerous people when leaving the shop at night. Also constantly hit by dodgy shoplifters. Considering there are only 4 staff on at night and all are female and many are young, none of us feel safe. Open until 7pm Saturdays and Sundays despite the shop being dead the last hour. Particularly annoying since the Saturday night hinders staffs' weekend plans. However, I am aware that it is much worse for students in bars/restaurants/cinemas finishing much later. The benefit of being open late however is there is more availability for overtime.

    Boots2020-02-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Advisor in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boots part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good discount Good hours Good pay

    Cons

    Some customers attitudes No time and a half or extra pay for bank holidays

    Continue reading
    Boots2019-12-03
  5. "Job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to advance career

    Cons

    High expectations which don’t reflect the pay scale

    Boots2019-10-16
  6. "Understaffed store as well as difficult managers. Could be better, could be worse."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Advisor in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Amazing induction, made to feel really welcomed. -I have worked with so many lovely staff members and mentors and get on well with colleagues in other departments also. -E-learning portal means that I can read up on more specialised procedures and equipment or on working in different areas of the store whenever I want to. -Good staff discount.

    Cons

    -Some managers are unsympathetic and could not care about anything else other than targets if they tried. -Some managers can be picky and overwork you to the extreme just to tidy the shop which other managers/staff are being lax about. -Particular veteran members of staff who think they own the place but ironically have poor customer service skills and cannot perform simple tasks correctly thanks to their ‘know it all’ attitude. I have noticed that this has compromised customer confidentiality and safety on many occasions. -Managers can be the same which means jobs aren’t being done correctly or they are wasting time. There have been many times where I’ve struggled to get the correct pay because it isn’t keyed into the system correctly. -Completely understaffed. One person at the till area all day for one day a week and is difficult to get backup if necessary. Believe it or not, some of the people being made to do this aren’t allowed to do basic tasks such as refunds when required by customers and all the other staff are likely to be busy with other customers which can be mortifying for every colleague involved -Any managers who are caring enough to want to help their staff sometimes can’t as they’re too busy sending pictures of staff handing out vouchers to the area managers and any other unreasonable wasting of time that is demanded from them. -Impossible to progress onto management from this position as they would like previous management or pharmacy experience before you’re even considered.

    Continue reading
    Boots2019-10-22
  7. "Poor Management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dispenser in Kilmarnock, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Training and the opportunity to progress

    Cons

    Poor management Just a number

    Boots2019-10-05
  8. "Training not adequate"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee Optical Consultant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount card some friendly people

    Cons

    Too much expected early on

    Continue reading
    Boots2019-07-01
  9. Helpful (2)

    "WORST company to work for"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Struggling to think of any

    Cons

    Management staff are extremely disorganised. Worked there for nearly a year and won’t give a discount card, locker key etc. Management staff (some) are also rude. Bad working hours - asked regularly for them to be changed but got completely ignored. Very inflexible with working hours - not good with shift swapping etc. Managers would moan if you arranged a shift swap with another colleague (even if it was for same amount of hours-an easy swap). Very old fashioned the way they run things. Staff toilets etc very dirty

    Boots2019-05-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Working for a big company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boots full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Working hours, teamwork across area

    Cons

    Closed group for promotion, values not taken seriously, stress not addressed for some members of staff

    Continue reading
    Boots2019-03-14
Found 42 reviews