Boots Opticians Employee Reviews about "shop floor"

Updated Feb 17, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 344 reviews

3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Boots Opticians Managing Director James Arrow  (no image)
James Arrow
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "work colleagues are lovely; staff discount(in 22 reviews)

  • "good pay, good maternity leave time(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Poor management that didn't want to learn(in 9 reviews)

  • "Very sales focused, always short staffed, not much support(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "shop floor"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Nepotism/ favouritism

      Feb 17, 2018 - Optical Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Meeting and helping the lovely customers.

      Cons

      Management lazy and has favourites. If the manager is in a bad mood can speak to you quite nastily. Certain staff very lazy and can do as they please. They spend a lot of time chatting/wasting in the office and it's not about work. Favouritism regarding taking holidays especially at Xmas and bank holidays. The favourites can also have their mobiles on the shop floor, instead of in their locker. I get treated differently to the favourites. I feel unappreciated and dislike how others can be so lazy yet the manager doesn't say anything about it. I often find myself alone on the shop floor dealing with everything while the others are all having a good old chat in the managers office. I feel there is nowhere to go for help or advice within this company, they just don't care!

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Where to start!

      Dec 11, 2017 - Optical Consultant in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good staff benefits. Great customer base. Good work team.

      Cons

      Pushy upper management who have no concerns about the working environment as long as targets are met. My shop was constantly short staffed and the clinic fully booked. The opticians were constantly harassed with manager squeezing people into the clinic and really not caring about the effect on staff morale. At these times the mood in the shop was not nice. Once the clinic was fit to bust the manager would go home early. That left two people on shop floor to do contact lens teaches, book appts, dispense glasses, do repairs, screen patients etc etc...I worked here a long time....couldn't bear it in the end. Sometimes had no lunch. No tea breaks .

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Poor Management

      Nov 30, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really good discount on glasses and in the main boots store, which you need as you’re so poorly paid it’s disgusting.

      Cons

      The managers are always at a course or meeting of some sort, when they are actually there they sit in the back office “doing emails” also known as talking, drinking tea and being horrible about their employees. You’re given too much to do during the day as the management are never on the shop floor doing their actual jobs. Expected to have store keys with no pay or appreciation for what you do. If you don’t hit your sales targets you’re hauled into a meeting to explain why. Awful management from above. Shame as the job itself is very enjoyable however optics is poorly paid in any multiple. Save your time and work for an independent.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent pay for students-not so great for those with experience, or full time workers

      Sep 17, 2017 - Senior Optical Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Staff discount of 70% on Rx glasses and in Boots UK stores Diverse team of clinicians and support staff, all with varying skillsets and life experiences. Good camaraderie amongst staff. Ample opportunities to do 'EDs' (extra duties) at other Boots Opticians stores to earn more money.

      Cons

      Management staff totally brain-dead and devoid of any real motivational skills that they can relay to their staff. All they seem to suggest is aggressive sales tactics (some bordering on the unethical side!) and unrealistic targets considering the very diverse makeup of most stores (not everyone trained up to the same level). Lack of empathy with clinical staff (DOs, Optometrists) from management, who are often made to sacrifice clinical duties and care towards the wellbeing of their patients' sight in favour of taking up the workload of the clinical staff (making courtesy calls, general administration work etc.). Constant rotation of failing managers from one store to the next, often without any formal optical training whatsoever. Management staff spending inordinate amounts of time cooped away in their offices supposedly spending their time performing basic administrative duties, e.g., rotas, and failing to have a presence on the shop floor in order to assist the team with any queries they may have. A fixed, 'straight-line, no-nonsense' approach from management towards staff, whereby small errors are constantly berated and publicised amongst the team (and not doubt the regional team!) at large. This leads to an atmosphere of fear and uneasiness amongst teams who are then less capable of performing to their best of abilities. Management do not seem to value Pxs who in some instances are life-long customers at a particular branch. This is evident when many come back to complain about their glasses, or have a query that needs to be looked into in further detail. There seems to be a complete disregard from them when OCs/DOs explain that they have found an amicable and perfectly reasonable compromise for the patient, for instance, in cases of non-tolerance. All they seem to care about is trying to unnecessarily up-sell the Px extras that they do not need (in order to avoid an inevitable refund and apparently 'upsetting' the stores budget). They ignore the findings of what are often more qualified optical professionals, leading to bitter disputes and staff turnover.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Management a joke, staff unmotivated

      Sep 21, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fair starting money, staff friendliness & camaraderie

      Cons

      Useless management. Company don't care about their staff at all. We get a new manager every 2-3 yrs, they have never worked in an opticians. They are numbers driven peoole, the type who talk incessantly without actually saying anything. Full of corporate phrases and no logic or intelligence. The area managers are even worse, which explains how the managers got the job. I haven't had a pay rise of any kind in 7yrs. For my 10yr service award I received a £25 voucher. At Christmas there is no staff outing, but we do get £5 (which we have to claim back with a receipt). Yes, five pounds. There is a bonus, but it is very rarely achieved. Whenever we get close they move the goalposts. Everyone I've ever met within the business hates Boots Opticians. Most of us enjoy the work but feel totally demoralised. We are always being put down and never listened to. If you question anything you are seen as a trouble maker, so we just keep quiet and get on with it. Managers spend nearly all their time Sat in the office doing good knows what. I've been in the business for 16yrs, Inc some time as a manager. I used to spend maybe half an hour a day in the office, the rest on the shop floor with the staff and customers.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Trainee Optical Consultant

      Jul 31, 2017 - Trainee Optical Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      cant think of any

      Cons

      extremely heavy workload, no training in regards to pre screening expected to know everything from day 1, then expected to be on shop floor when you have 4 clinics to run? and to prepare clinic and file. Then expected to know how to dispense numerous times of my pay being messed up, even asked to transfer previous paycheck due to incorrect amount received ; you get paid monthly?!!

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Avoid!

      Mar 1, 2017 - Optical Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can get some very nice customers.

      Cons

      Run like its in the 1970s. Talking to colleagues is frowned upon if not about work. Huge divide between management and shop floor staff (double standards). Their idea of progression is all wrong. Stress is unbelievable for just over minimum wage. If a complaint is filed they never look at your side of the story and they try to force you out of the business rather than deal with the issue.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Don't Bother.

      Feb 15, 2017 - Trainee Optical Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They supply you with uniform. You get a discount on glasses. If you are lucky enough to get a store with decent management you could really enjoy the role.

      Cons

      No Progression. Some stores have a distinct lack of training and expect you to muddle by. Higher management are rude and have a go at staff on the shop floor. Data Protection is lacking. Poor pay for amount of work/commitment. Hard to book holidays or have time off for things like medical appointments etc. Distinct lack of understanding for medical issues. Store i worked in were missing the accident book when i did have an accident so no recordings.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Trainee optical consultant

      Apr 27, 2015 -  in Swansea, Wales, Wales
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, that's all I can say

      Cons

      When I got the job I was excited to start a new chapter in my life, I had looked up on the job and knew it would be something I would enjoy doing. But I was mistaken, on my first day I was told to sort out files this lasted all week, I understood that you start off with the rubbish jobs and work your way up, but this was different i was told I would get training but never did I got told I would shadow someone but never did, I was stuck out the back sorting things for days but when it got busy I would get told to go on the shop floor and help even though I had no training and had no idea what I was doing. In the space of two weeks my confidence had dropped because I felt I was taken seriously. On my 3rd week I got called into a room and told I was getting let go, his words were " I have no potental in a customer service enviroment", would never recommend to a friend, maybe other stores are better but the one I was in was terrible.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Boots Opticians Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Boots Opticians? Share Your Experiences

    Boots Opticians logo
    or