Boots Opticians Employee Reviews about "good pay"

Updated Dec 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 344 reviews

3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Boots Opticians Managing Director James Arrow  (no image)
James Arrow
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "work colleagues are lovely; staff discount(in 22 reviews)

  • "good pay, good maternity leave time(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Poor management that didn't want to learn(in 9 reviews)

  • "Very sales focused, always short staffed, not much support(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "good pay"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great people to work with

      Dec 1, 2020 - Opticians Trainee Optical Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When working, the team always felt like a family Good pay Great training

      Cons

      Nothing to add to this section

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great, lovely job

      Jul 15, 2020 - Optical Consultant in Birmingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay Good holiday time Good training

      Cons

      Can be long hours does require re locating from time to time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Job

      Jun 19, 2019 - Trainee Optical Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy job when you get the hang of it Good pay (£8.50 per hour) Talk to customers/patients on a daily basis Good phone experience and customer service experience

      Cons

      Can get fast paced No real training (learn on the job) Management can be awful

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Ups and downs

      Feb 12, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As per any job the staff you work with name or break the job you work at. I work with some good staff members which make it good. Pay is ok but I do 4 long days 9-7 so I get 3 days off a week.

      Cons

      Management tends to stay in the office Deal with complaints yourself, managers can’t be bothered. Same thing everyday

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great

      Aug 22, 2018 - Optical Advisor in East Ham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly staff Good pay Training Travel opportunities

      Cons

      Long hours High expectations Steep learning curve

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      optical consultant

      Jan 2, 2018 - Optical Advisor in Birmingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good pay, good maternity leave time

      Cons

      pay opticians less then what they pay someone on fragrance contour/ No7

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      receptionist

      Jun 18, 2016 - Receptionist in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good pay and great atmosphere to work in

      Cons

      bad hours and a lot of timing issues

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Optical Consultant

      Feb 6, 2016 - Optical Consultant in Romford, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Pay Great team to work with

      Cons

      Favouritism shown by Managers Unshared work load

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Boots opticians

      Jan 6, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay compared to other optical roles, good apprenticeship scheme to gain knowledge and pay increase

      Cons

      Bad management within company and is too corporate

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Trainee optical consultant

      Apr 27, 2015 -  in Swansea, Wales, Wales
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, that's all I can say

      Cons

      When I got the job I was excited to start a new chapter in my life, I had looked up on the job and knew it would be something I would enjoy doing. But I was mistaken, on my first day I was told to sort out files this lasted all week, I understood that you start off with the rubbish jobs and work your way up, but this was different i was told I would get training but never did I got told I would shadow someone but never did, I was stuck out the back sorting things for days but when it got busy I would get told to go on the shop floor and help even though I had no training and had no idea what I was doing. In the space of two weeks my confidence had dropped because I felt I was taken seriously. On my 3rd week I got called into a room and told I was getting let go, his words were " I have no potental in a customer service enviroment", would never recommend to a friend, maybe other stores are better but the one I was in was terrible.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Boots Opticians Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Boots Opticians? Share Your Experiences

    Boots Opticians logo
    or