Boston Consulting Group Associate Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Boston Consulting Group Associate Consultant Reviews

Updated 31 Dec 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

4.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Boston Consulting Group CEO Rich Lesser
Rich Lesser
7 Ratings
  1. "Entry level consultant (right out of undergrad)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people; very well-run; tons of freedom

    Cons

    There really aren't many – you will only dislike BCG if you dislike business (which happened to by my case – and this was certainly not there fault!)

    Boston Consulting Group2018-12-31
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Associate Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant in Beijing, Beijing
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great project managers. Lots of learn form the leadership. Big-name clients. Great exposure to C-suite executives. Reputation. Good for future MBA application.

    Cons

    Deeply rooted legacy of traditional consulting. Difficult to breakthrough especially for the new economy kind of clients. Less opportunity to work with start-ups or smaller but highly promising SMEs.

    Boston Consulting Group2018-03-18
  3. Helpful (4)

    "BCG Associate Position Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    BCG is an incredible company for one distinct reason: the people. Within all levels of the firm, the employees are kind, creative, considerate, intelligent, driven, and curious-- all without being overly competitive. BCG's greatest asset is its people, so the firm goes above and beyond to support and compensate its employees.

    Cons

    BCG charges clients a material amount of money for its services; therefore, clients expect a lot of value. In order to deliver, projects are often under extreme deadlines and margin for error is non-existent. The pace and pressure can be a bit hard to get used to, but it's also one of the most fascinating parts of the job.

    Boston Consulting Group2018-02-12
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Stop transplanting incapable managers from other countries to USA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic culture Excellent pay & benefits

    Cons

    Our team manager was a transplant from a foreign country and did not have much knowledge about business topics, modern computer tools as well as basic etiquette. May be that works fine in his/her home country but creates lot of impediments at work for many of us. Again, this is just my team and may not be a company wide trend.

    Advice to Management

    Revert back to traditional school of thought. Most of my colleagues from 2010 and before say the work culture was much better, and abrupt increase in organizational size has been posing a challenge.

    Boston Consulting Group2017-01-16
  5. "Great Consulting Gig"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with ; compensation is very good - especially with bonus. Variety of work and strategic impact

    Cons

    Long Hours - I used to average 60 hours a week minimum. Variability among cases - often you would want to quite after a particular case

    Advice to Management

    Work on standardizing experience across cases and office. Continue the great PTO and other such work-life balance initiatives. Overall excellent job

    Boston Consulting Group2016-12-14
  6. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Astana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    One of the best company to work, you grow professionally constantly.

    Cons

    too much interesting projects to implement

    Advice to Management

    Go BCG

    Boston Consulting Group2016-09-22
  7. "Ideally, one of the best companies in the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Seoul
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Intellectual challenges, medium - high salary, smart and bright colleagues

    Cons

    Work hours, deteriorating health, pressure

    Advice to Management

    Work smart

    Boston Consulting Group2014-12-11
  8. "Awesome place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Competitive benefits. Work with awesome people with many different backgrounds. In my current project, there are people from Russia, Vietnam, Singapore and Thailand. Project leader has phd in robotics.

    Cons

    Worklife balance. Very long hours. However it is tolerable because people you work with are friendly and down to earth.

    Boston Consulting Group2014-12-12
  9. "BCG was a great experience for me out of college, but had to get out!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As my first job out of university, I enjoyed the experience, connections, and real world learning from BCG. It exposed me to new working styles and real office pressure. Pay was pretty good for a recent graduate Benefits were also excellent

    Cons

    - There's only so much you can move up in the a consulting group, and with BCG I recommend taking your experience elsewhere after 2-3 years - work hours are very long - very competitive environment and little collaboration

    Advice to Management

    Consider how to foster a more creative environment and how to attract a more diverse team.

    Boston Consulting Group2014-01-22
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Extremely tough, but broad experience that you can't find from anywhere else."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant in Seoul
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can be exposed to very diverse practice areas such as telco, auto, construction, electronics, health care, etc. in a year.

    Cons

    You can't sleep more than 6 hours a day. Sometimes less than 3 hours. Very challenging work environment. You have to prove yourself every seconds.

    Advice to Management

    We have to open more externships for seniors as it is crucial to understand the real and humble dynamics of industry. I learned a lot more after leaving consulting. Consultant without field experience can be too idealistic.

    Boston Consulting Group2013-06-29
Found 15 reviews