Boots Opticians Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Boots Opticians Reviews

Updated 18 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
35%
Recommend to a Friend
Boots Opticians CEO James Arrow  (no image)
James Arrow
0 Ratings
  1. "If you fit in with BOL you will love working here, if you don't then you may not stay for long."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Dispensing Optician in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company discounts are strong. Accommodating with hours if required. Family feeling within the store.

    Cons

    Dated systems. Feels behind the times compared with other high street opticians. If you do not work at fitting in with the company you may feel like an outsider.

    Advice to Management

    Regular feedback with constructive criticism is good to have, this is not done enough. If we had a paperless system the amount of staff required to fill paper records would be free to serve patients. Although there are plans in place to change this they are moving too slowly and we have fallen behind our competitors. The idea of building our own computerised database is good but in my opinion it has not worked and... we should outsource this to an existing provider with a proven system. There is a feel of if you do not think like BOL then you will not progress, no matter how good your ideas are to improve the store or company. There are good people who work here but I have stopped believing in the companies values.

    Show More
    Boots Opticians2019-09-06
  2. "The worst job I have ever had...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optical Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is not too bad, free uniform

    Cons

    Short staffed, lack of communication within management, lack of respect in the workplace

    Advice to Management

    Hire more staff, check in on your current staff from time to time and listen to what they have to say. Communicate with other managers in store to ensure staff are being given clear messages. Don't tell staff who are sick that they need to come in to work because you are short, it is not acceptable.

    Boots Opticians2019-10-10
  3. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots Opticians full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Helpful colleagues Clean environment Easy access

    Cons

    There was nothing negative about working here

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Boots Opticians2019-08-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Optical Consultant in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots Opticians full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly staff - Good staff discount in opticians and main store

    Cons

    - Low pay even when qualified as an optical consultant - Hours could work 12:30 - 9:30 then 8:30 - 5 next day - No progression

    Boots Opticians2019-07-15
  5. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service 

    I worked at Boots Opticians part-time

    Pros

    Very knowledgeable and gained new skills

    Cons

    Long hours are very tiring

    Boots Opticians2019-07-01
  6. "Don't bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optical Assistant in Ipswich, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff are great, just over worked.

    Cons

    They don't care!, no matter how bad the process is, they won't change it but expect you to 'improve it'.! There computers are a pain, you still have to use paper files? And the customers are just there to milk for money not help! Time management is just keep your staff back as late as possible.

    Advice to Management

    Get some!

    Boots Opticians2019-07-13
  7. "Good Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dispensing Optician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company perks, discounts, holidays

    Cons

    Not the best salaries

    Boots Opticians2019-06-21
  8. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Trainee Optical Consultant 

    I worked at Boots Opticians full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job when you get the hang of it Good pay (£8.50 per hour) Talk to customers/patients on a daily basis Good phone experience and customer service experience

    Cons

    Can get fast paced No real training (learn on the job) Management can be awful

    Boots Opticians2019-06-19
  9. "Great values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Practice Manager in Egham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing support from Area manager.

    Cons

    No Christmas bonus if your a store manager.

    Boots Opticians2019-06-17
  10. "Used to be FANTASTIC, now the leadership has disintigrated."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Practice Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent pay for experienced people including clinicians. Good holiday times and allowance. A passion for customer service in a lot of people.

    Cons

    I was no longer invited to management interviews whilst pregnant. I was strongly discouraged to return to a management role when I returned from maternity. I had worked my way into management over many many years, yet as soon as I took time away for maternity I was treated appallingly.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on speaking directly to your PM's, not just listen to the RM's and what they want you to see. Spend time in your stores, listen and watch what your customers and staff actually want.

    Boots Opticians2019-06-13
Found 174 reviews